We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the area”
Review of Studio 1 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Studio 1 Motel
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for the area”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My family and I live just under two hours from Daytona Beach, and we decided to take a little weekend mini-vacation to the beach and visit the Museum of Arts and Sciences which is minutes away from the motel. I chose the Studio 1 because I noticed they had received the White Glove cleanliness award recently, and the rates seemed a good value for the area. I did know before my arrival that the motel is situated across the street from the beach, so I was pleasantly surprised with the great ocean view from our second floor room. I also was very pleased with the private balcony to the rear of our room right off the fully equipped kitchen.
The not so great things: White Glove Award my butt! There were many hairs on the bathroom floor and sand on the bedsheets. I noticed this before we visited the beach. This tells me the sheets were not changed on the bed, unless of course the sand came from the bedspread, which experienced travelers know are hardly ever washed anywhere. Since it was after 9pm when I noticed this, I was unable to get new linens since the motel office closes by then.
Also, while there are some bars within walking distance, and a 7-11 next door, the only family restaurant I could find was an IHOP about 3 miles away. I realize Daytona has a reputation for being a little seedy, and has weathered some storms recently; but I was surprised at the number of vacant buildings on the strip. And, while I was out on the front balcony of the motel, I witnessed a man picking up a prostitute across the street in the parking lot of the Holiday Inn.
So, I guess I would pick a better area next time to bring the family to the beach, but I did like the layout of the room, the view of the ocean, the convenient location near the Museum (and the Krispy Kreme). It was a good room rate for being so close to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you get a good ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumn_everlasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    60
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
74
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

we stayed in a room upstairs with kitchen and were able to cook whatever we wanted, there's everything u need. the rooms are great and very clean, thanks to the owner for a non-carpet-floor!!!
the ac is really silent. the location is perfect, just cross the street and you're on the beach. there is 7/11 next to it. perfect for calm relaxed vacations.
we never got a cheaper and better room on our hole trip. and even when tripadvisor says they dont have free rooms, its worth to make a call and ask.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a great deal and very close to our friends we were visiting. It was very clean and had a view of that ocean. We stayed in a room with a mini fridge and little kitchen vanity area. The had dishes and glasses but fyi, no ice, since it had been turned off. No ice machine here but you have a 7-11 next door so that works well.The TV was beautiful but the online guide did not work so you tuned in and had to guess what you were watching, but hey, you're at the beach, who needs much tv? Bottom line, for the price it is a great deal- I would not have wanted to pay the extra $50-$100 for ice and a guide at the chain hotels. i would reccommend this motel.

Room Tip: The 2nd level is great to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

O.k....This motel is a good value...cost about $40-45 for one night. Now...It is a basic accommodation with a kitchen. When we arrived the reception was a cranky man in a tiny
cubicle. We did get a room on the second floor that had a view of the ocean...across the
street.

It is a Long Way from the main attractions by the boardwalk. You would need a
car or take a bus. This hotel obviously has no restaurant or pool. It was a fine place to stay for
one night. There is a Holiday Inn across the street and a decent bar/eatery down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaLinda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this motel for a few nights. It is the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in! The floors are laminate wood instead of the dirty carpet you usually see in budget motels. The cleaning lady was very friendly and did an exceptional job of keeping the room spotless. The showers were great, it gets very hot and stays at the temperature you adjust it to. The room has a flat screen LCD tv, HBO, and free wifi. It is directly across the street from the beach. There is also a 7-Eleven next door that is open 24 hours which is very convenient. It is by far the best budget motel in Daytona Beach. We will be staying here every time we come to the beach from now on.

Cons: The walls are a little thin so you can hear your neighbors at times, but our stay was still peaceful. There is no phone in the room. We will upgrade to an upstairs room with the full kitchen next time. One of the beds was very creaky, but still comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My brother and I stayed there for three nights while visiting my sister who is ill. Booked at last minute and didn't expect much given the price but were looking for a reasonable price near her. The place was a fantastic surprise! Clean, full kitchen, plenty of room and very well maintained. This is a budget motel so no frills but actually provides more than many places that are more expensive, the full kitchen is a great bonus. We were very pleased and I would not hesitate to stay there again. I liked the wood look laminate floors, felt much cleaner than carpet. Money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We found this motel on a last minute Priceline deal a few years ago. I havent stayed anywhere else in Daytona since. Everyone we met there was courteous and helpful. You will not find a cleaner place in Daytona. Bathrooms are adequate and the kitchen is quite useful for an aftertnoon lunch break. The LCD tv has been added recently and are a nice upgrade. The beach is directly across the street, less than 1 minute to walk. Just minutes by car to the Ocean Walk area. Easy parking at the garage connected to Ocean Walk. If you are looking for a nice clean place at the beach, This Is It !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5262Sully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.3 mi away
Grand Prix Motel
Grand Prix Motel
#21 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
266 reviews
6.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedway
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedw...
#41 of 72 in Daytona Beach
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Daytona Speedway
Quality Inn Daytona Speedway
#1 of 72 in Daytona Beach
1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach
#33 of 72 in Daytona Beach
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beachside Hotel
Beachside Hotel
#37 of 72 in Daytona Beach
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 1 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 1 Motel

Property: Studio 1 Motel
Address: 1700 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5002
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Studio 1 Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and operated. Daytona Beach's best value and comfort! Steps to miles of sparkling beach. Choose from a full kitchen unit with smooth top range/microwave or studio unit equipped with microwave and mini frig. Complimentary HBO, WiFi and in-room coffee. Hardwood floors, patio or balcony. All rooms are non-smoking. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Studio 1 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 1 Hotel Daytona Beach
Studio 1 Motel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing