We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value & a Great Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Seas Resort
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value & a Great Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Myself and literally 700 other hotel guests took over the Grand Seas Resort for the 9th annual Daytona beach Freeride event over last weekend (moved from the Makai just up the street - which is a real DUMP) and we had a fantastic time! the staff were friendly and attentive, the amenities were perfect, and the location was fantastic. Located about 15 minutes from the Daytona airport and 1:15 from Orlando, it's easy to reach even from California. Loved the outdoor tiki bar, multiple pools and spas, and especially the in room spa tubs. Should be noted only the ground floor rooms have patios - no balconies with upper floors. I was there for four night - spent three in a 2 br/2 ba suite and the last night in a one bedroom unit. Full kitchens, central H&A, plenty of linens and the units are clean. Probably the only not great thing is the noise level coming from the hall in the exterior bedroom by the hall...and hangers and luggage stands are needed - other than that - a fantastic deal and good time! Can't wait to come back next year =)

Room Tip: If you want a private outdoor area to yourself, be sure to book a ground level room as upper storied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank priceconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    291
    307
    171
    204
See reviews for
569
333
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

After reading some of the reviews on this site, my sister and I were very apprehensive about what we might find when we arrived at Grand Seas Resort. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised!!

We were greeted warmly and checked in quickly and efficiently by the front desk staff. Our 1 bedroom unit was on the 5th floor and had magnificent views of the beach from the floor to ceiling picture windows in both livingroom and bedroom. We really didn't miss having a balcony at all - the upper part of the windows opened so we could hear the waves and feel the nice ocean breeze. The unit was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed (and the pull out sofa bed was quite comfy too!) A couple of very minor maintenance issues were dealt with quickly and cheerfully, even though it was after 9 p.m. on a Saturday night. Our unit was almost directly across from the elevator, so we were concerned about potential noise, but had no problems with that at all!

The pool area was wonderful - overlooking the ocean and always spotless. The only "downside" was that neither of the 2 beautiful pools were heated, so nobody was using them, even though it was certainly warm enough outside. We did make good use of the heated indoor pool however, which again, was clean and well kept.

The location of this resort is great!! There is a shopping plaza directly across the road with a large Publix grocery store, a couple of department stores, dollar store and a liquor store. There were several restaurants within a 5 minute walk as well. Since we decided not to rent a car, we made use of the city bus system to do a little sight-seeing which was very reasonable and reliable.

Last but not least, we found everyone at the resort - from the front desk to maintenance, laundry and the concierge (Wendy) - to be kind, cheerful and helpful at all times!! They certainly made our stay one to remember. We would definitely return to the Grand Seas!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CathyLo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went here because we got a free night in exchange for listening to a vacation club presentation. The resort is ok. The room was clean, although it didn't have a brand new feel to it. The bathtub had stains that looked like a blue pen had exploded in it, which is a shame because it was a jet tub and might have been nice to try. The staff seemed nice enough, the little restaurant was ok (we left and went somewhere else). We did have breakfast there the following morning. It's hard to beat $3.75 for two slices of bacon, some eggs, two sausages and two pancakes, although it was not really great food by any means. I think it would have probably been nice outside by the pool and ocean and they do have a place to sit outside, but we were in a rush to get to the vacation club presentation.

The club presentation lasted for 2 hours and 15 minutes and they called in two managers who kept lowering the price, and made it sound like I was passing up the deal of a lifetime in turning it down. I was then given a voucher for a "Vacation of a Lifetime!" in my choice of hotels, which I have since googled and decided NOT to use. Google "vacation of a lifetime reviews" and you'll see why. If you are going there for the vacation club presentation, it's an ok one night get away, but nothing you'll probably be desperate to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jauniba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Don't know where to begin. Worst place I have stayed in 25 years of travel. I stayed here for long Thanksgiving weekend because of large car event in town. Got in late, had studio suite with fold down Murphy bed and pull out couch. Floors were tiled, visibly dirty and looked like some were cracked. First place ever where I never took my socks off. Appliances were dirty with caked on stains, even side of refrigerator. Walls were dirty and stained, some lights and outlets did not work. Now the best. Pulled out sleep sofa, no sheets, mattress filthy. Went to front desk, clerk handed me a bag with sheets in it. Used the bathroom, toilet was clogged. Called front desk, security guard brought me a plunger. Next morning, shower handle broken, but we were able to work it on an angle. Returned that night, coffee pot not cleaned and coffee not replaced. Murphy bed not made, presumably because bag left on it, sleep sofa made and put back in. Toilet clogged again, thankfully we kept the plunger. Next morning, shower handle came off in my hand, gave it to front desk. Got back at night, now Murphy bed made, sleep sofa was not. I have no idea why because nothing was left on it. Towels were like sand paper. No wonder why this place still had occupancy when all other area hotels were sold out. And, with tax, was over $200. per night. Really outrageous...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe65Fal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is your average resort. It is very clean and kept up quite nicely. There is a resturant on the premises (Gilligan's) that serves up some good food. You can't beat the breakfast special. They offer 2 pools, right on the beach. A kiddie pool, right on the beach. 2 hot tubs, right on the beach. A miniature golf, right on the beach. And a outdoor bar, right on the beach. And best of all, It's right on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cohun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Location for Dayton is great. Beach is wonderful and the outdoor pools seems very nice even though we did not swim. We were there as Sandy passed by so the wind down the lower hallway was funneled, compressed and accelerated. Parking is a problem, or lack of parking even though when we had local friends stop by the staff gracious allowed them to park for a couple of hours. I rate the staff well and thank them for all their help.

The room was nice but the furnishings compared to other timeshare resorts we have stayed in was not up to the luxurious standard we have become used to. The closet door in the bedroom is hung from the wrong side so you have to work around it. There were Q-tips next to the TV in the bedroom either from the cleaning crew or the last occupant.

The bathroom lacks counter space. I got some strange debris from the whirlpool unit in the tub so we didn't use it during our stay.

I hate to complain but they need to upgrade/update and make sure the unit are cleaned better.

kirk out : |

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk_Chandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville Tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you are used to the Hilton or Ritz, you probably will not be happy here. But for a great beach vacation, this place is good. Had a 2 bedroom with patio on first floor. Good view, good access to pool and Tiki bar.The room was clean, saw no bugs[except for some that came in from outside while patio doors were always open]. The furnishings are a little worn, but not as bad as some of the reviews say.Housekeeping was great, came by most days to ask if we needed anything.Ate at the Resturant twice, food was good and reasonably priced.We had 2 teen boys with us, and there was plenty of things to keep them busy.The only thing that bothered me was not having laundry in room, had to go to second floor and use coin machines. Would stay again!!!!

Room Tip: Only rooms on first floor have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marjo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
#10 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Seas Resort

Property: Grand Seas Resort
Address: 2424 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Seas Hotel Daytona Beach
Grand Seas Daytona Beach
Grand Seas Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing