We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Daytona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingsland, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best in Daytona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at quite a few hotels in Daytona, and the Plaza is one of the best. We just returned from a three night stay in a king ocean front room. The room was so much bigger than most hotel rooms. We never felt crowded. The bathroom is small, but besides that, everything was great. We had a roomy patio that provided access to the pool area and beach. We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past, but this was our first time staying on the first floor. I really liked being able to just walk out from the patio and go straight to the pool. The elevators at beachfront resorts are always crowded, so it was nice to avoid them.
The location of the Plaza is perfect. It is within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. Once we parked, we did not use our vehicle again. Beach driving ends just before the edge of the resort, so you do not have to worry about vehicle traffic.
The pool area is great. There is an outside bar that offers snacks and drinks. There are plenty of beach chairs, so even on a crowded weekend you did not worry about having a place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Michellew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our first floor rooms. You are correct about our rooms being larger than most standard hotel rooms and our location is often mentioned as being the best in Daytona Beach. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    421
    192
    104
    110
See reviews for
588
569
62
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've stayed here several times now and I always wish I could stay just a few more days.the rooms are amazing and so is everything in the hotel,great location to go anywhere!i recommend it to everyone who would like to visit Daytona beach!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodybead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Kodybead,

Thanks for your endorsement and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel. We do have a great location and a wonderful staff. Our historic hotel with up to date features and amenities is a great alternative on the beach. We hope that you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
947 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

There really isn't many choices for nice hotels on Daytona Beach, and we've tried several. The Plaza has a nice lobby, and the pool area is just a bit above average, but room wise, nothing to write home about. Service is better than the Shores. But to be honest, if you are looking for a really nice beachfront location, drive 25 miles north and give Palm Coast a try.

Room Tip: Book ocean front, and nothing else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear rryan3131,

Thanks very much for the review. We appreciate all of your comments and will use them to continuously improve. Glad you found our service superior to the Shores. We hope that you will return soon and often.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I read the reviews before selecting this place, I call it "place" because its far from what it is advertised as. Also was recommended to this place and really was excited about my weekend on the beach with my girlfriend. Upon arrival, I was notified of a resort fee, still trying to figure the resort part out, 2 haircutting chairs in the basement doesn't sell me on a resort/spa status. Then reading previous reviews I noticed complaints of things that were fixed, they weren't I could still see re-bar and major cracks on the balconies near mine. The staff was good, no doubt about that with willing to help in any way possible to accommodate the complaints with free drinks and room changes. I was a little however taken back by two things and it will be mentioned to anything that asks about my stay. I found an empty beer can in my garbage and a panty liner behind my toilet on the wall. Lastly, ocean view room and ocean front view should be discussed prior to check-in. There wasn't an ocean front option when I made the reservation so I assumed that ocean view was the only option. When the rest of my party checked in they didn't select a ocean view and could see more of the ocean than I could from my higher priced room. I can say this place was cleaner than the city itself and did offer a good entrance to the beach. However I will not be staying here again on my return visits to Daytona Beach and will be advising any of my other military friends and family to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Charles T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all comments good or bad and will work hard to improve. Our Spa is really full service with multiple stations for hair, nails, pedicures and 10 different teatment rooms for a variety of massage treatments. We also have a steam room and a jacuzzi style tub.
No excuse for the items found in your room. We made a mistake in the cleaning and inspection process.
Our rooms a variety of views with Eastern(Ocean Front), Southern(partial Ocean view) and City View(view of the city scape and in higher rooms the intra-coastal). Of course what floor your on also has a big impact on views.



Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I referred my brother to the hotel a day before we arrived. He posted a picture from the balcony of his "ocean view" room. It was disappointing to say the least. It was a sliver view of the ocean when you got past the parking lot view. At the time we booked the room there was no mention or offer of a "ocean front"room. The room he was given had the trash cans full when he walked in. The next night my wife and I arrived. We checked in and showed the view of my brothers room to front desk ladies and voiced our disappointment. There was complete lack of interest, because as it was worded, he payed for ocean view not front. They can't help we didn't know there was a difference. So we informed them we will not be referring anyone else to the plaza. Which we are in Daytona regularly for dance and cheer competitions. Her response was, "ok, thank you".
Then we get in the elevator, which skipped the 3rd floor a couple of times when we pushed and hit the button. We got to our room, and the door was swelled and extremely hard to open, the patio had broken concrete all over making it appear to be unsafe to sit on and enjoy our view. Which by the way was a regular room, and had a better view of the ocean then my brothers ocean view room which he payed more for. So I decided to go get ice, which I found the ice machine broken. I asked the cleaning ladies how and where to get ice. She took me back to the machine I came from informing me of how to operate the machine in a not so nice tone. When she looked in she said "oh, it's really broken". Ya think? She then informed me I would have to go to the 7th floor to get ice. I was on my to the front desk when Alan passed by asked how I was doing. I said not very well. He took it upon himself to find out why and listen to my complaints. He got me ice and told me he would be at the lobby for a little while and to come back with my wife and brother and get this taken care of. We went to the front desk and Rose gave us a few room options and let us go look at the rooms to see if we were ok with them. Then she moved us both from the rooms into new rooms. Upon multiple elevator rides thru our stay the elevators skip floors. Even the cleaners were pointing it out. The bean bags for corn hole are not filled, making it a hard game to play. Alan then sent the four in our party to the poolside bar. Dwayne then was very nice at the bar in trying to make up for the issues.
Overall, if it wasn't for Alan and Dwayne we would've left instantly and demanded our money back. Very disappointed in the quality vs the money. There are many choices on the strip to choose from other than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Tim B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear of all of the difficulties that you encountered with your room. I appreciate you acknowledging Alan for helping out, however, more importantly I wish you had been more than satisfied from the very beginning. If possible give me a call so I can discuss the issue with you in more detail.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A large hotel with a personal touch. The staff are very hands on and friendly. The rooms were up to date and spacious. They also had rooms with a refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. Garage parking and open outside parking are available. This hotel also has a spa and meeting room space. I was there to view the hotel as we are going to be holding our Class Reunion there The only drawbacks are that the hotel charges a resort fee and the elevators can be extremely slow.

Room Tip: They have rooms that face AIA so if you are looking for beachfront please request same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Cathy M,
Thank you for your comments about our staff. We really apprciate hearing about them and I will share your feelings at an upcoming all staff meeting we will be having. Our resort fee you referred to covers the expense of items such as two free drinks on arrival, two bottles of water in your room, complimentary WiFi, USA Today delivered to your room, complimentary use of computers and printers in our business center, and valet parking.


I hope that you will return soon!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

If planning a Reunion and/or conference at this property you can not be in better hands with Ben Nelson, the Conference Manager and Wilson in Banquets. We totally customized our meals and decorations and both were extremely helpful and willing to meet all our needs.

Both are very hands on....and readily available at all times.

Room Tip: 3rd floor - ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGlass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear JGlass72,
Thanks for the very kind review. I was pleased to see that you recognized two of our employees for their outstanding service. We really appreciate this recognition for our hard working staff. We hope that you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#20 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#31 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort & Spa Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing