We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60's Redo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“60's Redo”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Aku Tiki is a Best Western Hotel that looks to have been built during the 1960's but step inside and you wouldn't know that!
This is one of the Cleanest hotels I've ever seen for it's age! The King room we had was very large and nicely appointed to give you a touch of Hawaii. All rooms have a large modern bathroom ,large TV , and a balcony with a great view of " The Most Famous Beach ". They have a full service bar , restaurant,and pool bar in season. The pool area is awesome ! Shuffleboard area is by the large area in front of the beach front which also has picnic tables mounted on concrete pads. You will receive a breakfast each day , which ours included sausage,eggs,pancakes,fruit, danishes, etc.all of which was very tasty! Based on the rate I paid I would recommend staying at this Retro throwback Hawaiian Themed Hotel, only thing missing was the view of Diamond Head....just close your eyes and imagine it's there...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hpm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our facilities. We strive to make our guests feel at home during their vacation, and am thrilled that you were able to enjoy the restaurant, pool area, and breakfast. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    254
    67
    23
    25
See reviews for
389
269
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here without a reservation at the end of June and couldn't have been treated better. After arriving in New Smyrna Beach and finding out that our prepaid condo for the week had a broken air conditioner, we drove to Daytona Beach in the wee hours of a Saturday morning, searching for a vacant hotel. It was near impossible as every place we stopped was booked up. Having drove over 12 hours that day and with two sleepy, cranky kids in the car, we were nearly in tears. Then we found the Aku Tiki, shining like a beacon in a raging storm. They had space and it was clean! Very nice gentleman checked us in and listened as I whined. We got to our room and crashed HARD! Didn't hear any noise coming from the other rooms which is typically my biggest complaint. We even got a tasty, hot breakfast the next morning. It was a very pleasant stay. Very affordable with a great staff and killer views to wake up to. The rooms aren't exactly 5 star or super modern, but cleanliness and comfort are all we needed for a quick stay. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsandyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review! I'm sorry to hear that the original plan for your vacation did not work out; however, we are so glad that you were able to experience Daytona Beach! We hope that you will be able to visit again under better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Few quality hotels in the Daytona area anymore (mostly condo and timeshare). The Aku Tiki was not only reasonably priced but it is nicely decorated and updated. Our ocean view room was updated and very clean. The bathroom could use some updates but it was clean. Had a good sized kitchenette. Comfy beds!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of items. The pool and sunning area is very large, clean and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank TerriHerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We're so delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki. It's great to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed pool area and breakfast. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed there and have no complaints. The ocean and the heated pool are a great place to relax after a round of golf. The happy hour (free drinks) and dinner at the restaurant top off the day.............

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don & Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
It's so great to hear from returning guests! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted that you were able to enjoy the pool and happy hour with your friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Several things made this hotel stand out from the rest... they have a very large pool,a outdoor bar, a complimentary happy hour, cookies in the mornings and a breakfast buffet in the restaurant that's attached. We went there for Biketoberfest and they had a separate area on the other side to park our trailer for free along with 24 hour security on our bikes! I was impressed with everything except for the out dated look of the interior and exterior of the hotel. But it was right on the beach with large rooms, kitchenettes and a friendly staff. We will be staying with them again next time!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Benicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us while in Daytona Beach. It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy the large beachfront rooms, complimentary happy hour, and breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coral springs
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel was clean. The check out and in was fast and prompt Great free breakfast every morning. The room and bathroom clean and al worked. Great view from the balcony and room. The location of the hotel was great less than 5 miles from main St and about 10 miles from the speedway. Good room and location for Biketoberfest!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review for Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn. Our staff has high standards of cleanliness for all guests. We're so glad that you were able to enjoy your stay and the festivities for Biktoberfest. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again when you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an older hotel that could use some updating. We had an oceanview room overlooking the pool. The best feature for this hotel is the large swimming pool with a little pool bar serving drinks and playing music all afternoon. Easy beach access from the hotel right off the pool area. They have a free happy hour which would have been great but it was overcrowded with long lines caused by having only one server so we gave up rather than stand in line for 20+ minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.6 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#11 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn
Address: 2225 S Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this family owned and operated Daytona Beach, Florida hotel located on the "World's Most Famous Beach".Welcome to the newly-renovated Daytona Beach, Florida hotel located directly on the white sand beaches of Daytona Beach. This family friendly hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be conveniently near the Ocean Center Convention Center, Daytona International Speedway and the Embry Riddle Aeronautical University. The BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn proudly offers 132 spaciously appointed guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television with HBO®, microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy dining at Traders, the onsite full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aku Tiki Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Best Western
Best Western Plus Aku Tiki Inn Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing