We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been good”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in for two nights. Based off of the pictures and description we were expecting a balcony of some sort. Our "balcony" consisted of a wall up your our eyes with bugs, mold, and a beer can. The manager said he could not move us to another room. He mentioned if we had booked further in advance or were a timeshare member we may have gotten a better room. They will try to sell you a timeshare. The inside was clean, but we never got fresh towels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    149
    47
    22
    28
See reviews for
168
129
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Once again we found ourselves at the Daytona Beach Regency. Improvements have been made since our last visit. New security features with the parking garage and room entry. Finally, wireless internet is available in all rooms thanks to a new router package.... THANK YOU. The STAFF was GREAT as USUAL. This is a smaller hotel that provides the personal service we have come to expect. Expect another return visit.

Room Tip: We always try to have the room on the North side of the hotel. This provides an unrestricted view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We’re delighted that you have chosen to return to the Daytona Beach Regency, and that you appreciate the changes that have taken place since your last visit. We are really pleased that you’re planning to return here for another vacation, and we feel sure that your experiences here will continue to get even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are Diamond timeshare owners and this was a great place, among the better places we have stayed. The one bedroom unit was a corner oceanfront unit with everything we needed. The staff was excellent. Being next to the boardwalk was a big plus particularly with the Memorial Day weekend activities at the Bandshell. We were both recuperating from surgeries and we could not have picked a better place.

Room Tip: Oceanfront corner north side units are probably a bit quieter than ones on the boardwalk oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for sharing our kind words with us. We are very glad that our resort exceeded your expectations and is one of the best places you’ve stayed. Being that the Daytona Beach Regency is a beachfront resort, we do have some amazing views of the ocean. Our location also contributes to the comfort of our guests, since most of the essentials as well as entertainment are nearby. We are very happy to have helped you recover over the Memorial Day holiday, and it is our hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We chose the Regency for the fully-equipped kitchen and its beach-front location. Overall we had a pleasant stay. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The housekeeping and maintenance staff worked hard and definitely deserved recognition. The rooms were clean and well-equipped and all appliances worked properly. The kitchen was a big plus since there are not many restaurants nearby. The outdoor pool facing the ocean was very nice, with a slide. It is steps away from the beautiful Daytona Beach. What I am most impressed was (surprisingly) the sofa bed – I have never slept on a sofa bed this comfortable – it is pretty much the same as a regular mattress.

The hotel is fairly small, with 11 floors. Floors 2-10 are apartments and Floor 11 seems to be the office and is used for timeshare presentations. I think each floor has only about 10 rooms. The ones facing the ocean front (east) are hard to get. Odd-numbered number rooms (such as x01, x03, x05, x07) face the north, with some ocean view. The even- numbered rooms face the 20+ story Wyndham Ocean Walk Resort; the view was not great for these rooms. Unlike big hotels, you may not have much choice when it comes to available rooms at the Regency.

We were concerned about the parking situation before we got there. But as it turned out, the underground garage is fairly big and parking is not a problem at all. I would not recommend full-sized SUV though. The biggest complain I would have would be the noise. No matter which room you stay you cannot get away from the noise. Atlantic Ave is a very noisy street, with motorcycles cruising through late in the night; rooms x01 and x02 are directly impacted. Rooms x05 are next to the elevator. Rooms x07 are next to the laundry machines. And the even-numbered rooms face the dumpsters between the two hotels and the Wyndham hotel garage entrance… I am surprised that all the windows have single-layered glass considering how much air condition Daytona Beach needs. Double-layered glass window would help reduce the noise level as well.

For groceries, there is a Walgreens a couple of blocks away and a Publix supermarket 2.5 miles north on Atlantic Ave. We found the Publix to be fairly pricy. Our friends who shopped at Save-A-Lot supermarket (Nova and Rte 92 towards the airport) said their groceries were cheaper.

We would stay here again considering the location and service/amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms x07-x10 are the best. High-floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is part of the Diamond Resort properties and pretty much lives up to the Diamond standard. It is directly on the beach with a totally non-obstructed view of the ocean. There are 11 floors, so the view obviously gets better the higher you are. There are one and two bedroom units, but not all have a full ocean view. There is a small "tiki bar" with quite tasty food and drinks at very reasonable prices for a resort. There is a pool and hot tub, comfortable lounges, and bistro tables for four. The hotel rents beach chairs, but for a few more dollars the ones from the beach vendors are more comfortable (and set up for you) There are food trucks and many
bars and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms ending in 08 and 09 are the ocean view rooms. The only thing we found odd was that the "junior suite" in which we stayed was handicapped accessible in everyway, to include a wheelchair lift to negotiate the three step down to the living area. But the bathroom was not!!! It was very large and could easily accommodate a wheelchair except for the bathtub/shower. It was a step-in (not walk-in). The only other negative was that there were no ceiling fans in the bedroom or living area. It was all about the beach, but comfortable, clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 08 and 09. The Junior and Presidential suites are on the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Daytona Beach Regency is one of the better hotels we have stayed at. We knew it was an efficiency, but never expected all the comforts of home, and then some. Everything was clean and like new. The kitchenette was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need from glassware, dishes, silverware, pots and pans, to cleaning supplies. There were extra pillows, blankets and towels plus your basic toiletries. The outdoor pool was heated as was the spa and only a short walk to the beach. Unfortunately, we didn't get time to use the well equipped exercise room and never checked out the indoor pool, which we understand was available as well. Security couldn't have been better, with key cards to enter the garage, pool area, etc. Everyone was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the check-out time of 10:00 a.m. was a bit on the early side compared to most hotels, and check-in time of 4:00 p.m a little late. Even though we attempted to check in at 4:10 p.m., our room wasn't quite ready and we still had to wait about 15 minutes. All in all, the location was great and we couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the street side and had one with no obstructions. However, if it is during a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhirschberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Daytona Beach Regency, and that we were able to exceed your expectations on this vacation! Although our check-in and check-out times are standard across all our resorts, we will try to accommodate early check-in and/or late check-out if these are requested.

We are really pleased that you had a great time here, and we hope you’ll choose to return for another visit, to take advantage of everything the resort has to offer – we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just completed a stay at the Daytona Beach Regency. Simply incredible!! From the GM a John who hosted a wine and cheese party to the room no complaints at all. We were in room 1109, the a Presidential Suite which had views of the ocean from three sides. The room amenities were great. Beach and pool were awesome. Special thanks to Jean Civil, Aiyana Chipapponi, Judit Martin and Christine Stephenson in the sales department.

All great people who represented the hotel and Diamond Resorts International with class and distinction. IHOP and convince store across the street and you can walk down the beach to the boardwalk. We will be back!!

Room Tip: 11th floor ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#30 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabree...
#20 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Property: Daytona Beach Regency
Address: 400 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3925
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Regency Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing