We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Mexican "street fare"”
Review of El Jefe Luchador

El Jefe Luchador
Ranked #21 of 226 Restaurants in Deerfield Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
boca raton florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican "street fare"”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

While the owners take a few liberties with Mexican street fare, the result is pretty tasty food at decent prices. Set complete with Mexican wrestling theme, I would suggest the blue demon (fish taco) - the fish is fresh and there is a tasty combo of sauce and other ingredients that makes it a good choice. Their corn is also good, although you may need a bit of salt. Shrimp tacos also are killer. The staff are laidback beach kids who do a good job of moving the food along to you. Decent prices for most of the items on the menu. Owned by the same guys who run charm city burgers a few blocks away. Nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chowdog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I can't get enough of Luchador tacos!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I am an avid fan of good mexican food and the carnitas tacos rock! I only wish they made big burritos and enchiladas!

I ate here three times the first week I tried it. Delish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A unique style of Mexican food. Have been in several times and always found it to be good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“a/k/a taco heaven!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This no-frills restaurant in a strip mall was a total surprise. Excellent tacos. I had a Blue Demon (fish taco) and the special - pork belly taco. I couldn't decide which was better. Both were so good - nice and fresh, lightly fried mahi on the Blue Demon with some fresh, crunchy slaw. The pork belly taco almost melted in my mouth - decadent. We didn't even need to order any sides - 2 tacos were plenty filling. Great value and very popular - be prepared to wait in line at peak times.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Tacos!!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

They advertise themselves as "Hardcore Mexican Street Food" and after eating here, I am a believer. I ordered the El Santo(steak taco) and the Blue Demon(fish taco) as well as a side of chips, guacamole, and pico de gallo. The red and green chili sauce they offer were great additions to the flavor of the tacos, but to be honest with you, they were good all by themselves. The only slight letdown were the side of chips. The guacamole and pico de gallo were good, but the chips were more like fried pita chips. They were good, but I much prefer a more traditional Mexican corn chip. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jefe Luchador also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to El Jefe Luchador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing