We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayan Inn is not for a restful stay!”
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayan Inn
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mayan Inn is not for a restful stay!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The bar next door has live band every night sometimes on the beach. The band did not stop playing until 2am! We changed rooms (we had 2) to other side of building hoping for better experience. None of the rooms were clean, bedspreads were nasty, found socks, food and liquid in drawers..Leftover sunscreen from last guest and I stepped on a piece of glass! The microwave did not work, no trash cans in either room, missing tv remote in one of the rooms. The door to balcony did not close (had no hardware or latch) we had to ask for new chain so we could keep door closed. The chains to outside doors were broken. The breakfast room did not have fresh items. The bread was stale and the juice was out for two days. The staff was helpful and kind but there were just too many problems. They really need to do some updates!

Room Tip: Rooms away from bar side are better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakesMomma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    76
    59
    59
    86
See reviews for
116
82
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kodak, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Mayan Inn and upon arriving check inn was suppose to be a 3:00 we did not get into our room until 4:30 because the rooms were not ready. When we finally got to our room it was disgusting. There were no towels, toilet paper, the floor had not been vacuumed, the tables were dirty, the microwave was dirty had food all over inside, and the most disgusting part of it was there was a butt print on our mirror yes I said butt print. I was not expecting a 5 star hotel but sure was not expecting to have to clean my room before I stayed in it. Another problem is the parking. We were not able to leave and drive around for the first couple days so we did not loose our parking spot because there is not enough parking for the hotel when they run out you have to pay 10.00 a day to park in public parking and that is only good til 11 pm. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As a repeat customer of the hotel we were very disappointed with this stay. We got 3 rooms, one with a kitchen. Kitchen was not set up for cooking, not enough silverware, dishes and other items. Pans need to be thrown away, peeling and got chips in food. Not toaster fo use for one breakfast. .Upon checking in one of the rooms had urine on the toilet and on the floor. No face cloths in bathroom. Staff said they would bring as soon as washed. Received them after Ij took my shower to go out to dinner. During most of our stay we did not receive face cloths until late in the afternoon. Need to purchase more linen. Staff was friendly and needs more to work with. The breakfast bar did not have apple,orange juice, muffins and coffee 3 of 6 days we stayed there. Staff said they ran out and would have more the next day, none next day. It was
difficult to feed 6 people in our party, what with nothing in the kitchen to cook with and nothing on the breakfast bar. I heard all around the hotel people complaining about no linens and nothing on the breakfast bar.Also many saying they are checking out and would not be back. We are some of those people, bringing family to your hotel and to have them go through that. Very disappointed and will not be back. Past visitors to your hotel.

Room Tip: ask more questions / check out past reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 316caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, my 7 year old daughter, my mother in law and myself stayed there. It was a little loud but we expected that. Very close to everything. We walked everywhere. The Ocean Deck is right next door. We really enjoyed it and will be going back for another stay.
The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. However the bartender was very rude. She had a terrible attitude. I would definitely consider having a heart to heart with her. Her terrible attitude had us going to the Ocean Deck just to get drinks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First off the staff is very friendly except for the the lady at the bar she was very rude... I walked into the bar after my third day of being at the Mayan inn when it finally opened stood at the bar for about 5 minutes then walked to the other side where the lady and the security guard were smoking a cig which was totally fine with me until she told me she was busy. I was going to buy some drinks for my wife and brother but with that kind of attitude and with noone else in the bar but the three of us I was a little pissed and walked over to the ocean deck where they were more than happy to serve me drinks. Other than that I had only one other issue I stayed on the 4th floor and the second day of us being here I was putting ice into my cooler at the ice machine and turned around only to slice my arm open by the fire extinguisher that was to the right of me it has bent metal with sharp edges luckily it wasn't deep enough to go to the hospital but if I had turned a little faster it probably wouldn't have been all that great. With all the other reviews about bugs and stuff like that I didn't experience anything of that nature. The room wasn't all that great but for the prices and the fact that I am on vacation and didn't spend alot of time in the room it really wasn't something to get all worked up over. But all in all my stay was satisfying the house keepers were great and the staff was great (except for the lady at the bar).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gzonghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well, good golly miss molly! We are here right now, leaving tomorrow.the nay sayers need to stay home or quit whining. Yes, some loud music, so we brought ear plugs...but didnt need them. Rooms were very clean, if we needed something, we asked and recieved it. I was worried about coming here when I read the reviews...so glad we came anyway! Price for room was great. We are older people, dont do the party stuff, and we had a great time. Will we be back? You bet!

Room Tip: Dont expect a condo, because it isnt one. Bring earplugs in case the bar next door is too loud for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theecrazymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For those who have given terrible reviews, were you expecting a 5 star hotel? Sounds like it. It clearly is listed as a 2 star hotel. My daughter(an adult) and I stayed there this past Memorial Day weekend. Yes, it was family friendly, there were several families with young children there over the weekend. They seemed to be having a great time. The staff was very attentive with any request, pleasant and helpful. Barbara was a great bar server. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, while the elevators were slow, they worked. Breakfast was simple, but enough not to have to go out and spend $12-15 each day. Yes,there was music next door, loud at times, but was expected. Yes, it could use some paint and carpet to help hide 40 years of beach vacationers, springbreakers(who trash everything). Maybe even some new doors. But the bottom line is, staying at the Mayan was no more/no less than what was expected and should I vacation again at Daytona Beach, I would stay at the Mayan again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate your honesty and understanding that while we are not perfect you still enjoyed your stay with us and would return again in the future. That is very important to us and we appreciate your business very much. I am so glad you found our associates to be friendly and helpful as that is something we strive very hard to achieve. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#47 of 72 in Daytona Beach
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#39 of 72 in Daytona Beach
290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 72 in Daytona Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#21 of 72 in Daytona Beach
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites
Roomba Inn & Suites
#32 of 72 in Daytona Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Property: Mayan Inn
Address: 103 S Ocean Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4321
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach
Mayan Inn Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing