We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in Daytona”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best value in Daytona”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We pulled into this place with no reservations and the gal at the desk showed us 2 rooms, one which was ocean front with balcony and was only $106 per night. It was clean and the beds were super comfy. Very quiet, never heard any noise from the room next door or in the hallway. We were on the 5th floor. It's an older building, but it's been very well maintained inside and out. Outdoor pool with a fun water slide, indoor pool with little café that serves breakfast and lunch. Don't order the pizza from the ad that is in your room. It was terrible, but that is not the hotel's fault. I should have called Papa John's, which they had an ad for also, but wanted to give this other place that was not a chain restaurant a try - bad choice. We will stay here again next year when we come back to Daytona. Close drive to lots of shops and not very far to drive to get to the main Pier and boardwalk. Lots of restaurants in the area within a short drive. Great service at this small family owned and operated motel. They even had runners on the stairs down to the beach so you would not get slivers if barefoot. They were out at 7:00am hosing off all the lawn chairs and the pool area. And the beach - Wow! Softest sand I have ever walked in, it was like walking in baby powder. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Any ocean front room with balcony. Great views - even saw dolfins go right past our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would like to thank this new guest for taking the time to send is this kind review and for ranking us so high in all the categories.

It must have been fun to see the dolphins splashing by as you viewed them from your oceanfront balcony – I know you would agree, our beach and ocean are amazing and yes, our beach sand is extremely soft and very white, so it is easy on the feet!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our small hotel comfortable and clean. Most of our guests would agree with you, that our staff is friendly and happy to welcome our guests.

We hope that you will return soon and thank you again for taking the time to send in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    182
    56
    29
    16
See reviews for
515
103
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we could of stayed longer. My 3 kids loved it (ages 4, 6 and 12). The water slide is a huge selling point but everything about this place was great. They had fun activities to do- Water balloon toss, hula hoop contest, Bingo, etc. The staff is super friendly and they take great care of the place. The cafe by the pool had great food for good prices. We ate breakfast and lunch there both days. The room had a kitchen and worked out great for our family of 5. We had no issues what so ever. We got to enjoy the beach, play in the pool, eat and relax all without leaving the hotel. I would recommend this to anyone, especially if you have kids. They have grills you can use, a playground for the kids and a nice hot tub! We cant wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your nice review and high ratings. What we appreciate most is that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests would agree with you, the kids love the waterlside and all the activities in our free guest recreation program.

We hope that the next time you visit with us you can stay for a few more days and maybe even enjoy an outdoor free Saturday night family movie offered during the summer – they have become quite popular!

Thank you again for taking the time to send in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel for the family. Hotel was clean, very outdated but for us we were going for the budget factor. Beds were great. the amenities were excellent. 2 pools very clean. One pool had a great water slide that we couldn't peel the kids away from. Huge sun deck. Hotel is right on the ocean and offer great views. Playground for the little ones.

Room Tip: Great for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would like to thank this guest for their kind review and high ratings in all categories.

As you mentioned, we are more of a budget hotel and not an upscale property, offering luxury services. We actually take that as a compliment . . . we love families! Couples and families are our main vacation travelers, so we were happy to read your kids loved our popular waterslide and you felt our property is great for families.

Thank you again – hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zephyrhills fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My kids love this place but I like to have a COLD PINA COLADA or BAHAMA MAMA. ..... is there a beach bar near by where an adult can get a drink on vacation to enjoy with a book....walking distance please no driving and drinking...may spill it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are glad that this family enjoyed their stay with us and that their kids loved our hotel . . . my guess, because of our popular waterslide and all the free activities!

Unfortunately, we do not have a bar on the property; however, as a suggestion, if you rent an oceanfront room with a kitchen, pack a blender in the trunk and make up a batch of Pina Coladas, then watch the waves from your oceanfront balcony as you enjoy your book!

Thank you for your nice review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

THIS IS A CLEAN NICE PLACE TO STAY. Probably better for families also. Location on the beach seems good. We ate at the shack near the pool. regular food that you can buy on the grounds. The room we were placed in was not that great...maybe because we got a great deal on pricline and they may have been rooms for that "deal" ..not sure? They run a good property though

Room Tip: try not to get a room facing the lot near the elevators on ground floor. They are a little loud at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would like to thank this guest for rating us high in all categories and taking the time to send in this review. It appears that this guest is new to our property; we appreciate the kind words and are happy to read they enjoyed their stay with us.

Some of our more reasonable rooms are smaller and do not view the ocean. Many of our guests choose to save the money instead of viewing the ocean from inside the room, since they are outside most of the time anyway. Others want to see the ocean 100% of the time and select an oceanfront accommodation. Either way, the beach and ocean are breath-taking; everyone agrees, that just relaxing on the beach brings them “happy thoughts” in a stress-free atmosphere!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Chosen for good WiFi (which did not disappoint), I was pleasantly surprised by the efforts and expense Sun Viking invests in safety, cleanliness, and updated decor. The bathroom and windows were cleaner than mine at home!

This was our first trip but we will be back. Cheaper and much better WiFi than Perry's and faster elevator, quieter, and infinitely less seedy than La Playa has become over the past 30 years.

Windows facing the ocean were SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. Absolutely amazing.

Pool slide was FUN and wrist bands issued at check-in keep non-hotel guests out.
It is about a six-mile round trip walk to the boardwalk. Breakfast at the poolside "Kafé" was simple and good - no grocery store or convenience store within walking distance. Lovely marble/granite counters, appliances in new condition, and ample kitchen dishes, toaster, MW, tea kettle, made in-room eating easy. Wells Fargo with walk up ATM is directly across the street. BEWARE that at the time of our visit the nearest grocery store south of us (Publix) was being bulldozed! Head north to grocery shop until....!

Room Tip: If you want beachfront you will need to ask for the high rise building at or above the 3rd floor. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review. I also want to apologize for my response being late; with our busy spring season and a few renovation projects for 40 of our guest rooms, I am a bit behind in responding.

It is certainly nice to read that this new guest felt welcome here at the Sun Viking Lodge and that they enjoyed our pools, Kafe, free Wi-Fi and having a room with a fully equipped kitchen. Many of our guests find preparing a snack from the kitchen in their room, helps them stretch their vacation dollars!

Thank you again for your review; we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been staying at the Sun Viking almost every year since the late 80's. We find that it is acceptable for our needs during our spring break trips. We stayed at other hotels prior to our first stay at the Sun Viking but found them to be mostly unacceptable. We come back because of the BEACH. We love the big beach area at low tide and have come to like the constant traffic on the beach "road". The Sun Viking's 60ft water slide was a favorite of our kids and is a favorite of our grandkids. We have met many wonderful guests from around the country and many come back to Daytona and the Sun Viking every year. Many of the older former guests now rent condos but always make their way up to the Sun Viking to catch up with us. Now if you are looking for an upscale resort you'll be somewhat disappointed. We usually stay in a full kitchen room in the older two-story building closer to the office to give us a cushion from the hubbub of the pool area. The rooms are getting a bit dated but generally clean and comfortable. Little details keep it from being better. A new granite countertop in the bathroom but our round toilet had an oblong seat. Not so special for a women to use. The dresser had a moldy smell and therefore was unusable. Some refrigerators have ice makers but ours didn't so you just have to keep filling the trays. Minor inconvenience. The heating/cooling unit was clean and efficient. Housekeeping was perfect one day and not so the next. The was a dead roach in the kitchen ceiling fixture but he didn't bother us.
The Viking Café was an issue this year. They kept running out of food. One egg left at 10:40 am (after breakfast) so no egg salad sandwiches. A friend tried to order a burger twice but they were out of hamburger. Now mind you the café is only open for breakfast and lunch so how does this happen? We were there on an off busy week too! Prices are a little steep so don't expect any bargains but it is convenient if you're flexible.
The staff is always pretty friendly and many have been there for years. On Friday night they projected the movie "Frozen" on the high rise wall, put out chairs and everyone was treated to a free family movie night. A very nice touch.
The organized kids activities are good but they are not everyday. There is a nice play-scape for the little ones also. The basketball hoop is in the parking lot and is pretty busy most of the time. The only complaint is the dribbling in front of the rooms at night sometimes after we've gone to bed but there is not much you can do about it. The indoor pool is always a hit especially on the not so nice days and it can be busy.
As far as additional amenities, there are three gas grills for the guests to use and must be reserved in the office. The only issue I had was there were two reserved when I asked for one at 5:30 pm but only two of the grills had propane tanks on them. Its a good thing that the guests who reserved the two prior to my request never showed up at the previously reserved time. I took one over near our room grilled up some dogs and burgers and returned the grill. No one else showed so that is not managements fault. There is shuffleboard, a work out room, and a WII down in the laundry room, and a game room in the lobby of the high rise building along with restrooms and vending machines.
All in all we enjoy our stays at the Sun Viking. Be prepared to play the towel game around the pool, especially during the peak weeks. Get out early, stay out and don't go back to your room and sleep until noon. Bring beach chairs and enjoy the beautiful beach, or chair and umbrella rentals are available but very expensive if you go that way all week.
We have found a place that is acceptable for a weeks stay although we have stayed longer in the past. We know there will be no big surprises upon arrival, we know exactly what our room looks like and we are comfortable with that. It is not a premiere resort with impeccable accommodations and excellent cuisine. We travel to the Caribbean or Mexico for that experience but if you want a fairly quiet small resort experience that offers some nice touches then you can't do too much better then the Sun Viking in Daytona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subrate601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would like to thank this repeat guest for taking the time to write this review. It is always nice to read comments from a guest that has returned for so many years. I completely agree with this guest, we are not a luxury resort offering upscale services. Our guests can expect a casual beachside resort offering comfortable, clean accommodations with many free amenities.

Our free “year-round” activity program offers poolside activities for all ages. This program is offered Tuesdays through Saturdays most of the year and 7 days a week during the summer.

All of our kitchens are supposed to have ice-makers; I will check on the comment about the missing ice maker, perhaps a “spare” was installed as a temporary replacement and was never removed after the repair.

I apologize about your experience at the Kafe – I am not sure what happened. Running out of eggs or hamburgers is not something we would purposely do. Perhaps the day you wanted egg salad, there were more breakfast orders than normal, therefore, they did not have enough eggs left to make egg salad. Our food supplier may have been running late that day which may also have effected some of the needed food items. I do not know exactly what happened but apologize for these issues.

Thank you again for your review. We are happy to read that you still plan to return to the Sun Viking Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#6 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#11 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Property: Sun Viking Lodge
Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Sun Viking Lodge Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing