We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mecca for Canadian senior citizens”
Review of Nautilus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nautilus Inn
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

THE GOOD: Staff super friendly. Plenty of parking. Breakfast OK. The deck area around the pool very nice. THE BAD: Happy hour liquor almost undrinkable. They use ABC which is a local brand. Elevators s-l-o-w and hotel was not very busy. No ironing boards in room-must go to 4th floor to iron your clothes. TV picture fuzzy on a lot of stations. Lobby computer s-l-o-w. THE UGLY: Check out your room for dampness/mold/smells. All rooms are NOT created equal in this hotel. Ours was an ocean front. MISC. INFO: We are over 50 and were the youngest there by 20 years until two couples with young familes showed up for the weekend. Most guests appeared to be Canadian (Canadian owned hotel) on extended stay. Very pleasant group who seemed to know each other, were all having a great time and had numerous daily sign-up sheets for things in their group to do/go. Hotel activities director always had something going on for them. Beach access required room card to get back onto patio area. If you know who Lawrence Welk is you will love this place. People cook meals in their rooms and the smells permeate the entire floor. Not a bad hotel at all, and the staff overall probably as nice a group as any hotel we have ever stayed at. Just know what to expect.

Room Tip: All oceeanfront rooms have a good view. The hotel slants at an angle so the rooms on the oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over50inKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am pleased you liked our pool area and the high level of customer service that we provide to our guests.It is because of this service that we have developed a dedicated group of travelers that return to us year after year.
As you may have noticed, we are constantly upgrading our rooms and public areas, and we appreciate you letting us know about your television. We will be working toward replacement in the future.

We sincerely thank you for your feedback, without which we cannot improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at Nautilus Inn for 2 nights with all of my fellow coworkers as we were attending a teacher's convention nearby at Ocean Center. The entire hotel was tastefully decorated for fall. All rooms have ocean view and balconies. The rooms are remodeled and have full kitchens with granite counter tops. Everything was clean and well maintained. They had continental breakfast in the am. The pool area had updated landscaping and pavers. It had a very tropical feel. The hotel caters to tour groups from Cananda. All my experiences with staff was positive and they were very friendly. I will come back again! The front desk mentioned they plan up upgrading beds to queens next.

Room Tip: I was in room 707. They have rooms face the ocean directly. There is no need to pay extra for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jen71ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We all thank you for choosing the Nautilus Inn! Teachers are awesome and we are happy to have you come back to stay with us again. We appreciate your observations and are very pleased you took the time to write such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We just got back from another wonderful stay at the Nautilus Inn where we spent 5 nights and came back for 2 more before heading back to Ohio. They have added more to the free breakfast and it is great. The staff treats you like family. We have stayed over 20 times and can't wait to go there again next year. Its always nice to see familiar faces and to meet new friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms give you a view of the ocean but we prefer the ocean front rooms so that we can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We are getting some really nice compliments on the new breakfast items that we've added. More positive changes are to come so stay tuned and we hope to have you back here again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach ..free happy hour :)good size room..daily activites ..front desk are super nice and helpful can't wait to go back only neg its further down from the boardwalk shops ..the oyster bar across the street has great hamburgers

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdbn3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Great to hear from you and we appreciate the positive comments. It's always nice to be able to offer such spacious rooms complete with kitchens. We now offer a complimentary "hot" breakfast for our guests to enjoy. So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After 51 years of going to Daytona Beach, we have been staying at the Nautilus for the past 12 years with the exception of the remodeling years and now we have been back. Consistent level of excellent service. Always made to feel welcomed.

Room Tip: We like the higher level views on all 3 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

It's always nice to know that we are consistently pleasing our guests. Thank you for taking the time to compliment us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel was as good as everyone said. Clean, friendly, nice bathroom, one sink in the bathroom, one sink outside the bathroom. Breakfast was enough to eat-it was simple but good. Managers reception could have been better but who cares we aren't in Florida for cheap free beer. We are there to enjoy the sun, the family, area restaurants. We had a great view from our balcony and had our own happy hour! Will go back again!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modestconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thanks for choosing the Nautilus! You'll be happy to know we have changed our breakfast to offer more variety. We'd love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have returned home after spending 5 nights in the Nautilus Inn and I have never had a more enjoyable stay anywhere.There were 8 of us altogether 4 adults and 4 kids whose ages ranged from 9 to 14 and we all had a ball.We had spent 11 nights in Orlando and we are sorry that we did not do the holiday in reverse ie 11 nights in Daytona and 5 nights in Orlando.The staff in the Nautilus from the receptionists to the cleaners and a special mention to Melissa are the friendliest staff I have ever encoutered and that coupled with their perfect position on the beach explains why nearly all the people we met there were on repeat visits.We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taxifor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

What an AWESOME review!! We all thank you so much and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.2 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
1.6 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.1 mi away
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Inn

Address: 1515 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nautilus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true hospitality at The Nautilus Inn in Daytona Beach, Florida! In addition to our newly renovated pool deck and updated kitchens and baths in every room, our friendly staff and immaculate housekeeping practices will keep you coming back. Recently refurbished rooms including granite counter tops in bathrooms and kitchens, full size appliances in every room, and a spacious Atlantic Deck that wraps around our ocean front-pool and hot tub. Choose between our ocean-front rooms and those with a view up or down the beach - you'll enjoy either view from your private balcony. Free amenities include a continental breakfast, cocktail hour, parking and wireless internet. Minimum rental age is 25 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nautilus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Daytona Beach
Nautilus Inn Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing