We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in Daytona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Daytona”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed there in May 2013 for 2 nites, stayed at the Dream Inn for the 1st two nites. I paid 137 for the Dream Inn and paid 150 for the 2 nites in the Tropical Winds - what a HUGE difference. The Trop is comparable to a Marriott but nowhere the cost. Since I stayed at two hotels on this trip and being the 2 hotels were almost the same price - I would only stay at the Trop and not the Dream Inn going forward. There is no comparison in every way. The Trop is beautiful and the rooms are wonderful and large. I had seen on their website that they had a corner room with windows on one wall and sliding doors with a balcony on another wall and in the room was a king bed with 2 nite tables and a sofa bed couch, new HDTV in a cabinet with table and chairs and a big refrigerator and microwave. The rooms are super clean and huge. Well, I asked for a corner room when I filled online my reservation and that is what I got. The people there are very friendly and helpful. That is now my 1st hotel I plan on staying at on my trips to Daytona. The pool is large with very comfortable lounges which have the mesh coverings and they are not worn and sagging - they look like they are new. It overlooks the ocean with access to the beach. Can't wait to go back there!

Room Tip: I would always ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    318
    74
    26
    25
See reviews for
322
408
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ezel,ky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a wonderful 12 night stay, the cleaning staff was wonderful and the employees could not help you enough. I've never been treated any better anywhere. We will be back again. The place is clean and comfortable..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My husband and I needed a change of pace for a few days and decided to cross the state to Daytona Beach. I did my 'homework on the net and decided on the Tropical Winds for these reasons:..Oceanfront room, kitchen, and price. We didn't expect the Taj Mahal, but were pleased with the hotel. Didn't mind that there was not restaurant....there are a million around!
Room was clean. Pool area had a very large deck with AMPLE lounge chairs! Staff was friendly, and informative. We would consider the Tropical Winds if we return to Daytona Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridagirljcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Staff were very friendly. Disadvantage of staying at this hotel was that it did not have a restaurant onsite. There is a very small cafe but only open from 7 am - 2 pm and a very limited menu variety. Hotel also didn't have a safe in the room.
Should I return to Daytona in the future, I would definitely look for a place closer to the pier.

Room Tip: ocean front - beautiful sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin, ky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were here the first week of April as a chaperone for my school's senior trip. While the rooms were nicer and cleaner than expected, I found the front desk staff lacking. We needed five rooms for all of our kids and chaperones, which is not a whole lot. Even though the rooms were booked in advance as one group and one trip, when we arrived to pay they insisted we had pay for each room separately and as a separate transaction. Also, they told us we had to be split up and the rooms could not be put together. If you've ever chaperoned a group of teenagers, you know this is not a good idea. Though they told us when we booked we'd be accommodated, I felt we were not upon arrival. I give the place four stars for the cleanliness and rooms itself, but the front desk staff receives a zero.

Room Tip: The one king bed rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were hesitant about going back to Daytona Beach because a few years ago when we were there we did not have a good experience with the prior resort or the beach. This time was completely different.
Check in was quick and easy. Woman at front desk was very nice. Loved our room and the view from the balcony overlooking the beach and the outdoor pool. We never used the outdoor pool but we did use the indoor. The kids absolutely loved it, couldn't get enough. The temperature was perfect.
The only thing that would have made our stay better was more place settings in the kitchen. There were only two bowls and we are a family of four.
But other than that our stay was perfect and we won't hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommydeanto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We booked several hotels for our vacation and one might with tropical winds oceanfront hotel through hotels.com. Because we had a slight change of itineary we had to cancel one night 15 days in advance of our expected stay. They have a one day 'No Refund' policy which we were not aware of.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ConradB965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing