We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melanie....."Loved it"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everything was just like the pictures. The staff was very friendly, the lady that checked us in was awesome wish I remembered her name, was hoping to see her again before we left, just to thank her one more time. The rooms were clean, nice size, and a great view of the ocean. Loved the cafe, food was good and inexpensive. It was everything we needed for our vacation..Will return very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melp311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy to hear that we met your expectations. The nice lady at the front desk was Ms Gwen and I will be sure to let her know how much you appreciated her friendliness. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and continue to upgrade our facility to ensure our guests of the best possible vacation experience. I hope to see you back at Tropical Winds in the very near future.
Thank you again. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I booked my room a month in advance. Once I arrived the lady at the front desk was awesome. I dont remember her nane but she is the black lady with the beautiful smile. She made check in very pleasant and has a great sense of humor. We were on the 7th floor. She asked was that ok. We git to the room and went on the balcony which was to high for my fiancée. Went back down and the lady chabged our room with no problem and added a joke. Got to our room wich was awesome. Maid service was wonderful. We have vacationed in daytona every year for 4 years . This year was the first time at Tropical Winds. Will be returning there from now on.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaneka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Your kind words are greatly appreciated. The lady at the desk with the "beautiful smile" is Ms. Gwen and I will be sure to pass your comments on to her. I know that she is a great asset to Tropical Winds and really knows how to make our guests feel welcome.
Nice to hear that after 4 years of coming to Daytona Beach you found us and hopefully you have found a "home away from home" for many years to come.
Thank you again. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have been coming here since 2008. We just happened in here the first time, got a good deal and felt very welcomed. We have been returning since, sometimes twice a year. The stay is always great. Miss Gwen at front desk is ALWAYS pleasant and accommodating! The cafe is perfect for a good & inexpensive breakfast & lunch! Thanks to Billy, Cameron, & Jordan. And weekends are always great fun with Franz and his hotdog stand. Rooms are always clean, nice size pool inside and out, and right on the ocean. My husband belongs to a hotel points club, we could get free rooms at the holiday Inn, but we choose
The Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel instead. You won't be disappointed!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

It was a pleasure having you as our guests once again and thank you for your kind words. It is employees like Ms.Gwen and the folks in the Cafe who contribute to guests returning time after time. We very much appreciate your choosing Tropical Winds over other options available to you in Daytona Beach.
Hope to see you at last one more time this year!! Have a great summer.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was clean, close to everything, staff was extremely professional and kind, food was good. If you need a nice place to stay for a very affordable price, stay here. We will be going back for sure! We booked the room last minute and was able to get one of the last ocean front rooms, with a private balcony and they even let us get into room right away ( 11:30 am on a Sat. )
what courtesy. Pool & Deck was nice, parking was free and easy. Landscaping was even nice. You can tell the owners really want to make the stay a nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I greatly appreciate your nice comments and am happy that we were able to provide an early check-in for you. This is something we try to offer our guests whenever possible so they can maximize their beach experience. Our owners continue to upgrade the facilities to offer you great accommodations at reasonable rates. Thank you also for appreciating our employees' kindness and professionalism. It's people like you who make them want to do their very best.
I hope to welcome you back to Tropiacl Winds in the not too distant future.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently returned for a stay at hotel Previous stay was some ten years ago. Was pleased that the experience was just as pleasant as it was a decade ago. The property and the room were very clean. The staff was great,will look to book there again in the future.Cafe at hotel has a great breakfast.,

Room Tip: South side side view room had a nice sea view King bed and no neighbors. Very quiet and SMOKER FRIEN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure when a previous guest returns and again enjoys their stay with us and appreciates the cleanliness of our rooms and public areas as well as the friendliness of our staff. Glad you also enjoyed the breakfast in our Cafe.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you - Christine Lane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After staying in Orlando for 5 days we thought we would head over to Daytona Beach for 2 nights since we'd never been there before. We read the reviews for this hotel and thought we would give it a shot. Sure glad we did! It was a very nice hotel. Ms. Gwen is a gem. Every hotel ought to have someone as nice as her to welcome them and check them in. The room was very nice and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The pool is very nice and they even sold hotdogs for a dollar at lunch time. Can't beat that deal! There is easy access to the beach which was nice. If we ever get to Daytona again we will stay here. I miss talking to Ms. Gwen and would love to see her again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

So nice of you to take the time to post a review about your positive experience at Tropical Winds. Our reviews on Tripadvisor bring people like you to our hotel and I appreciate you passing on your thoughts to other travellers. Ms. Gwen is indeed an asset and I will be sure to pass your comments on to her. I certainly hope that you will get an opportunity to stay with us again.
Thank you - Christine Lane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the time we walked into Tropical Winds Ms. Gwen made us feel welcome. We stayed for 7 nights in a newly refurbished oceanfront room with two queen beds and kitchenette. They have replaced the carpet, beds, room furniture, added a wall safe. During our stay they replaced the pillows with new ones. Beds were very comfortable and well made. The cafe downstairs was a real disappointment. They need to add a hot tub outside by the pool. Most other hotels around there have them. Great housekeeping lady on the 4th floor. We enjoyed our stay so much when checking out again with Ms Gwen she got us a great deal for September so were coming back for another week. She is an asset to this hotel. Bathroom door swings in and just barely misses hitting the toilet also should update shower rods to curved rod.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Knights3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review. I will certainly let Ms. Gwen and Kay, the housekeeper on the 4th floor know how much they contributed to you enjoying your stay. As you mentioned we have made a lot of improvements over the last year and continue to do so and I am happy that guests like yourselves take the time to let other travelers know about them. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the Café - we mostly receive good comments about their food and service. Ms. Gwen, myself and the rest of our staff look forward to having you stay with us again in September. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#5 of 74 in Daytona Beach
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#12 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £64 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing