We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay”
Review of Hotel DeFuniak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel DeFuniak
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This old B&B takes you back in time with superb hospitality and antique decor. Each room has a theme. A cozy fireplace in the lobby warms you from the cool air outside (during the winter). You feel like royalty from the moment you walk in. Tom, the owner of the B&B, called to make dinner reservations at the adjoining restaurant, Bogeys. The owner of Bogeys gave us a wonderful Scottish greeting, and the food was incredibly good, from the house salad dressing, to the bread, to the grouper and fresh vegetables (no good vegetarian options). Lee, one of the receptionists at Hotel "DeFun", as we nicknamed it, took great care of us, providing beverages and snacks. We had a delightful evening chatting by the fireplace with our glasses of wine for a little pre-meal entertainment. Free wi-fi and breakfast was a wonderful perk. This was no ordinary complementary breakfast and they made certain to accommodate the fact that we were vegetarian. They are willing to accommodate any diet restriction. Beautiful lake and downtown history near by. Definitely plan to go back when I can walk around and actually go into all the shops (closed on Sunday).

Room Tip: Ask about the different room themes and pick the one that suits you. All beds are either queen or ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekohler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were happy to discover The Hotel DeFuniak and to meet the wonderful people who run it and work there. The historic building is full of character, and each room has it's own personality. Our room was pretty small, but it was nice. Our adult children were in the suite with two rooms. It was a little more spacious and worked out perfectly. We enjoyed each breakfast we had, as the food was delicious. The adjoining restaurant was bustling with guests who were all enjoying themselves. Since we were not eating a meal, we sat at the bar and had a wonderful time chatting with the owner/bartender.

Although I have been visiting my father in DeFuniak Springs for years, the charm of the area was never brought to my attention. The historic downtown area is quaint and the lake is a beautiful setting for walking. My family enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel DeFuniak on Christmas Eve 2013. We found the hotel’s history and character engaging, the parlor enticing, and the bed so comfortable I didn’t want to get up in the morning! We had arrived exhausted from highway driving on a chilly winter day and the parlor's warm fire was welcoming. I lingered there after dinner, chatting with the proprietor, Tom, before retiring to my room. I must also say the morning breakfast is a standout—simple, elegant, and thoroughly delicious! It was a wonderful change from the fast-food breakfasts and hotel buffets that we typically get when traveling. I look forward to visiting Hotel DeFuniak again.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in the room we were assigned on the second floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful surprise, the internet photos don't do this place justice. Extremely clean, well decorated and very comfortable. Thr owners walk you through some history of the building, even shown to the room, that is rare! I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everymilesamemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went in w no expectations and just wanted to break up our 17 hr trip. Just like the reviews said, Tom and Pam were absolute sweethearts and made us feel right at home. As a matter of fact, Tom set up our reservation for dinner at Bogeys on his own accord, which I thought was so kind and helpful. We arrived to a lit fire in the hotel lobby. So nice and warm and welcoming. He called the restaurant(conveniently connected) to let them know we arrived and would be over in a few. We truly felt like royalty. The food was great and breakfast the next morning did not disappoint either. Tanell and Brian (staff) were just as nice and Brian gave us a tour of the upstairs and I took pictures of the rooms with antiques and then he took us over to the speak easy right next door before we departed. Hotel DeFuniak is so charming and quaint and the inn keepers and staff are awesome. So glad we got to visit this 1920's gem and we will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEstatico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDefuniak, Manager at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words in your review. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

All our road trips to Florida take us pass DeFuniak Springs...we always stop there, we love the community but the Hotel DeFuniak is the driving force pulling us off I-10. My wife and I
are always amazed by the friendly or helpful staff that consistently greets us even before we
arrive. The Hotel DeFuniak redefines excellent customer service...we especially enjoy the very cozy and friendly downstairs parlor where guests seem to gather for fellowship each evening.
Upstairs each room is unique in it's furnishings offering a very comfortable and restful
night of sleep. In summary, the Hotel DeFuniak makes all this look so easy but being fairly
well traveled I conclude my review...this style of hospitality is extremely hard to find!

Room Tip: Let the staff pick the perfect room for you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6doots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I have visited the Hotel for several years and it only gets better. We love going in December to see the Christmas lights.....a must see.
Tom, Pam, Tannell and Brian are the best host you could ever wish for. We have only been home a week and I'm already missing my home away from home.

Room Tip: We loved the executive suite downstairs....it's our room of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these DeFuniak Springs hotels
14 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Springs - Crestview
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Spri...
#1 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Springs
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Spr...
#2 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Crossroads Inn
Best Western Crossroads Inn
#3 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites
Regency Inn and Suites
#7 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 DeFuniak Springs
Super 8 DeFuniak Springs
#8 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeFuniak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeFuniak

Address: 400 E Nelson Ave, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433-7443
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range: £140 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeFuniak 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our beautiful Boutique Hotel located just off Interstate 10 in one of Florida's most historic small towns. Our intention is to exceed your hospitality expectations and give you an extraordinary experience to remember. Whether you're here for business, pleasure, or taking a break from that long highway drive, we want to host you in one of our luxurious accommodations! We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel DeFuniak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DeFuniak DeFuniak Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing