We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family vacation”
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brandon, Florida
1 review
“Awesome family vacation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This room was awesome, beds were comfortable, nice and clean and loved the kitchenette. The staff was friendly, and the pool was perfect. I will definetly come here again and refer friends. The only thing that was frustrating was the use of elevators at checkout and check in, they could use at least 2 more had to wait 30 min. to catch one down stairs to check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mma6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Good Morning Mma6931:

We are pleased that you shared with us and the trip advisor community a review of your excelelnt stay at our Plaza Resort and Spa.

My staff and I take your comments very seriously and use your feedback to improve as well as recognize our team for the excellent service that they provide.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    431
    196
    108
    115
See reviews for
600
587
63
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for five nights over spring break with my teenage daughter. Our room overlooked the beach, which was a fabulous view. We were able to keep the sliding glass door open all the time and hear the sound of the waves. Everyone who worked at this hotel was very friendly and always helpful. The hotel is in walking distance of several places to shop and eat. We did have a rental car and the valet service at the hotel was amazing. We loved the cleanliness, friendliness, location and value of this hotel. Great beach just a few steps away as well as a really nice pool area when you're done with the sand. If we return to Daytona, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to be oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyz630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear TammyZ630:

The team and I appreicate your excellent review on trip advisor.
As you commented in your review, I would agree that we are 'the Perfect Beach Hotel.

Please share with your friends and family your excellent experiences at our resort.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at the Plaza twice a year for the past three years. Once in May for my birthday and December for my wives'. We have seen dramatic upgrades and improvements over the years. These include new HDTVs, bathroom vanities(a great improvement over the old pedestal sink) now there is space for toiletries, and new sleep sofas in the studio units. Last year they were working on the balconies and there was some noise disruption during our December stay. The work is all done and having a balcony to sit on overlooking the ocean is priceless. There are many other improvements that have occurred during the past three years but the greatest is the staff. I could name people but be assured all of the front desk staff are eager to please, the housekeeping and maintenance staff are quick to respond to correct any issue.
This stay was wonderful. The weather was perfect hot but with a nice ocean breeze. The beach in front of the hotel is a NO drive beach. The only type of beach for families with children. It is walking distance to the boardwalk, ocean center and many restaurants and attractions. We park the car and it stays put for the whole weekend. The studio units, which we always get have a full size refrigerator, a microwave and a two burner cooktop. The extra cost of these units can be paid for in the savings' you get from not eating out three meals a day. So great location, clean large rooms, fabulous balconies and friendly staff make it the must stay place in Daytona Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean front a must; studios 05 and 09 rooms a great value if you do some of your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longbayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Good Morning Longbayou:

We are pleased to read your review on trip advisor.

Thank you for your loyalty to our resort, and for pointing out the many positive changes you have seen over the past years. Informing us that the most impressive change you have seen over the past year is the service levels provided by our excellent Associates.

The team and I look forward to seeing you on your next birthday.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Floirda
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here this past Memorial Day weekend. It's in a wonderful spot near Ocean Walk and the Boardwalk. The hotel is beautiful...public areas are clean and most everything was in good reapair. We stayed in an oceanfront King room on the 12th floor. Incredible views of the ocean and the beach itself. That Saturday night we enjoyed watching the fireworks over the boardwalk...great show...bested many Independence Day fireworks I have seen over my many years.

The pool area was very nice...clean...plenty of chairs. There was a bar and grill onsite near the pool that served just about anything you would need. It was a bit steep price-wise but I'm sure that's fairly common with this type of property in Daytona. There appeared to be a fight that broke out that Saturday night...police were called and were there sorting everything out while we watched from the pool. It appeared to me that management handled everything quickly and professionally since it didn't seem to distract too many from their Saturday night fun. They played a movie at the pool, Despicable Me 2...it was neat to watch a movie while swimming...kids loved it.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. Plenty of pillows, nice, soft mattress. The mini-kitchen was very nice...mini-fridge, sink, microwave and plenty of plates, glassware and flatware, granite countertop. The bathroom was a tiny bit small for us. We origianlly asked for a room with two queens but they were out by the time we checked in...so they "upgraded" us to the oceanfront king with a queen pull-out sofa. So, the room was probably meant really for 2-3 rather than the 5 of us so it really wasn't that bad. The bathroom did need a bit of work however...everything worked fine but the handle on the tub was a loose, but worked...and the door needed to be repaired and painted. The bottom of the door was beat up quite a bit...given this style of resort that should not be overlooked.

Overall we were highly pleased with this property...if we travel to Daytona Beach in the future we will look into reserving a room here again. I say if because to me, Daytona has declined a bit since I first visited there back in the 80's while in college. Seems like the years have taken its toll...get off A1A and it gets a bit scary...along with people sleeping on the beach (more like passed out) and doing things that made me blush, let alone exposing all that to my kids. So...in my opinion, Daytona needs to rethink its desires...may be time to get away from the "party city" reputation (like Ft. Lauderdale did) and begin to embrace more family/business travel. All that being said...it is no reflection on this resort...if you go there, I highly recommend it.

This property is great for families...couples...conferences...whatever...just a nice place with a great, friendly staff. Hint...don't forget to wear your pool/beach bracelet...especially when you're staying on the 12th floor. :-) And watch out for that lip on the sliding glass door...not sure why that's there but the kids tripped on it a couple of times.

Room Tip: Ocean Walk is nice. They do fireworks every Saturday night over the boardwalk as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caito34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Caito 34:

Thank you for your trip advisor review.

Your comments on your excellent experiences such as our movie night, the excellent service our Associates provided, cleanliness of your room and overall excellent stay is appreciated.

Have an excellent day Caito34.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumterville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was clean and staff friendly and helpful. Conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants. Had breakfast at hotel restaurant which was very good. The rooms were clean and updated. Very good for the $$

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Lee L:

Good Morning and thank you for your review on trip advisor.
We agree with you that are room price point is very reasonable and our rooms are excellent.

Thanks for your business Lee L and we look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night before driving down to disney. First there was no parking, then when we went up the oldest shaky elevator ever the halls were dirty and smelly, our door was wide open to our room and we realized it was because it was broken. When I told the front desk they already knew but didn't care. The rooms are updated in decor but clearly old and dirty...our bathroom had a really strong sewer smell the whole time! Since we only stayed one night we were willing to just deal with all of these things but the next day I realized they charged us an extra $250 because of smoking in the room. We were never told of this charge and its ridiculous!!!! I am still trying to get a hold of a manager but even though I was told he would be on st 8 am, its 9:30 and he's still not there. Must be nice...our vacation is ruined because they chsrged us an extra $250 and he gets to sleep in...thanks a lot! Listen to the bad reviews...the only good ones are coming from springbreakers who are there to party.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andreacr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Andrea 10:

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Our sincere apologies that your stay was not excellent.
As you are aware our resort does have a smoke free policy for all our guests rooms which is clearly pointed out during our check in process.

Although there was smoking in the room in question, when we spoke several days ago, as our good will we removed the smoking fee.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was the first time we stayed at the Plaza. It was our on year wedding anniversary. We arrived around 11 am and our room was ready! Upon check in, we were handed 2 complimentary drink tickets. As a guest you get free valet parking ( which we took advantage of). We booked an ocean view room, which was exactly that. A "tiny view" from corner of balcony. I would suggest upgrading to the OCEAN FRONT, it is much quieter! The first night, my husband and I were up scratching all night and at 1 am he had to call for new sheets. The next day out by the pool we ran into a wonderful woman, Pat Porter who was the head of the housekeeper. She was going around asking how everyone's stay was. We begin to tell her about our restless night and before I could finish she was aware of the situation. She asked if we were celebrating anything and we said our one year anniversary. Within 20 minutes she came down with a new room for us with two more complimentary drink tickets. Which my husband was on cloud 9 since I am pregnant and couldn't use them. We went out to dinner that night and came back to the room and found 2 Plaza Resort Coffee Mugs, a Tin can of Cookies and a Happy Anniversary Card signed by everyone. It was so NICE! The rest of our stay was amazing. The staff from the check in to the outdoor pool are extremely friendly. Everyone is so quick to make you happy. The location is perfect, right on the beach and within walking distance from the Ocean Walk Boardwalk and Shoppes. We enjoyed out stay so much we decided to stay an extra night. We were upgraded to an ocean front room for our last night there which was our actual anniversary day. My only advice is if you are staying for awhile, to bring food. Rooms have a refrigerator and a microwave. It is very pricey at the hotel restaurant and they seemed to close earlier than what the times were. The lounge/bar stays open but no food is served. There is an IHOP right across the street which we found more reasonable for breakfast. We had a great time and plan on taking kids back this time in a few weeks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebit0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Littlebit:

Your trip advisor review is very much appreciated.
My staff and I take your comments very seriously and use your feedback to improve as well as recognize our team for the excellent service that they provide.

Thanks for your business.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#29 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort & Spa Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing