We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute "Pigpen"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Playa Resorts & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolute "Pigpen"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We would rather sleep on a clothesline with a knot for a pillow than stay at this hotel. Very very dirty. Filthy floors,rusty kitchenette appliances, cheap and dirty plastic chairs on balcony, peeling paint,dirty and leaking air conditoner,very unhealthy to say the least,dame sheets and carpets,left over food on floor. Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. Checked out as soon as we checked in and not a minute too soon. Do NOt GO There.!!!

Room Tip: Do not go ot this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotfussyCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    105
    74
    81
    168
See reviews for
203
128
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel about 4/5 years agao and it was a nice clean friendly place,we returned there this year in Sept,,,,,NEVERR NEVER AGAIN...roaches bugs,,smelly run down,,mice by the pool in evenings,,,,AVOID THIS PLACE,,
Also charged for parking ,,when the place was 3/4 empty.....NEVERRRRRR AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newf-couple c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The rooms need to be seriously updated! The carpet, doors, locks, curtains, and ac units were serious safety hazards. There was not any hot water. We were movd twice b/c of this problem. Please do not consider staying at this piece of trash! If you are looking for a hotel DO NOT stay at this one!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjenson4957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed at The La Playa for the first time with my family who had come to town for a Family Reunion. Being from here I was all ready aware of the conditions of the hotels due to the salt air and beating they take from the ocean. BUT, as I said I was Pleasantly Pleased!
The friendliness at the Front Desk was a perfect start to a GREAT WEEKEND! The rooms were a little old fashioned but were neat and clean,on vacation the time spent in there is basically to chill and sleep. The pool deck was clean with a lot of lounge chairs for everyone and an awesome Tiki Bar and DJ who played good music. The staff in the hotel and I mean from the Front Desk, Housekeeping, Waitresses and Bartenders even Maintenance was more then accommodating, actually was almost like they went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. They even have a Comedy Club on the weekends where I haven't laughed that hard in a long time.
From my oceanfront room the full moon was breath taking. Myself and my family enjoyed our stay so much we already booked a vacation for next year.
THANK YOU LA PLAYA - you and your staff made it a wonderful Family Reunion!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recentlly made a reservation here and what a mistake. The RESORT IS NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES. We booked this for a night(9/17/2011) and what a nightmare. One you got past the lobby its dirty the paint is chipping the door to the room looked as though it had been broken into the room smelled moldie the carpet was dirty and the a/c smelled. The manager was rude and not willing to help when we asked for a refund a few min. after checking in. I wrote a letter to the general manager and to bookdaytona.com lets see what they do. Dont waste your money,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krismyers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blountville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had 3 rooms and were making a stop for a couple of days at the beach after our cruise. We had bugs of all kinds, not enough towels for 5 to a room. No cot for the fifth person after told they would bring us one. When we asked for towels we were told wwe had to bring the dirty ones to the office to get clean ones. The frige in one room did not work and the fire dectector in another beeped all the time. Parking was hard to find even though we had to pay to park. Location was great and the outdoor pool was very enjoyable with the exception of the security guard telling our littles one that they needed to quit jumping in the pool because they would get too tired(parents were in the pool with them. Next night she told our group that they had to get out of pool because it was lightening...but we saw no lightening so continued to enjoy the pool which was the best feature of the hotel plut its location to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 210Nana210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Guess I got what I paid for. Room had a funny smell to it, floors in room and bathroom were filthy, door to porch was off track and would not stay in track, door to room had been kicked or forced open so many times it had sheet metal with dry wall screws in it, had to lift and push door shut, door had to be lifted and yanked open. LOUD when I was there, place was full of kids from a church re-treat. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 611Chuck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Seas Resort
Grand Seas Resort
#50 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Property: La Playa Resorts & Suites
Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Kognitiv US Corp and Ebookers so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach
La Playa Resorts & Suites Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing