We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beach girls are awesome!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The beach girls are awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

The Hampton is always top notch but for the past two years we have fallen in love with Nicole and Mandy on the beach. They rent the beach chairs and umbrellas and really just made our experience. Everything was set up by 8 am and picked up by 5pm. And the best part is they did all that hard work with a smile at the same time they were on their laptops teaching students!!! Nicole even brought index cards to help my son with his multiplication facts! i seriousy want these two to be my kids' teachers!!! Between Sandy and the hotel and the girls on the beach... Another hotel will never be an option for us!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KairenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    260
    97
    33
    31
See reviews for
508
410
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Let me start by stating that I have worked in hospitality for 16 years of which more than 10 years I have been a loyal Hilton employee/manager. I work 7 overnights a week at 2 Hilton Hotels in downtown Chicago as a night manager/auditor. I am very proud of both of the hotels that I work at and have been employee of the month several times and also employee of the year. I know that I am amazing.
Now onto some horrible customer service...
I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights with the Hampton Daytona Shores back in August 2012 for my stay in July 2013. Let me say that this is only 1 hotel out of 5 hotels that my mother and I had booked for out 12 day trip from Chicago to Florida (of which 4 were Hamptons and the other was in the Walt Disney World All Star Music Resort.) I wanted to extend my stay from 2 nights to 4 nights and they told me no. I even emailed the GM Sandy and she said No as well, which is understandable because of the alloted employee rooms that are available so we booked in Jacksonville for the 2 nights instead. I called a few weeks before my arrival to request a oceanfront if available being that it was my children's 1st time at a beach/at the ocean. Malisha said she would see what she could do until I gave her my conf. # and she saw that I was a Hilton employee paying the employee rate. She then said "Oh, you're just an employee so you get an employee room." I said to her "Excuse me? Just an employee? and What is an 'Employee room?" An employee rate is a benefit that WE EARN as employees. I called and spoke to another lady the next day and she said I could call the day of to see if it was available.
So, now we are going on our trip and on our way to the hotel. I get a call from my hotel that I work at in Chicago that Hampton Inn Daytona Shores (Donna) was called stating they were going to cancel my res. if I didn't call them with a credit card to pay for the 1st night. In EVERY discussion I had with this hotel I ALWAYS referred to my 2 rooms reserved, even in an email to the GM in April. I wanted my rooms to be connecting or even close together. I called with my credit card to make the payment they were requesting so that my rooms would not be cancelled and they told me that I only had 1 room reserved. I was in shock that this was happening, but we headed on our way to the hotel anyways. When we arrived Heather (who was looked unproffesional- shirt untucked, wrinkled and just an overall dirty looking individual) was very rude to me and told me that I only had 1 room reserved and gave me an attitude and truly acted like she couldn't care less. We were a group of 7 people...my parents, husband, and my 3 kids (10,7, and 5.) My parents were going to get a hotel down the street due to this and I (still having 5 people) needed a rollaway, which they charged me $20 for. We checked in and my mother paid the Rm, Tax, deposit, and $20 for the rollaway. I asked Heather, "Doesn't your hotel care about your guests?" and even mentioned Tripadvisor reviews. We went to the parking lot to load our cart with A LOT of luggage. As I am going through the doors and passing the desk Heather calls me over and tells me the the GM wanted to speak to me. I expected an apology, but instead she asked us to leave the hotel! She says that I am only suppose to have 1 person in the room and that I am trying to have 7 (not true) and also because I mentioned Tripadvisor we had to leave. She also said she was going to call my GM in Chicago...I told her, "Please do, he already knows what's going on."
Well, everything happens for a reason in the end. I called my awesome boss in Chicago and he booked me 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Hampton Daytona Speedway at my employee rate. It was a much nicer hotel with a friendly staff and ended up being a wonderful stay. Becky, the GM at the Hampton Daytona Speedway even apologized for how horrible Daytona Shores treated us and upgraded 1 of my rooms- which I gave to my parents since they had to go through all of this trouble. It was only 10-15 min from the ocean/beach and we were so much better off.
The Hampton Daytona Shores was a dump- old, moldy, smelled AND it was under construction. It looks NOTHING like the pictures on here. Premium location, but a horrible hotel, with terrible customer service from very rude people that only can say "We are a premium location!" Thanks for the memory...my children tell people how we were thrown out of a hotel on our trip and ended up somewhere better!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Denise0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyEllis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Unfortunately, there are several factors in this situation that have not been mentioned. Our entire staff tries to make our guests happy (whether they are hotel employees or not). Although we are in the process of updating our lobby, we strive to overcome any inconveniences. We're sorry you were not able to stay with us and experience this, but glad to hear you were treated well at a sister property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were not made aware of construction in progress. it was not notated on website when reservations were made. Room décor is dated and in need of upgrade especially when compared to any other Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyMacLean, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
David M,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any hassle and frustration our previous renovations have caused you. We strived to make every guest aware of any construction that was occurring during their stay and make a note of these events on our website. We are sorry our previous improvements disrupted your stay and hope you will return to see us now that we have completed our renovation so you may see the result of all our hard work.

Thank you,
Ashley MacLean
Ashley.MacLean@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIsle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was our second year staying at the this hotel. We love the location and hotel was immaculate. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very compfortable. We were right on the beach and the view from our room was incredible. The breakfast was good and it was always well stocked. Love the waffles! I highly recommend this Hampton!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stay at this Hampton at DBS every year. Sandy (General Manager) and her team do a cook-out, DJ, etc. every Saturday during the summer. It is a great time. They grill burgers, hot dogs, beer, rum punch, jello shots, dance contest for all, singing, etc. All the guests participate. It is such a great time, makes you want to stay for two Saturdays! The staff is very friendly. Breakfast every morning is free & good. Love the free apples and cookies. We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

i was there this weekend and the hotel is alway great.I would go back for sur.The pool party on saturday is the best on the beach the team rock.its right on the beach with great view on the water.this is the 2nd time in the last year and i will be back next june again see you guys at the party

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Love this hotel, great location right on the beach. The Breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice. The Saturday pool party was a lot of fun,great place to go to unwind, already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
7.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Address: 3135 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic, breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean while relaxing at the newly renovated Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, completed January of 2016. Featuring 110 guest rooms that are equipped with a microwave, mini - fridge, 37" flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. At Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, all guests will enjoy our Free Hot Breakfast, JumpStart fitness center, along with the Oceanfront Pool & Spa area. We are located only minutes from Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Lagoon Water Park, Oceanwalk Shoppes & Amusements and many other local Daytona Beach attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing