We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Restaurant with character!”

Old Spanish Sugar Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy Restaurant with character!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a hot humid day in July. The restaurant is in the DeLeon Springs Park and entrance is $6.00 per car.There is a lot of parking and it's a short walk to the restaurant.Make sure you put your name down when you arrive as the wait is around an hour.During that time you can take the boat tour or hire paddle boats or just relax under the trees.There is also a large swimming pool near the restaurant.
The restaurant is a nice experience where you get to cook your own eggs and make your own pancakes on a large grill in the middle of your table.Bacon or sausage is cooked for you and brought to your table should you order breakfast.Food and service was good even though it was very busy.
There is no air conditioning so it was warm but we will definitely be trying it again during winter where there is also a large fireplace in the dining area.
An experience well worth the try!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    91
    18
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pancakes”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we went on a day when summer camp kids were on a field trip, looked like a long wait to get a table but was seated and pretty quickly. the server we had was not the best, after bringing pancake batter we waited 10 min. for bacon and before we noticed we were short 1 order she was gone and not seen again until the end of meal, and we needed to ask for coffee refills. is this why they build in the tip 18 % ? pancakes were good, and I will return again and give it another try, hopefully will get better service next time and leave a better tip than they build in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARM1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I don't mind spending $30 for 2 if the food is good.. BUT”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place is awful!!!!! Pancakes taste like box brand! No air conditioning!! You sit at a table with a high heated grill in the middle barely having room for your plate.. And sweat it out while you cook your own pancakes, and/or eggs. If you want fruit to cook in your pancakes... It's more $ i had banana.., got about 1\2 a banana.. For $1.85! A tiny cup of coffee.. $2.25? It's a rip off in progress!!!!!! My husband and I had 2 eggs, 1 order sausage to spilt (one each) and pancakes... 2 each were scarfed down quickly and ran out.., ( sweat dripping on or plates)... Then on top of everything... They charge you 18% gratuity for YOU cooking your own meal!!!! Or bill for this awful place was $29.19. I could have gone to and recommend IHOP or Bob Evans! Where you sit in ac get a smiling waitress and more

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good breakfast. Great experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cook your own breakfast. Very cool. You sit down at a table that has a huge "hotplate" in the middle. You order your ingredients, pancake, french toast, eggs, sausage. They bring the batter and stuff to you and you cook it on the grill. You can get bacon as well, but they cook that in the back. Was really cool. Then take a walk around the spring. Maybe have a swim.
GREAT prices!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhynFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Make your own pancakes and have fun”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have been here too many times to count-grill is in the middle of the table and you can make your own pancakes right there. Years ago you could also fry your own bacon but for safety reasons it's now made in the kitchen and brought to your table-a fun family experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank heather1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Spanish Sugar Mill also viewed

De Leon Springs, FL
De Leon Springs, FL
 

Been to Old Spanish Sugar Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing