We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here on 08/02/13
I've stayed here before, and usually, the hotel is clean, well-kept, and the staff is ALWAYS great!!... However.... This time, the room had hairs in the sinks, the tub, and all over the floor that DIDN'T belong to me or anyone in my party. There was also a nasty sock left on the balcony for me to discover. When I mentioned the hair to the lady at the front desk, she didn't seem fazed, but the sock on the balcony seemed to fix that. On the good side, Carrie at the bar was AWESOME!!! Would I stay here again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor... go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpnbnanamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    415
    185
    97
    104
See reviews for
574
559
59
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Like many reviews, we have stayed at many hotels on Daytona Beach, the Plaza is among some of the better choices but you will pay a little more. Daily fees include parking and resort ammenities, didn't see too many ammenities but you are close enough to the Pier to enjoy it's offerings. The room was updated and comfortable but can tell the maintenance is not a priority, chipped paint, exposed wires, small stains on the carpet. The grounds needed attention, simple things like picking up trash/food in the pool area would make a difference. Most of all the elevators need some renovation, during the day it was nothing to wait 20 minutes for an elevator coming and going! Loved the easy access to the beach and pool and appreciated the pool bar but don't try to bring your own cooler to the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiekat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Blondiekat45,

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. WE are taking steps to improve room maintenance and will be also working on improving the elevators. Your comments are important to us as we continue to improve.


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astor, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Super staff makes you feel at home. Don't have to leave the hotel. Great restaurant and lounge. New years celebration was super. Can't wait to return. Have stayed at numerous beach hotels and this rates at the top. Never used car the entire weekend. Walked the beach and visit local shops.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 258Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear 258Russell,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your recognition of our staff is greatly appreciated. We have a great location and wonderful product. Don't wait too long to return!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsland, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at quite a few hotels in Daytona, and the Plaza is one of the best. We just returned from a three night stay in a king ocean front room. The room was so much bigger than most hotel rooms. We never felt crowded. The bathroom is small, but besides that, everything was great. We had a roomy patio that provided access to the pool area and beach. We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past, but this was our first time staying on the first floor. I really liked being able to just walk out from the patio and go straight to the pool. The elevators at beachfront resorts are always crowded, so it was nice to avoid them.
The location of the Plaza is perfect. It is within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. Once we parked, we did not use our vehicle again. Beach driving ends just before the edge of the resort, so you do not have to worry about vehicle traffic.
The pool area is great. There is an outside bar that offers snacks and drinks. There are plenty of beach chairs, so even on a crowded weekend you did not worry about having a place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Michellew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our first floor rooms. You are correct about our rooms being larger than most standard hotel rooms and our location is often mentioned as being the best in Daytona Beach. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've stayed here several times now and I always wish I could stay just a few more days.the rooms are amazing and so is everything in the hotel,great location to go anywhere!i recommend it to everyone who would like to visit Daytona beach!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodybead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Kodybead,

Thanks for your endorsement and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel. We do have a great location and a wonderful staff. Our historic hotel with up to date features and amenities is a great alternative on the beach. We hope that you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
921 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

There really isn't many choices for nice hotels on Daytona Beach, and we've tried several. The Plaza has a nice lobby, and the pool area is just a bit above average, but room wise, nothing to write home about. Service is better than the Shores. But to be honest, if you are looking for a really nice beachfront location, drive 25 miles north and give Palm Coast a try.

Room Tip: Book ocean front, and nothing else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear rryan3131,

Thanks very much for the review. We appreciate all of your comments and will use them to continuously improve. Glad you found our service superior to the Shores. We hope that you will return soon and often.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I read the reviews before selecting this place, I call it "place" because its far from what it is advertised as. Also was recommended to this place and really was excited about my weekend on the beach with my girlfriend. Upon arrival, I was notified of a resort fee, still trying to figure the resort part out, 2 haircutting chairs in the basement doesn't sell me on a resort/spa status. Then reading previous reviews I noticed complaints of things that were fixed, they weren't I could still see re-bar and major cracks on the balconies near mine. The staff was good, no doubt about that with willing to help in any way possible to accommodate the complaints with free drinks and room changes. I was a little however taken back by two things and it will be mentioned to anything that asks about my stay. I found an empty beer can in my garbage and a panty liner behind my toilet on the wall. Lastly, ocean view room and ocean front view should be discussed prior to check-in. There wasn't an ocean front option when I made the reservation so I assumed that ocean view was the only option. When the rest of my party checked in they didn't select a ocean view and could see more of the ocean than I could from my higher priced room. I can say this place was cleaner than the city itself and did offer a good entrance to the beach. However I will not be staying here again on my return visits to Daytona Beach and will be advising any of my other military friends and family to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Charles T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all comments good or bad and will work hard to improve. Our Spa is really full service with multiple stations for hair, nails, pedicures and 10 different teatment rooms for a variety of massage treatments. We also have a steam room and a jacuzzi style tub.
No excuse for the items found in your room. We made a mistake in the cleaning and inspection process.
Our rooms a variety of views with Eastern(Ocean Front), Southern(partial Ocean view) and City View(view of the city scape and in higher rooms the intra-coastal). Of course what floor your on also has a big impact on views.



Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#17 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#31 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort & Spa Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing