We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show Time”
Review of Athens Theatre

Athens Theatre
Ranked #7 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Show Time”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I recently watched a play here and loved every moment of it. This recently refurbished local, mostly amateur theatre is far from amateur is productions and appearance. Very stylish, very reasonably priced and well used by patrons and working companies and very much worth a visit. They are producing Les Miserable in April 2014. If only it were not so far away, (4236.3 miles). There are also many other productions worth seeing in a very full calendar of events. Keep and eye on their list of shows. You wont regret it. Check out their web site for special VIP seats too. You can get a virtual tour of the theatre on their web site too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roxanne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    14
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic local theatre”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have been to the Athens several times, most recently to see "All Shook Up." The production was top-notch, the theatre is refurbished, beautiful and comfortable. I can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A DeLand Landmark Attraction”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Athens is home to many shows and performances but in itself it is worthy attraction. the entire structure has been restored to the original condition and all of the seats at choice. I had been in the building prior to restoration when it was a movie house and I never thought the place could be brought back to the gem that it is today. While the expense was many times over the budget results speak to an investment well made. They offer several events each year so find one you like and visit the theatre.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The theatre has been beautifully restored to it's original look. My wife, before we were married, had our first date in the Athens. I remember it well...we saw Oklahoma. Recently we attended the play "A cat in the hat" in which our granddaughter had a part.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Uncomfortably hot in the balcony.”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Went to a nice production of 'Cats'. Our seats were upstairs in the balcony. The air conditioning just didn't do the job. It was very hot. And it's difficult to see all of the stage if a tall person is in front of you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank motomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Athens Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing