We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to upgrade their technology”
Review of Nautilus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nautilus Inn
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall the place is nice. Not luxury, but it's clean and right on the beach. It's not a resort and we didn't expect one, but their internet access is awful. Unfortunately, while most people are probably staying here for vacation, I work on the road and having a reliable fast internet connection is very important. Their connection is slow (0.5Mbs) and forced me to relogin incessantly. In 2014 a commercial entity shouldn't even advertise internet if it's not 20Mbs.

They're also doing renovations - which is great - our room was nice and reasonably well appointed for the price, but perhaps they could add a few more outlets - the table (only place to set up my laptop) was a long way from any outlets, so I had to sit looking at the fridge to plug in. It'd have been nice to see out onto the ocean while I was stuck working.

And breakfast could use some upgrades. Staff was very nice, but they just didn't have much to offer and what they did have was picked over.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for choosing the Nautilus and thank you for mentioning how nice and clean the property is. Coincidentally, we are currently in the process of obtaining proposals to upgrade our internet while determining what will best suit our guests needs. We'd you try us again as there are more attractive changes to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Nautilus Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had another great opening to our summer with our stay at the Nautilus Inn.
The staff is super friendly and professional. The rooms, lobby, pool area, and surrounding property is beautiful and well cared for. The rooms have been remodeled/upgraded, and look great.
The nightly cocktail hour is very pleasant. The entertainment was excellent. Special thanks to Chuck, for staying almost an hour past quitting time to keep the dancing going, and to Memphis & Me!! for the great tunes and taking the special requests. It was a great time.
We look forward to our next stay at the Nautilus Inn!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slick_Chick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for noticing our improvements and for taking time to let us know. We are excited with more to come! Our entertainers are definitely crowd pleasers and we are so fortunate to have such a talented group of people. Have a great summer and we look forward to you coming back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family and I really loved the Nautilus Inn for exactly what it is: a small, non-chain hotel right on the beach. If you're used to staying at places like the Holiday Inn, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by the familiar atmosphere and quaintness (I personally didn't mind the full-sized beds, though I heard they're upgrading soon, anyway). This hotel is immaculately maintained, with a delicious-looking breakfast (I didn't try the eggs and sausage due to my own dietary restrictions, but they looked fine as well), and a popular Happy Hour. The way the building is oriented, every room has a view of the ocean, not just the "oceanfront" rooms, so you really can't go wrong! I can't comment on some of the reviewers' complaints about tv reception, since I didn't spend any time watching tv, but the rooms with a kitchenette were more than adequate for our needs - a clean, comfortable place to sleep, relax and regroup. Of course it would have been nice if the hotel had been next door to our favorite restaurant - heck, it would have been great to have concierge beach service and a personal towel boy, too, but for the price this is a stupendous value. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for giving us such a nice review and recognizing exactly who we are. We view our rooms as having fantastic value. A perfect set up for a family vacation, with complete kitchen including full size refrigerator, range and microwave. We've had some very recent attractive changes to our property and also an upgrade to our cable tv.
We are happy you chose the Nautilus and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Nautilus Inn for at least 20 years. The accommodations and staff are first rate. The atmosphere is more like being with family. The staff remember us every time we return. The 'happy hour' and complimentary breakfast are added bonuses that most other hotels do not offer. There are activities planned every day. The whole property is kept up and updated. The location is convenient to the beach, other activities, and all sorts of restaurants. It is a very good value for the price.

Room Tip: If you don't rent an oceanfront room, request a room ending in '11', such as 811, 211, 1...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Wow, thanks for choosing us for 20 years! That is just wonderful to know we've had you as a guest for that many years. We truly understand how important it is to make everyone feel at home. The daily happy hour and entertainment that is provided on some of those nights is always a big hit. We are pleased to have made recent upgrades and invite you to stay tuned for even more. We really appreciate you taking time to write a reveiw for us and also thank you for all the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We looked high and low for a hotel that could accommodate 3 adults and 2 children. Booked this hotel based on the reviews and we were all happy we did. The majority of the guests were older, but everyone was so pleasant. Happy hour was fun and there was even live entertainment on Friday night. They served beer, wine, and many different mixed drinks. The pool was nicely maintained. Friends at neighboring hotels complained they couldn't get a seat at their pool, but we never experienced that problem. Plenty of seating throughout the patio area. One downside were the small pool towels. We were glad we had beach towels in our car. The beach was beautiful. We opted for an ocean front room and loved the view. The rooms were large, but the room was outfitted with 2 doubles (small). Plenty of room. Breakfast was sufficient and met everyones needs. The staff was very pleasant and seemed to take the time to know most of the guests Overall, great value for the price. Highly recommend. We all would stay here on our next visit to daytona.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_traveling_k_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

So happy you found us and we hope to have you stay with us for years to come! Our activity director does a super job at providing options for various fun things to participate in. You can do as little or as much as you desire and there's something to appeal to all ages. We sure look froward to having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After reading all these raving reviews on Tripadvisor we were looking forward to the stay and expected quite a lot. I have to admit, the hotel is quite plain and average.
Nobody mentioned that it caters to the "young in heart", which is not necessarily a bad thing. But since their tour buses come and go at certain time in the morning, we didn't get a chance to try the free breakfast as the restaurant was crowded with people getting ready to start the day.
Hotel is clean and quiet, I have to admit, but pool and hot tub is on the small side.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend it to families if they don't spend all their time on the go and just looking for a place to crash at night. If you like more than that, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank densmom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We do regret that we did not meet your expectations. Perhaps try us again at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just returned from another wonderful stay at the Nautilus. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful as usual. Received some excellent restaurant recommendations. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. The pool area is beautiful and we especially enjoyed relaxing there with our complimentary happy hour drinks. Breakfast has been upgraded since our last visit with the addition of eggs, sausages and pancakes along with their other breakfast items. We've already booked our ocean front room for next year. We can't wait to return to the Nautilus which feels like a home away from home.






Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanks so much for the review. As always we are so happy you consider the Nautilus Inn "Your home away from home", Great to know we are doing a good job with the complimentary breakfast and happy hour. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.2 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.4 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#4 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Inn

Address: 1515 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nautilus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true hospitality at The Nautilus Inn in Daytona Beach, Florida! In addition to our newly renovated pool deck and updated kitchens and baths in every room, our friendly staff and immaculate housekeeping practices will keep you coming back. Recently refurbished rooms including granite counter tops in bathrooms and kitchens, full size appliances in every room, and a spacious Atlantic Deck that wraps around our ocean front-pool and hot tub. Choose between our ocean-front rooms and those with a view up or down the beach - you'll enjoy either view from your private balcony. Free amenities include a continental breakfast, cocktail hour, parking and wireless internet. Minimum rental age is 25 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nautilus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Daytona Beach
Nautilus Inn Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing