We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Style Florida Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Resort and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Style Florida Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is not The Ritz Carlton, this is a delightful trip back in time to old Florida. Yes, your towels don't get laundered avery day (we brought a few extras) and you got to empty the trash yourself and make the bed yourself, etc. But, the resident sandhill cranes and wild turkeys more than make up for any minor inconveniences. I've never met a sandhill crane at a Ritz Carlton.

We brought my 20 ft bay boat and found the launch ramp usable, a minor challenge but very usable. As one reviewer mentioned, there is a drop off at the end of the ramp but only about 6 inches - no problem pulling the trailer up and out of the water with the boat on board. Once in the water, you have access to some of the best wildlife watching in Florida north of the Everglades.

If you want turndown service and a mint on your pillow every night, this is not the place for you. If you want economic, somewhat rustic old Florida charm with wildlife nearby (outside your door), this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we got to the resort there was one rv in the park. We asked for a waterfront spot and was asked or the year of our rv. We have a completely rebuilt 89 Allegro with custom paint. We were told we could only go to the back of the park in the sand. The owner/manager is very rude and this would explain the empty slots in this rv park. They have no sewers and come around only once every week or so to drain black water. Gray water your told to drain in the woods? Could be a better place with new manager.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these DeLand hotels

Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location is beautiful and the rooms were nice, however I think the owners or management needs some lessons on customer service. On our 4th day there, we asked for clean towels and were told that it's not in their policy to provide clean linens and that if we wanted clean towels, that they had coin laundry available! Why would I pay for the room and then pay to wash your linens? I have never heard this before! Anywhere! There weren't enough electrical outlets in the kitchen, so we had to go purchase an extension cord to be able to use the coffee maker and the microwave. We also paid almost $200 to rent a boat for the day and then had to pay for the gas upon our return, because we used over 5 gallons. We were not told this before hand.
We usually stay at the Riviera and we will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at the Riviera instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I write this as I sit in my camper after being questioned about how many people are staying. This would not have been such a problem if my husband and his brother who were fishing had not been treated like they were trespassing and not a paid guest with a day visitor. We had some family come and spend the day with us and caused no problems. Our family enjoyed dinner with us and were leaving when a rude gentleman came to let us know that we had only registered one car and 4 guests. Just was an unpleasant experience. We have stayed here before and were looking forward to this trip all week. Won't come again. Oh and for the record we only had one car, 2 adults and a baby under a year old...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dihdhddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

After our third stay at this location, we look forward to our opportunity to return. We rented the 2bdrm & 3bdrm units for a family graduation get-together. The "resort" is basic and a little outdated in its furniture and decor. However, that is part of the charm of this place. All the provisions you need are available. It's clean, nicely tucked away and the owners are friendly. The pool is very nice and the lake is gorgeous! We didn't get to rent a pontoon boat but will definitely do that next time. A short drive to brings you into the heart of lovely town of Deland and there are beautiful parks to visit in the area as well. We definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquelineK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

The property is located at the end of Lakeview Drive, nestled among oaks and palm trees right on Beresford Lake. The rooms have not been updated, but it was clean, spacious, and the king bed was comfortable. The kitchen was equipped with full refrigerator and all the items necessary for an extended stay. The pool area was clean, refreshing, and comfortable. We only stayed one night, but enjoyed a sunset by the lake and watched as the fishermen came in with their catch.
My husband caught a large mouth bass right off the marina wall. We also enjoyed Blue Springs State Park, Hontoon Island State Park and a delicious lunch at Casey's on the Corner in downtown Deland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA FE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A bit hard to find as it is at the end of a small country road. Great place for fisherman and boaters. Grounds are pretty and shaded. Pool is not heated, but my wife went for a cool swim. Great shorebirds down by the Marina. Be sure to visit nearby Hontoon Island State Park. (There is a free ferry and no entry fee; very scenic).We booked a standard room, but upon entry found that some smokers had stayed there and smell was overwhelming. Went back to office and they upgraded us to 1 bedroom unit that was very nice.The whole complex is non-smoking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobL190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
3.2 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#3 of 8 in DeLand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.4 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort and Marina

Property: Tropical Resort and Marina
Address: 1485 Lakeview Dr, DeLand, FL 32720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Resort and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come share our "hammock" (from the Native Indian culture, meaning "a shady place") as you discover the natural beauty of Old Florida. Unlike your average hotel or motel it’s like having your own waterfront cottage or cabin. Our campground affords spacious campsites so you can enjoy all the same amenities from your own RV. An outdoor vacation for the entire family. Experience "life on the river", where time seems to stand still. We are situated between Hontoon Landing State Park and Blue Springs State Park - a winter haven to dozens of manatees. Great fishing and nature watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Resort And Marina DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing