We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Top Notch Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Just returned from spending Labor Day weekend at Tropical Winds Hotel in Daytona Beach and can’t wait to share my experience with other travellers. This was my second stay at this quaint oceanfront hotel and it was even better than the 1st time. The staff at this hotel is so accommodating and friendly and entertaining - you cannot beat the view from the oceanfront balcony. They even remembered me from my first stay a few months ago. From the moment you walk in the door you feel like you are among family - everything is spotless - our room was an oceanfront with full kitchen oceanfront on the top floor and was just perfect for us with everything we could possibly need including free coffee. Our housekeeper did an excellent job cleaning and the room was beautifully decorated and so comfortable - everything was shiny and smelled so fresh. Saturday and Sunday on the pool deck at lunchtime we were able to get $1.00 hot dogs and $2.00 Barbeque sandwiches - what a deal - they were served by the older gentleman who runs the café - what a blast he is - he had adults and children in stitches.

Since we had a bit of rain the indoor pool came in very handy and both pools were sparkling clean even with the large crowds on the weekend. Everything was in excellent working order from the elevators to the free wireless internet, the air conditioning, television .

This is the only place I will ever stay at in Daytona Beach and I overheard a lot of other guests saying the same thing.

In summary - the manager and staff of this hotel take pride in their workplace and go out of their way to make you feel at home!! I already made reservation to return next month

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldeagle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

Like many other reviewers, our room had a terrible odor. We stayed in September 2010. It was only tolerable when the ocean front balcony was open and fresh air was coming in. We were on the 7th floor. If you stay there, make sure you visit the room BEFORE you check in. If it stinks, insist on another room, or check out. It's awful. We stayed because with the balcony door open, it was tolerable. The service - desk clerk, cafe (cook and waiter), and cleaning crew were very nice. The food is great. The location and views are great. High speed internet was fast. With all the good things going for it, I would never go back and can't recommend it. The stench was awful. We had to clean everthing, including our suitcases when we got back. For the stake of the excellent staff, I wish I could recommend it, but cannot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I booked this hotel with an open mind after reading the reviews from others. when i got there the staff was very friendly and the room was more than i reserved. we had a kitchenette and an absolute beautiful view of the ocean. the room was clean and house keeping was prompt to restock everyday. if there is one thing that i could say that would be a negative it would be that it might need to be updated with some modern decor. i will definitely be staying there again. it was close to many amenities. great for families!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickeybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is a great find on the beach at Daytona. The staff is wonderful especially Gwen who remembered us from our previous stay 3 months ago. The location is far enough from the boardwalk area to be quiet and relaxed yet close enough to get there and party In less than 5 minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a relaxing weekend in Daytona.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsaJernigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

It was our first family vacation in Daytona
beach at the Tropical Winds Hotel. It was perfect! The rooms were very clean and the staff was number one! Always nice with a smile and always ready to help us. We`ve staid there for 10 days. 5 days in an oceanfront room witch was very nice to see the dolphins in the morning and at the end of the day from our balcony than we took a 2 rooms apt. wich was easyer with two small kids. The pool was clean and nice. Enough chairs for everyone and two step from the beach wich was not to crowldly perfect for family. Close to the supermarket, restaurant and stores. The hotel was quiet so perfect for us with a 4 year old and a 15 months kids. The restaurant at the hotel was very good and not expensive and you all need to try there chili dog! very very good! Thanks a lot to all the staff at the Tropical Winds and we are looking foward to see you all next year for a 14 days vacations this time, 10 days was not anough so see you all next year!
We recommend this hotel to all families from Quebec city!
Jeff et Julie

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

This hotel is so clean and nice we all loved the stay :) i had so much fun. its a hotel your arent scared to take your shoes off at. The veiw was beautifull they have an indoor and outdoor pool which is nice. If i came back to daytona i would stay at that hotel it was afforable the lady at the front desk was so nice easy to start a conversation with. Id would deff. come back thanks for a great stay :) i highy recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcandkh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Cleanliness: It was effectively spotless like many other reviews said. However, nobody wrote about the special odor it smells in this hotel. Maybe this is due to the food poeple are cooking, but personaly it was very unpleasant. I would say the same thing about the carpet in the room: maybe it's clean, but when you feel the humidity under the feet, you do not want to know what is hidden there...

Location: 1-2 miles north of boardwalk. Quiet area. Perfect for the beach. We walk on the street in the evening. The street was dark. I cannot say I was feeling very safe with my family...

Rooms: oceanfront with Kitchenette with balcony. GREAT VIEW!!! Great Tv channel choice (and the remote was very well working!!!) even if the TV plastic casing was broken... Fridge was perfect. Oven perfect too. Bathroom was a bit small for 4 persons. Excellent and Free WI-FI service. Matress was not very comfortable.

Service: didn't have to ask special request, but one of the person at the desk was not very smiling, especially at check-out. She didn't ask any feedback about the stay...

Value: Old building well kept. The owners fairly do their best to keep this hotel top notch but people "living" there are not necessarily helping. Two examples of the most disgusting thing I've seen in my 2-days stay:
1) Woman spiting from the 7th floor just over the pool area
2) Smokers on lounge chair around the pool taking the ground for an ashtray

A little 101 course for those who are not used to live in society: a pool patio in not an ashtray: an ashtray is an ashtray. USE IT! It was very disgusting to see those cigarettes on the floor around the pool. Do those persons are doing that at home???

For those spiting from upper flor, I don't think I need to say something...

Overall: very good price. With the quality you have when you pay less. However, when it's cheap, there is more chance to attract people like I described above... So, for those who have never been in a real 5-stars, please note that this hotel is far from a 5-stars. It's a 3-stars max.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £55 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing