We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent place to stay if you get a good rate, but it smells” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, decent place to stay if you get a good rate, but it smells”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We are Floridians and wanted a little getaway. The hotel is a great location... right next to the Ocean Walk complex and on the section of the beach where driving is not allowed. The pool area and "tiki" bar was a nice place to relax and enjoy being at the beach. We got a great rate through a wholesaler, and that was really the reason we booked this location. It is a timeshare, which is not necessarily a bad thing, just might be good for people to know in case that is something that is important to them. The "concierge" is helpful, but is paid to book the open house for the timeshare, again, not a big deal, but for some folks may be nice to know.
The biggest problem was the smell. OUR ROOM SMELLED SO BAD! I had read reviews mentioning the same problem, and I thought of brining along something to help just in case, now I wish I had. The smell must be from smoke or mildew, or both. Our clothes and luggage smelled bad upon resturning home. We stayed two nights which would be the most I would recommend. We did complain about the smell and politely asked if there was anything that could be done. Nothing ever was even though they said they would do something.
We did have a great view and again the pool area was nice. Overall, I would only recommend staying here if you get a darn good rate, doing a short getaway, and if you do not expect too much. It's not that bad, and there are certain standards that generally have to be lowered when traveling to Daytona, it was average.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HometownOrlandoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    145
    45
    21
    27
See reviews for
163
121
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

When we checked in the receptionist mentioned that we might not have wifi in our room and we didn't. The next day another receptionist told us that they are having problems with the wifi on one side of the building and they just ordered the parts. Good...so no wifi in the room for this vacation...Another issue was the pigeons and the pigeons sh-- on our balcony. We didn't address this issue, considering that the maintenance staff was supposed to clean the balcony as well not just the room. The table and the chairs were all covered in sh--...great; so we couldn't use the balcony, either. With all this, we still tried to enjoy our vacation and what I called "my million dollar view" - the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiana-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We booked our stay for 2 nights beginning on our anniversary of Dec. 30th, and planned to celebrate New Year's Eve at the Boardwalk Pier to see the fireworks display. We booked a 1 bdr suite through bookit.com, and upon arrival (1 hour early) we were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a 2 bdr lockout suite.

This place was huge!!!! It was probably even cleaner than we left our apartment. The Master had a jacuzzi tub in it (which all four of us had a turn to enjoy) with a separate bathroom that had a walk in shower. Usually when we go to Daytona we end up leaving some kitchen essential or bathroom essential behind and have to run to the store, but not here. They had everything except toothpaste, toothbrush, and floss. Also, it had a fully stocked (dishes & towels) kitchen for cooking.

We were all amazed at the quality of the bedding, towels, appliances (Cuisinart). The furniture was even better than what we own. Every room had an alarm clock with an iPod dock built in. This impressed our children to say the least. We only left the resort in the car one time, when we had dinner on the Halifax Marina. Otherwise everything including the famous "Oceanwalk Shoppes" was within comfortable walking distance.

The pools were heated. The tiki bar out by the pool had reasonably priced drinks.

I can not even begin to make you understand how nice and friendly the front desk staff was, especially Diane. They are there to say "yes" and make your stay a memorable one. We go to Daytona a lot, and Daytona Beach Regency will always be our 1st choice of a "home away from home"!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRudman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This was my 3rd stay at the Regency after many weeks in Daytona. If you can get a good rate, it has ideal facilities, a location in middle of beach area, close to restaurants and shops. One bedroom apartments are specious and well furnished with complete kitchen and weekly serevice. Pool area is perfect for adults and childre, I find the straff to always be pleasant and eager to please. Only downsides are no great view from your balcony as south side has a tall building adjacant to you and northside, while having a view, it's of several run down properties. Garage is very tight for non-compact cars. Be careful of rooms which cannot receive the wifi due to their location...make sure you specify this if it's important to you. The hotel is very clean, beds are comfy and all you need to be at home in Daytona Beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conner2dood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We found this hotel very spacious and the staff friendly. It's right on the beach, has a great Tiki Bar on the premises and is within walking distance of good food, a movie theater and some shopping. There are other bigger, fancier hotels around, but this one suited us perfectly. I rated sleep quality a little low because A1A (Atlantic Ave) runs right by the hotel. Harleys rev up and down the strip at all hours. The hotel can't control rude harley people.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenvalleyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

The girl at the front desk was amazing!!!! She made me feel so welcomed! The tall security saved my life!!!" Ftc!!"! And the drinks were amazing!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bytheaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This property is so old and outdated. The rooms smelled like mildew and my wife was sickened by the condoms left in the bathroom. Tiny roaches everywhere. Subpar resort. Diamond Maintenance fees are so high but for what?

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaca1Mizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#31 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#18 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Property: Daytona Beach Regency
Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Regency Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing