We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choice slightly away from main street chaios” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ocklawaha, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great choice slightly away from main street chaios”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently returned for a stay at hotel Previous stay was some ten years ago. Was pleased that the experience was just as pleasant as it was a decade ago. The property and the room were very clean. The staff was great,will look to book there again in the future.Cafe at hotel has a great breakfast.,

Room Tip: South side side view room had a nice sea view King bed and no neighbors. Very quiet and SMOKER FRIEN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure when a previous guest returns and again enjoys their stay with us and appreciates the cleanliness of our rooms and public areas as well as the friendliness of our staff. Glad you also enjoyed the breakfast in our Cafe.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you - Christine Lane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    308
    68
    25
    25
See reviews for
304
395
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

After staying in Orlando for 5 days we thought we would head over to Daytona Beach for 2 nights since we'd never been there before. We read the reviews for this hotel and thought we would give it a shot. Sure glad we did! It was a very nice hotel. Ms. Gwen is a gem. Every hotel ought to have someone as nice as her to welcome them and check them in. The room was very nice and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The pool is very nice and they even sold hotdogs for a dollar at lunch time. Can't beat that deal! There is easy access to the beach which was nice. If we ever get to Daytona again we will stay here. I miss talking to Ms. Gwen and would love to see her again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
So nice of you to take the time to post a review about your positive experience at Tropical Winds. Our reviews on Tripadvisor bring people like you to our hotel and I appreciate you passing on your thoughts to other travellers. Ms. Gwen is indeed an asset and I will be sure to pass your comments on to her. I certainly hope that you will get an opportunity to stay with us again.
Thank you - Christine Lane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conley, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

From the time we walked into Tropical Winds Ms. Gwen made us feel welcome. We stayed for 7 nights in a newly refurbished oceanfront room with two queen beds and kitchenette. They have replaced the carpet, beds, room furniture, added a wall safe. During our stay they replaced the pillows with new ones. Beds were very comfortable and well made. The cafe downstairs was a real disappointment. They need to add a hot tub outside by the pool. Most other hotels around there have them. Great housekeeping lady on the 4th floor. We enjoyed our stay so much when checking out again with Ms Gwen she got us a great deal for September so were coming back for another week. She is an asset to this hotel. Bathroom door swings in and just barely misses hitting the toilet also should update shower rods to curved rod.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Knights3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review. I will certainly let Ms. Gwen and Kay, the housekeeper on the 4th floor know how much they contributed to you enjoying your stay. As you mentioned we have made a lot of improvements over the last year and continue to do so and I am happy that guests like yourselves take the time to let other travelers know about them. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the Café - we mostly receive good comments about their food and service. Ms. Gwen, myself and the rest of our staff look forward to having you stay with us again in September. Christine Lane - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Tropical Winds. I highly recommend this hotel.
It is an older building but they have recently renovated. The rooms and property are very clean. Large rooms are a very good value. The staff was friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you noticed that we recently remodeled our rooms. We continously work on upgrading our facility and are always happy when our cusomers appreciate. what we have done.
Thank you and I hope to see you again in the near future. Christine Lane - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would not recommend this hotel, as the staff was very lousy. They had such a long time to check us in and they were eating while checking us out!! "the cherry on the top" was as they called us at midnight (!!) to ask whether we put our food leftovers into the corridor, what we of course didn't..!! Very unfriendly. The location of the hotel is too fare from the pier and wifi was free but disconnected all the time. We were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience at Tropical Winds. As you can see by previous reviews we pride ourselves in customer service. Our check-in procedure is usually very fast and efficient and in backtracking your reservation I found that an error was made when the reservation was entered and therefore it took the clerk longer to find it. The clerk who called at midnight thought you had accidentally left your groceries on the cart and did not want anything to spoil - obviously this was an error on her part. I apologize for for the human errors on our part and hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to Daytona Beach. Wir sprechen hier auch Deutsch und wuerden Sie gerne wieder als Gaeste empfangen.
Thank you - Christine Lane- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel for 10 days early April 2014 and found it excellent. Friendly staff, clean, very helpful front desk staff and quiet. Pool area clean with good furniture. Would recommend hotel to to anyone seeking a quiet,clean place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for for posting such a nice review. It is always nice to see a guest take the time to share their good experience with others and let our staff know that their hard work is apppreciated. I hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Christine Lane- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

First time staying in Daytona. Tropical winds reception has been friendly but the room was dirty. Drawers had large dried water spots. The pillows were very old, small, and lumpy. The bathroom had coarse curly hair beside the toilet and looooong clumps of black hair in the drain.... Which makes you question whether the sheets were changed to begin with. The bathrooms smelled like someone had gone #2 in there... Debris remained on the carpet.... When I mentioned this to the staff, they sent someone up with bleach and they cleaned the bathroom and said the housekeeper isn't doing their job and they would look after it. Not a place I will stay again and would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience at Tropical Winds. We usually get very good comments form guests about our housekeeping satff and the cleanliness of the rooms - I feel really bad that this was not the case on your visit. I have followed up on your issues with the housekeeper on that floor and want to assure you that this was an exception to everything we stand for.
Once again, I am very sorry and hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in the Daytona Beach area.
Thank you - Christine Lane - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing