We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Seas Resort
Ranked #52 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Bucks Co.Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We just returned from a 90 minute (that' s right) visit to this facility.
We traded a Marriott Grande Vista lockout for it and feel we were mislead by Interval International as it is rated five star. No way.
We changed units, but found the soggy, moldy conditions,as well as the noise and smoke from the beach bar too much to endure for a week. We toured the grounds and did like the view and the beach, although the steps down to the beach were treacherous.
Olivia at the front desk was very gracious. The website says this has been completely renovated, and it shows stainless appliances. Our unit had an electric stove with crooked coils dating back to the sixties. It had been retiled throughout, but was early budget motel decor. We just couldn' t imagine actually sleeping there. We also encountered a young (20's) man in the filthy elevator who told us he and 20 friends had just arrived for the week. I'm sure they were really going to enjoy the loud music and the well publicized 29 cent draft beer. No thanks. We bolted even though it was a huge financial hit to rebook flights, etc.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — cleanliness and tackiness
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank reute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    303
    324
    182
    208
See reviews for
599
346
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

This was our second year to stay at the Grand Seas. We were hoping for a better experience this year. Although it was better, it did not come close to a "Five-Star Resort" experience. Parking is a real problem. Check-in is tedious and difficult. Some areas have seen refurbishment after the hurricane, but the effort is really lacking. For the second year now the sliding board into one of the pools was broken so that our grandchildren could not use it. There is a general lack of pride in the facility that appears to come from the top down. The general manager is rude with guests. Instead of guests feeling wanted and appreciated they are made to feel like they are doing management a favor just being there. At other Club Navigo resorts we have been treated royally. It is only here, at our home resort, that conditions are terrible.

Management needs to take a more active role in the cleanliness of the entire facility. Pride in doing a good job can't be expected of the staff when the top people are rude and uncaring.

The pools and the location are great. The potential is there to be a really great resort -- too bad it isn't!

  • Liked — Pool. location on the beach
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Lack of personable management, Lack of pride in the resort
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bigweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

After reading the other revues I just couldn't help myself! My wife & child went to daytona to look at timeshare resorts for purchase, well it all started with no place to park. We waited for about 20-30 minutes at the front desk area to talk to someone about seeing a model. During that time we saw at least three different people at the check in desk that were really p.o.'d .One stated that she OWNED that week with deed to a specific unit number so how come she couldn't GET HER UNIT. What do you mean someone else is staying in it! Another couple sitting next to us stated that they paid for a unit to stay that week ,6 months prior, yet had no place to stay. When we finally talked to someone(by rudely interupting the front desk) we were told to get a voucher at the fitness center to park across the street at the shopping center so as not to be towed. We finally got to see a model unit by asking around And following some sales people. The units are quite nice, to bad the rest of the place(the way it 's run )will make you not want anything to do with the place. IN OTHER WORDS STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU LIKE STRESSSS!!!

  • Liked — amenities
  • Disliked — extremely poor management
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away from grand seas resort! you might just sleep in your car!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cobraguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2006

We have not even had a chance to use our time share at the Grand Seas resort because after making reservations in April for our stay in July low and behold nobody can find our confirmation number in the system. Is it my imagination or does the personal come and go like revolving doors? I think the second our sales rep made the sale she quit. All year long we paid for a two bedroom which is what we bought. Why is it that this is not what we are offered ? We leave in four days and have yet recieved a return call to the hundreds we have left them. Does anyone know of any legal action taken against club navigo I like to jump on the bandwagon.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 June 2006

overall the resort was nice--but the front desk-was where the problem started--i have kept this in me for a long time-i never thought about posting a review on this until now--well, after getting off work this particular day---my family and i headed straight to daytona--i was tired and so was my husband----we knew that we would be late arriving---so after we were near the daytona area-i decided to call front desk and inform them of our late arrival-i told the front desk person that we were very near and just wanted to let them know we are on our way-(there would have been a charge if we did not show up,etc)--the front desk person pulled up my information and confirmed that everything was ok--behold, when we arrived and tried to check in we were told that our check in date was the next day---my husband and i were tired and exhausted from working all day and driving all night---at this time grandseas was not mailing out confirmation letters-a person would just need to call at intervals(which i did) and confirm the vacation--this was a nightmare for us---they would not check us in----the only conclusion i could come to is that the front desk person did something terribly wrong after hanging up the phone with me or reservation made the error and never caught it----i did call at intervals to confirm my check in date-and each time i called reservation confirmed my check in date----my family and i had to sit in our vehicle and ponder our minds(i had small kids too) about where in the world are we going to stay---the front desk person would not get a manager and showed no remorse or sympathy for us-this was an awful experience----at about 2am we had no choice but to go pay money to stay in a run down hotel where the bed was wet because they left the patio door open when it rained earlier that day, and had to check out by 10am--i hope whoever is reading this get the picture of what my famiy and i went through----when morning came we immediately went back to grandseas and spoke with a manager, she was very nice and compensated us--but it was not enough to erase a terrible experience such as this one-we have not return to grandseas since----i don't think we ever will----i just hope that management pays more attention to their front desk personnel and reservation area--and understand that when families come to their resort, that first impression is representation--overall grandseas is a very nice resort--our two bedroom condo was clean and the people were nice to us--i even showed pictures to friends and relatives--but i never told them about this experience-so if you decide to stay at grandseas--all i can say is stay on top --

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 June 2006

Good part: pools and surrounding areas including kid play area, and putt putt. Beautiful view of the beach. Bad part: cleanliness. We had buy cleaning products at Publix to clean the bathrooms and floor of entire suite. The smoke detector was hanging from the wall, the door lock was broken, the bright exterior lighting made the bedroom look like day time all night, the cigarette smoke from a nearby smoker seeped into our room throughout our stay, and we could hear every noise from rooms above, below and beside ours. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Check In-

Checking did not go too well for us. We arrived around 1 PM and didn't expect to be able to check in yet. The front desk confirmed that our room wasn't ready yet and gave us pool passes and a parking pass so that we could enjoy the pool. We were told that the gauranteed check in time was 4 PM. I went back at 4 PM and found the lobby to be packed with guests trying to check in. Several of them looked to be getting upset, as their rooms were still not ready. Once I got to the desk, I was told the same thing, that our room wasn't ready and could I come back in an hour. At 5 PM and went back and this time they told us the room was ready. We headed up to the room to find the cleaning lady still working away. After waiting about 15 minutes for her to finish, we were able to get in and unpack.

Unit- We were in a two bedroom unit that was very clean and nicely furnished. Refrigerator and dishwasher were in the kitchen along with all the dishes and cooking utensils you would need. Living room had pull-out couch with nice sized TV. One bedroom ahd a queen bed while the master had a king. Smaller bathroom had the necessities and the master had a stand up shower as well as a whirlpool tub. The windows that look out over the ocean were VERY dirty on the outside and it took away from the view quite a bit. Wish they would have been clean. Showers had good pressure but to water was VERY hot. We called maintenance about this, but it was never addressed the whole week we were there.

Ammenities- There are two large pools at the resort and a kiddie pool. The bad thing about the pool is that you had to get our there at the crack of dawn to "reserve" a chair by laying your stuff on it. Otherwise, when you came out later in the morning to enjoy the pool, you wouldn't have a place to sit. This wasn't quite as bad towards the middle of the week, but at the beginning and end of the week every day was a challenge to find some chairs to lounge on. In addition, it seems as though the Grand Seas lets a large number of visitors in on day passes. These are guest not staying at the resort who are allowed to use the ammenties for the day. Not sure if this is part of their marketing spiel or not. My wife was working out in the fitness cener one day and saw the staff allows some visitors in for pay. This really promotes an overcrowded situation at the pool. It would be nice if this wasn't allowed. Our son participated in several of the kid's club acitvities and had a great time.

Staff- We found the staff to be friendly and accomodating overall. The kid's club staff was really great. The only problem that we had was maintenance not fixing our shower issue.

Pros-

* Our unit was very clean and the cleaning crew came in mid-week to tidy up. Very nice.
* Friendly staff
* Kid's club

Cons-

* Ammentities overcrowded at times.
* General confusion during check in process
* A bit noisy. Almost every day either a band or DJ would be out by one of the pools. While this was great for entertainment, if you had any desire to sleep late or catch a nap, you could forget it.
* Bogus resort surcharge. We were charged around $1.75 per day simply because we had traded into the Grand Seas through Interval International. We have never been to a resort that surcharged you for trading into their resort. Not a lot of money, but still irked me a little.

Overall, we had a nice time. Not real sure if we will go back or not. There were some things we would like to have seen different and Daytona was a bit of a letdown.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
685 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
771 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
#12 of 102 in Daytona Beach
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Seas Resort

Property: Grand Seas Resort
Address: 2424 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Seas Hotel Daytona Beach
Grand Seas Daytona Beach
Grand Seas Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing