We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahama House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahama House
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great price and view!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great internet price ($104), and lucked out to get a room with a small kitchen. The breakfast was adequate, but basic. Evening drinks and snacks were free - a nice touch. All the hotel rooms have a great view of the ocean. The only negative was the smell of the A/C in the room. It was musty, except for about an hour after housekeeping came through. Recommend bringing air freshener. Definitely will stay here again if we get a great deal again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APDMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for posting these great pictures from your stay with us in August 2013! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and amenities all for a reasonable room rate! Happy New Year, and we look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    274
    77
    26
    26
See reviews for
436
383
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in a king suite, which is perfect for a family as it was large and laid out very well. Room was spotless, view from balcony was right up our alley as our room viewed the ocean or people & traffic watching on the road in front. Beachfront with lounge chairs and wonderful hot tub and heated pool. This place is very well thought out including the underground, well lit parking garage. Cocktail hour serving delicious, free drinks was popular with guests and snacks for children. Arrival & parting gift bags were a welcomed touch. Staff was flawless. Would recommend Bahama House to all. Absolute perfection.

Room Tip: North side has perfect view of ocean & pier. Tell staff exactly the view you want & they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody34433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
All 5's, thank you for such a favorable rating! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the amenities like our hot tub, heated pool, cocktail hour, and free parking. We work very hard to make every guest feel like they're at home. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Bahama House is a smart choice in Daytona Beach where price, location, atmosphere and service converge at a sweet point. The icing on the cake is the happy hour at 5:30 pm where they got very good choices; it seems to be quite popular with the guests. The breakfast menu is average. Plenty of parking. Situated two miles south of the hustle and bustle of Daytona boardwalk and the tasteless beachwear shops, the hotel offers an oasis of tranquility, family value, reflection and relaxation. Gentle waves lap by facing the balcony. Daytona beach is driveable with an access next to the hotel and we did enjoy the ride along with the family through the entire sand strip. The weather did not cooperate much right after Christmas, hence our exposure to the beach and water was limited. We missed a fitness room at the property as we were cooped up. However, the entire family liked the place. They have nice touches like a goodie bag at check-in as well as a small gift and custom labeled water bottle at check-out. It is worth taking a look when coming to Daytona and trying to decide about your stay from endless string of hotels and motels. Grocery, restaurants and pharmacies are all within short drive. One last note, Daytona can get very crowded and noisy for families during spring break, as we found out the hard way from an earlier trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your thorough review that will give visiting guests some insight into what it's like to stay at Bahama House. We're happy that you were able to enjoy your stay in-spite of the weather. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just got back from spending one night ..well its not a casino or a deluxe hotel but you are not paying those prices either. Decided to spend the one nite due to the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and the location on the beach. Down from SC to do some brief business in Day Bh and decided to stay at the beach. Yes the location is tough to beat with the driving beach at your doorstep, and yes the pool is heated and the staff does try to make the property as
friendly as possible, but you gotta face its an older (which does mean bigger rooms) mini high rise that's in about the best shape for its age. Breakfast all cold but gets the job done, older abandoned buildings near by is creepy. We were originally on 6th floor but moved since musty smell/dampness was really strong, found out later from cleaning staff as one elevator was broken that 6th floor had been closed for flood..moved to 8th floor nice room but wait for it...since its on the corner 805 the wind blows most of the nite and since the bars on the railing have rusted in place the railings rattle and shake all night long, so u cant enjoy the great view or have the door open but shut with fan on so u can sleep over the racket. So it is what is is probably one of the better ones on the beach as mentioned rooms good sized so family traveling on a budget with the kitchenette its works but if you are looking for something higher end or newer, keep drivin.

Room Tip: be careful of rooms on 6th floor due to recent flood and end rooms 05's may have problem with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Bahama House is proud to celebrate our 20th Anniversary in February! We are so glad that we are able to include a free continental breakfast, happy hour, and fresh cookies to our guests at very reasonable rates for the area. We encourage guests to let us know of anything they need to make their stay more comfortable. We will check room 805 for lose railings, because safety is also extremely important. Thank you for the favorable rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed on the 6th floor for three nights with my 4 year old grandson. The staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking, fresh cookies at the reception desk daily, free newspaper, two elevators, dining room for free continental breakfast with hot and cold cereals, pastries, fruit, breads and drinks and evening drinks with limited snack were offered. The hotel is on the beach with direct access from the rear, by the heated swimming pool. They offer limited use of toys for the kids to use on the beach. There are plenty of deck chairs and tables by the pool and lower area by the beach. This beach is very clean and well patroled.
The room is furnished average to lower end with two beds that were very uncomfortable. It was furnished with microwave and frig., a safe with no key to lock it, plasma tv, nice balcony and view, table and chairs and average sized bathroom. The room linens were old. Air and heat worked well. I did not have an issue with bad orders however there was a strong smell of room deodorizer. The ice machine is downstairs which is a minus. The hotel is fairly close to everything you would need. The biggest problem that we experienced was numerous bug bites on my grandsons legs when he woke up the 2nd morning. He had been playing in the floor the night before, so I'm not sure if it was the bed or floor where he was bitten, but he was miserable for several days, it was so bad his little leg was swollen. I didn't mention this to the staff because I could not be for sure how it happened.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rndiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review after your stay in December 2013. We’re happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the amenities: parking, freshly baked cookies, continental breakfast, pool and beach access. Hopefully you experienced the awesome weather we’ve had for most of the month of December. We appreciate your taking time to comment on your stay with us but do encourage guests to let us know of anything they need during their stays at Bahama House. I’m not sure what type of room you stayed in but 90% of our rooms include a full refrigerator with ice-maker and we are always happy to provide extra ice at no charge. We hope you’ll try us again during your next visit to Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We flew into town for a wedding and picked up our rental convertible and immediately headed for the sand and surf and some great American cruisin'. Our flight had put us there well before noon and I drove up to the hotel, beachside of course, to let them know we were here and to see if I could upgrade to an "oceanfront" room. We had booked the room through expedia with the flight before we realized large internet bookings place you in the cheapest rooms so we wanted to upgrade.

Our reserved room was not ready yet and the friendly gal at the front desk told us no upgrades were available since the hotel was full but she would work on it for us during the interim and to come back and check in at 3 pm. We were pleasantly surprised to come back to find out she had put us into an oceanfront room with a slight bump in price but it wasn't bad, $25 or so. I certainly appreciated the extra effort by a front desk staff member. We had researched numerous places to stay on the strip and left there feeling very good about our choice.

We spent 2 wonderful nights sleeping with the door wide open snoozing to the ever present sounds of the waves and surf just outside the window below, one of life's greatest simple pleasures in my opinion. Sure the bed was small, and the open door might have let in a few insects but hey, you are at the beach! The view was just what we ordered! The room had normal furnishings that were older and had a few miles on them but the room was very clean and so were the public areas of the hotel. We used the small balcony overlooking the pool alot.

Whether or not a place has a free breakfast or a happy hour reception is not a deal-breaker for us as we tend to seek out and explore local hang outs rather than eat or drink at the hotel. So I don't have any information to offer about that, but if you get the chance and want to eat breakfast at a place that really kills it, try the Cracked Egg Diner just a few miles south on S Atlantic Ave down before the bridge over to Port Orange, you won't be disappointed.

Have already made reservations to come back to the Bahama House in the Spring of 2014!! It is our new favorite place to stay while in Daytona.

Room Tip: Remember that 3rd party booking companies will automatically put you on the side of the building in...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for writing such a thorough review! It's also so great to hear that you'll be coming back to visit us in the Spring. Thank you for your stay, and we know that your next visit will be just as great! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here while playing a tennis tournament and was impressed with the management, cleanliness, and amenities. Front desk personnel were friendly and professional. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. I had an ocean view which did provide a view, the ocean front rooms offered a nicer vantage, but for my purposes the 'view room' was quite acceptable. Although older, the rooms were well maintained and the staff kept them serviced well during my stay. Short drive to restaurants and entertainment. The pool and spa were clean and provided an opportunity to socialize with friends and guests.
Recommend attending the happy hour, beer, wine and select drinks are offered in the lounge. Breakfast was passable, but nearby restaurants have better offerings.
I will stay here again next time I'm in Daytona Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you take advantage of the happy hour!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfig56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
I am so happy to hear that you were able to utilize some of the amenities that we have to offer here at Bahama House. It sounds like you had a really great time and we are very happy about that. We will look forward to welcoming you back to visit us really soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
4.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
954 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Shores Resort & Spa
The Shores Resort & Spa
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Property: Bahama House
Address: 2001 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach
Bahama House Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing