We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”
Review of Tailgaters Sports Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Tailgaters Sports Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

no service, one beer on tap , very rude wouldn't wait on us, then wouldn't give us a menu. Must be one of those tax write-off businesses where they don't need business. We went to Zoni's down the street.Very dark and dirty. Pool tables but no one playing. great location right at the corner of Main and A1A

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessmarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    14
    11
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lakeland ,florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“needs improvement”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went on a Sunday for football. No air bartender acted like she didn't want to be there. Downstairs women's restroom broken. Funny smell when entering. Only pro was the beer prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spells621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs updated”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

air conditioner out service not too friendly location: great beer prices are great overall bathrooms: not working has a funky smell when you come in

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Worst Bar in Daytona Beach”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Please read the review below regarding Karaoke extortion! The new manager has taken this business to a new low. The MC "Cowboy" and the DJ whose name is unknown to me have been told by the manager to call one name for karaoke, and then play one song, at which point "Cowboy" sings along with the words. And, on 9/7/13, a drunk woman decided it would be fun to gyrate like a stripper while patrons asked for the tab to leave.

Listen up. If you like karaoke, remember that your wait time is doubled because they play one song which is a sing along by "Cowboy", then if you have ordered enough to drink, your name will be called. Maybe. I spoke with the manager on the evening of 9/7/13 and he just did not care.

Stay away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrmondEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratt, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Had the Place to Ourselves at Lunch”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stopped here at lunch because (a) the boardwalk was dead and (b) this place had the easiest (free) place to park.

We had the place to ourselves nearly two hours. (Outside of the "Norm and Cliff" up at the bar, expounding loudly on the state of the nation the entire time we were there.)

Our waitress wasn't the speediest, but she was very nice and friendly and we had no place to go. (It was HOT outside and we were tired.) The food was all good. Nothing 5 star about it, but good pub food. Since there was no one there for us to bother, we taught the girls to play pool. Our soda glasses stayed filled the whole time we were there playing.

Two guys from the beach walked in, making some derogetory comments and Norm and Cliff chased them out, which was nice to see. Many places shy away from standing up to the bullies these days. (The bullies came back about 30 minutes later and actually apologized. Who does that these days? Good for them.)

I'm sure this place is very different at night or when the boardwalk is hopping, but it was a nice (cool) relaxed place to be in the middle of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tailgaters Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing