We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The staff at the Tropical Winds are fabulous, right from the moment we arrived after a very long day of flights and shuttle service. We were greated by a very helpful front desk clerk, Bryan who assured us that our luggage would arrive soon and accomodated our room requests. The next morning we were greated by Bridgette who had our missing luggage, she was very lovely and helpful it was always a pleasure to deal with her. Next we headed to the cafe for breakfast and were greated by very friendly and cheerful staff who were always smiling. This comment would not be complete without a mention of the lovely Gwen who was always offering information on local eateries or contacting taxi's for us or giving our shuttle service hell for making her guests walk to the curb instead of picking us up at the door. Everyone from the front desk, cafe staff, cleaning ladies and maintenance staff you all made our stay a very pleasurable one and we hope to return to your resort in the future.

Thank you,

Mr. & Mrs. Skedgel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

We think Tropical Winds is a great place to stay. We have been going there for 5 years. The staff does a great job. The pool side cafe is a nice relaxing place to eat & the price is right.Franz & Billie are a lot of fun.The hotel is clean .Every thing is handy.The lounge isa nice place to visit at night. We had lots of fun there.A vey friendly hotel. I am going back again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budda333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The entire staff was friendly as well as most of the guests you encounter. This time of year, many people are staying for a month or more. Their building mntc man was shampooing carpets, touching up paint or mopping the lobby floor every time we saw him. Great location for the more quiet end of the beach, plenty of parking. Cafe serves breakfast and lunch at great prices. $4 for cheeseburger and fries. We had planned to buy groceries and cook in our room but at those prices, we didn't bother. Did our laundry before leaving, they had nice washers and dryers for $1 each; better than you find at most hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricecakes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We come from Germany to this hotel, this year for the 5th time. We stay between 4-7 weeks in December/January. The hotel is directly on the beautiful beach. It has a pooldeck with lots of comfortable chairs and a heated indoor pool. The rooms have nice furniture and a kitchen. They are very clean and so is the entire hotel. We feel very comfortable here. They also have a Poolside Cafe, where you can eat breakfast and lunch for a very good prize. The hotel is located near a lot of restaurants and shops and the airport. We meet the same (winter)guests every year. Everybody loves to come back here. The hotel manager is german and also one desk clerk. They help us with any questions. We recommend the Tropical Winds very much and can't wait to come again next year!
(Hotelpersonal spricht deutsch! Perfekt fuer deutsche Urlauber!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed here last year and again this year,we had a king room with ocean veiw no complants . We love this hotel small and cozy will be back again in Dec.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We make a yearly visit to Daytona for races at the Speedway. In the past we have always stayed near the track and only visited the beach. This year we decided to stay beachside for the length of our stay (1 week). After literally weeks of searching online, reading reviews here on TripAdvisor and posting on the forums- our final decision concluded with us making reservations at the Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel. Traveling with a youngster, we hoped to find an establishment that had an indoor pool in case weather was to cool or wet to be outside- the small indoor pool here as well as other amenities looked to suit our needs from the pics online and information gathered in the reviews. We booked an Oceanfront Efficiency room.

We arrived a day earlier than our reservation noted, though the very nice front desk clerk was able to check us in a day early with no problem. We stayed in room 703, and everything seemed to be in working and good condition. The view from the balcony is stunning. During our stay we used the refridgerator, stove, microwave and single cup coffee maker- all of which worked fine. The room also comes with a full sized coffee maker, though I was the only coffee drinker. As stated on the hotels website, the room also has pots, pans, dinnerware, utensils; and all were clean and functional.

As expected in the beach area- a good majority of all the hotels on the beach show wear from weather and age. We never did expect this place to be a five-star locale or on par with a Hilton or Wyndham, so as long as you don't go in expecting the same, you'll be alright. Again, most places (from our past ventures) in the area seem older and weathered. The Tropical Winds was no different, but one huge difference to us was that the property owner seems to invest money back into the property. Not only was the general area of the hotel clean- it was very noticeable that there seems to be continual improvements to the facility. While there- I noticed hotel staff and hired contractors installing new cabinets in some rooms. Also, from a delivery truck that arrived during our stay- it seems all rooms are getting new a/c and heat units, and there was plenty of new tiles getting dropped off for future use. As is, the hotel was in very acceptable condition. The mentioned updates and upkeep really impressed us and made us look forward to a return. It was nice to actually notice the staff and owner take pride in the property. The only thing during the entire stay that caught me off-gaurd was the un- vacuumed floor in the laundry area on the second level; but I was only in there to do a few loads of laundry not wallow around on the floor. Wear shoes and you'll be fine, right?. By the way, the price to do laundry ($1) and dryer ($1) was totally within reason.

The Pool Side Cafe at the hotel serves a nice morning breakfast and each day I visited the staff was friendly, cordial and welcoming. The prices were very reasonable, at least from what I am used to paying for paying at an hotel for a meal.

There is a beach access ramp next to the hotel, so if driving on the beach is something you want to do, its close on-and-off to do so.

Parking lot was nice. We were able to keep our trailer onsite (un-hitched) in its own parking spot. We also noticed several motorcycles and small trailers during our stay.

My wife and son did use the indoor pool on one afternoon during the stay. If your not expecting anything outlandish then your expectations will be met. Its a smaller sized indoor pool, but met the needs and standards of my wife and six year old son while the weather outside was crummy.

There is free WI-FI in the rooms as well as a computer down in the lobby to use if you don't travel with a laptop. Speaking of the lobby, it is clean and there is a nice sitting area and television if you so desire. O'yeah, television! I can't speak for every room at the property- but our room had a really nice wall mounted flat-screen tv in it. We all thought that was great.

Overall the Tropical Winds property, staff, location, and service all get our rave reviews!

To not make this too long of a review- I'll end it with this:

We'll be making reservations here our next trip and look forward to our return! I hope you'll enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Just returned from Daytona Beach. My friend and I spent one week at Tropical Winds Hotel. We booked online after searching for some time and chose this one because of the great reviews it had received. From the moment we stepped in the door and were greeted with a big smile. We knew we had made the right choice. Our oceanfront room was delightful – had a small kitchen equipped with everything we needed – the private balcony had 2 comfortable chairs and the best view of the ocean. Our room was spotless and our housekeeper was accommodating and always smiling. Both pools were sparkling clean and the outdoor deck has beautiful very comfortable lounges – not the old standard hard plastic ones. They had a great poolside café with great food and prices. We already booked our next vacation before we left – keep up the good work and thanks for making this a very special vacation for us!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BassTracker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £59 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing