We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, would do it again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We didn't stay at the resort because we live near by. We did go on the boat tour on St johns River which was beautiful. Our boat captain was great, very friendly and knowledgeable. Saw many different species of birds, and saw a few Manatees as well. Went with my parents and my five year old daughter. All ages would enjoy this. Will do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annbernhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed the1st couple days of Thanksgiving week and would highly recommend this resort. The Captains quarters is massive with it's own private deck. You cannot beat the price of the 24ft pontoon boat for an all day excursion. We were up close with Manatees and Alligators. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Came last spring and enjoyed it so much came back in October. Spring seems to be better season for nature watching, though there's plenty to see any time of year. If you bring a boat, recommend you try to stay during weekdays. River gets extremely busy (and wildlife tends to disappear) during weekends. The view of the river is fantastic from the balconies of rooms 12 thru 15. I second the other comments about friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: #13 & #15 are efficiencies. Worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnrickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

what a great piece of old florida on the st. johns river! clean, quite, comfortable and just far enough out of the way to get away from all the problems of the world. i can't wait to go back and maybe spend a longer amount of time. everyone there was great!
also got good recommendations for resturants and local activities....great job!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankb191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Spent 3 wonderfuls days at Hontoon Landing. Stayed in cottage #1. A very quiet and peacefull place. Saw other beautiful rooms at time of visit. The staff was so friendly and accomidating and the peacefullness of the river and resort was just what we needed. We felt so comfortable with everyone and even shared stories over coffee in the early morning. Used the pool, which was so incredibly beautiful. Rented a pontoon boat which was so reasonably priced and toured the St. John's River for 8 hours. Went swimming at Blue Springs State Park and had a picinic lunch on our pontoon. We came down from New York to start our vacation in Florida and had found this resort from a friend who had rented a pontoon there and decided to stay. A WONDERFUL choice!

Room Tip: If a lrge family or several couples, check out the exquisite apartment for rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

For those of you looking for a peaceful setting and a pleasant boating experience, this is the place. We have been 3 times for fishing and boating and will be back again. We have only stayed in the cottage, but there are other rooms available on the St. John's river front. Our cottage was clean and had limited ,but sufficient supplies for the length of time we stayed. Pontoon boats and fishing boats are available and well maintained. The staff are friendly and accomodating. Easy access back into Deland and shopping needs. Only drawback might be the limited times for boat use and store/gift shop hours. The Murrs from Tennessee.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband & I have been coming to Hontoon Landing Resort for a few years now, just to get away from the noise, stress etc. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay and feel so comfortable & welcome. The rooms are clean & fresh. The kitchen has what you need to cook your meals. Along with a charcoal grill & table right outside the back door, is the St Johns River. This is where we sit and watch Florida's nature at it's finest. The landscaping is also gorgeous and does it's job attracting butterflies & Humming Birds. The pool is so clean & fabulous! We come during the week, to stay away from the weekenders as a couple looking for relaxation. We also come to stay at Hontoon Landing Resort for good eating! Our favorite place for dinner is Emmy's Time Out Tavern & for breakfast is Big Rig 2 Restaurant. All of this equals Heaven!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.1 mi away
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#2 of 8 in DeLand
124 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn DeBary/Deltona
22.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Orange-Daytona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina

Address: 2317 River Ridge Rd, DeLand, FL 32720-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range: £81 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is located near DeLand, Florida and is nestled along a bend in the St. Johns River - directly across river from Hontoon Island State Park. The resort is situated on three acres and provides accommodations and lodging in 18 riverside rooms and suites. Kitchens are available in most of the rooms and suites. Resort accommodations are provided in five buildings - Riverview Building, Executive Building, Captain's Suite Building, Hummingbird Cottage and Duplex Cottages. The resort offers for your relaxation and enjoyment...Boat Rentals - 24' Pontoon Boats for exploring the St. Johns River and viewing the abundant and varied wildlife, and 16' fishing boats for pursuit of the bass, crappie, or whichever may be your favorite. River Tours - offered daily aboard the brand new 49 passenger "Great Blue" Tour Boat, your front row ticket to the world of nature. Birdwatching - Whether you are a beginner or have been a bird watching enthusiast for many years, our Resort could become your favorite destination for enjoying the natural beauty of the river and abundant birds and other wildlife. Hummingbirds - The Resort is a haven for the Ruby Throated Hummingbirds. The Hummingbirds arrive in late February and remain until late August when they begin their migration to Mexico and Central America.The Resort also offers a Sparkling Pool, Ship's Store, Slips for Private Boats, Hummingbird Garden, Hummingbird Plaza, Boardwalk, Riverside Patios and Decks, Manicured Lawn & Grounds and Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing