We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well spent weekend!”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Well spent weekend!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I must admit that when we pulled in the parking lot, I thought that I made a mistake making reservations here, but was pleasantly surprised when we entered our two room suite on the 4th floor. Absolutely, beautiful ocean view! The kitchenette was stocked with pots & pans, silverware, plates, cups, cooking utensils. The staff even puts aluminum foil on the baking pans in the oven! Bathroom was clean and beds were comfortable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book a room on the 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    182
    56
    29
    16
See reviews for
515
103
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The rooms are clean, the grounds are clean, the pools are clean, Just a great place to stay for senior couples, young couples and especially families. The staff is friendly, courteous and well trained to fulfill all your needs.

Room Tip: We prefer the indoor poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed in a two room suite that I had booked this hotel through hotels.com and got a much cheaper rate than the one advertised on the hotels website. I think the room was advertised at $150 per night and the room was definitely not worth that! Our room smelled funny when we entered (not the typical beach hotel smell, may have been coming from the air conditioner). We ended up buying 2 glade plug-ins (one for each room) and that helped tremendously. We also opened the windows to help with the smell and when we were closing them, they started to fall forward out of the track. After being plugged in for just a little while we didn't even notice the smell. The rooms were very spacious and pretty clean. The balcony has a regular door instead of a sliding door, which I couldn't prop open. There were 2 chairs and a small table on the balcony. The room seemed a little old but it appeared as though some of the rooms were being remodeled while we were there. We stayed on the 3rd floor which is the first floor that allows for oceanfront views because of the indoor pool. The view was very nice. If you are booking a room by the indoor pool you should know that it is pretty loud in that area even if there are not a lot of people down there because of the echo. I am not sure how loud it is in the rooms however. Also, there is nothing separating the 1st floor rooms from the pool area, so when you open your door you are standing in the pool area. This may be an issue for some travelers. The pools and grounds were very nice and there were plenty of chairs in the grass and around the pool area. The hotel staff was very nice and were seen about the property quite often. There was plenty of parking and it was all near the entrance. There were lots of activities for kids including contests and games. The food at the cafe was pretty good although at times they got a little busy and there was a bit of a wait, because there was only one person working. The prices were a little high, but not bad considering the convenience. The beach in front of the hotel was very nice, and is a part of the beach where driving is allowed. It is in a quieter section of town so there wasn't much traffic on the beach or on the road. This was not the best nor the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I would stay here again, but only if I book it from a discounted website.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank born2travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2011

clean, great water slide, safe, nice staff. I'll go back...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecopeco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This place is awesome! We stayed in a cottage across the street from the hotel. Perfect. 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, full kitchen, sun room. Clean with comfortable beds. It was the price of a hotel but without the hassel of noise! You can't beat the price. Loved the pools and the beach. I used the hotel computer for free to print out our boarding passes. Front desk staff and life guards are very nice. Their Viking Cafe allows you to eat poolside and the food is good! We will return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slivovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I visited with my daughter and her boyfriend (both college students 22 yrs old) and our 3 day stay was amazing. The hotel is not the Ritz Carlton but for us, we do not want the price and the swank. Our room was perfect, very clean and great layout. From check-in and throught our stay the staff was fabulous. They were friendly, professional and helpful. If someone in you party has a birthday or other event they will put it in lights on their marquee. The pool, jacuzzi, grounds, etc. were clean and well maintained. We also really enjoyed the little cafe on the premisis. The home cooked breakfast by the ocean was yummy. We found a diamond that suprised us and we will return many times.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly the staff will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayeM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The place was clean - easy to find - great view of the ocean- for the price we paid ! I've told several friends about the place and how convienent it is to places and loved the fact we could just walk to the ocean and see it from our room!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquatpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#6 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#11 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Property: Sun Viking Lodge
Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Sun Viking Lodge Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing