We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed over thanksgiving. Family of 5 in executive suite and 2 adults, 2 children in one of the regular rooms (get the one with the kitchen, well worth it). Staff very friendly and accomodating. Dont expect 24-7 coverage, as its not that kind of place- but the service you get is friendly and personal. Rooms clean, well appointed, as portrayed on the website. Kitchen had the basics- oven, microwave, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker, can opener and basic pots and pans- enough to put together a simple Thanksgiving meal. multiple nearby large grocery stores, nice restaurants in town- but you need a car. Basics available at the store on the premesis. Grounds well maintained, pretty, and safe. Kids loved playing along the water edge- catching turtles, lizards, etc. Even saw a 1.5ft aligator sunning itself on the dock and the manatees swam right by! Outdoor patios a pleasure to hang out on. Hontoon Park is available in a short walk from the hotel where you catch a ferry to the island- very clean and nice.

Rented a pontoon boat- tons of fun and reasonably priced! We had no trouble navigating the waterways with the map provided (the water is deep) and the boats are well maintained and easy to operate. the Dead River looks like its out of a movie! Do get the additional insurance for $25. We were told the prop would need to be repaired (suprise to us as one of our boat members is very experienced and didn't notice anything was struck) and that this occurs in 3/10 boats that go out. You can beach the pontoon at Blue Springs Park (a 15-20 min boat ride away) but the water parking space is very limited- went on-land the next day by car which is also about 15-20 min ride). Manatees were awesome from the boat (came right up to us) as well as from the walkway in the park.

In Deland- the Reptile Research/venom lab a must! Blue Srpings State Park also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv-vaca-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Had booked a cottage here for a two day rest between tour east and west coasts of Florida.....what a nice surprise !.....Hummingbird cottage was just right for a couple....fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom from living room.....all super clean and very quiet.....staff was friendly and efficient, but also respected our privacy.......the resort is small and family friendly......We took the free ferry to Hontoon Island to hike all morning, then drove to Blue Springs State Park to watch the manatees......spent hours there watching the gentle giants, some with calves.....wonderful place to visit......next morning we booked a boat tour with the Blue Heron directly from the resort......we were the only ones booked that morning, so ours turned into a private tour.......wonderful scenery and the naturalist, captain will show you all types of birds, flora and fauna....I guarantee you will come back from this trip with knowledge you didn't have before......
Have stayed at many very nice places in Florida over the years, but this will certainly be included again in our next trip !

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the cabins.....more room to stretch out and fully equipped cooking facilities...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mombear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We just spent four peaceful days in this beautiful part of Florida. The resort was exactly as pictured on the website and the staff was super helpful and friendly. The town of DeLand has several nice shops and restaurants as well as a Winn Dixie. Also, don't miss the pontoon boat ride with a Florida certified naturalist which you can take right from the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaf1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I had reservations to stay at Hontoon Landing late August. We were suppose to fly into Florida on the same day Isaac could possibly hit...so we cancelled. When we cancelled we asked about our $240. deposit, we were told someone would getback to us.
On that Monday when the hurricane did not make a direct hit we were told that we would not get a refund but if we re-sheduled by Dec. 31st they would apply the deposit to our new stay.
Because of health issues we will not be able to re-schedule our visit before then, so we have lost our $240. deposit. In their defense their web site does say non-refundable deposit. We thought because of the danger of a possible hurricane they would make an exception..they would not!! My husband and I are senior citizens...I guess if we were younger maybe an approaching hurricane would not have concerned us as much. Just a word of caution...if you make a reservation..pray you don't have to cancel. I can also say the woman I spoke with on the phone was not very pleasant. My follow up dealings were through e-mail as I felt uncomfortable speaking with them. An expensive lesson to learn...I will never book anywhere that is non-refundable!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank 60Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed one night and had a pontoon rental for a day. The staff was so helpful. The grounds and buildings were immaculate and lovely. Had a wonderful time. Only down side is there is no restaurant on the property and the closest place to eat is a 5 mile drive. There is a small store in the office with limited food choices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjl75d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We just spent the Labor Day weekend at Hontoon Landing. Loafed after a late arrival on Saturday, then had an absolutely wonderful German dinner on at Emmy's Time Out Tavern, about 10 minutes' drive away. Slept in Sunday (until 8 or so), breakfast in the room (nice kitchenette, but lacking in a few essentials that we'll remember to bring next time). Rented a pontoon boat (I guess that makes it a Hontoon Pontoon), and went up and down the lazy St John's River. You can't go very far because of rules imposed by the boat rental contract, but I doubt we missed much. It's a good look at Old Florida, especially if you take the Dead River branch in one direction or the other. Very little traffic, only a couple of crazy people trying to see if they could capsize smaller boats, and all in all very enjoyable; would be a good opportunity to pack a picnic lunch and eat out on the river somewhere, or at one of the state parks along the way. Ate leftovers from Emmy's for Sunday dinner.

I thought it was a little pricey, but I'm cheap. The resort is for sale, and while it's generally in beautiful shape, I had the subtle feeling that in-room maintenance might be more casual than it should be. TV menu didn't match what was on TV, had a hard time getting connected to the WiFi. A DVD player would have been welcome. Never resolved the WiFi connection issue to my satisfaction, but did eventually connect, and service was mostly good. We'll be back.

They have a pretty good descriptive website -- worth a look.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7, upstairs in the Executive Building. Upstairs would be especially good if you st...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoebeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our first trip to Hontoon Landing and it was a great experience. This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We did venture out one night into downtown DeLand which was also nice. It was good to know that there was a town close by just in case we needed something from WalMart. We stayed in a room with a full kitchen and it made cooking easier. The room over looked the river with a great balcony. The grills were right outside our room which we took advantage of grilling on it every night except one. The river was peaceful and we saw lots of wildlife. We took our own boat and the boat ramp was plus since it was right there next to the shop. The boat house was also very nice. The pool was kept very clean and was very relaxing. Blue Springs State Park is close by and was great to cool off in after a day out on the boat. We were very pleased with our experience and are looking forward to going again next year.

Room Tip: The room with a full kitchen made cooking inside easy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.8 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#2 of 8 in DeLand
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#4 of 5 in Orange City
30 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina

Address: 2317 River Ridge Rd, DeLand, FL 32720-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range: £79 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is located near DeLand, Florida and is nestled along a bend in the St. Johns River - directly across river from Hontoon Island State Park. The resort is situated on three acres and provides accommodations and lodging in 18 riverside rooms and suites. Kitchens are available in most of the rooms and suites. Resort accommodations are provided in five buildings - Riverview Building, Executive Building, Captain's Suite Building, Hummingbird Cottage and Duplex Cottages. The resort offers for your relaxation and enjoyment...Boat Rentals - 24' Pontoon Boats for exploring the St. Johns River and viewing the abundant and varied wildlife, and 16' fishing boats for pursuit of the bass, crappie, or whichever may be your favorite. River Tours - offered daily aboard the brand new 49 passenger "Great Blue" Tour Boat, your front row ticket to the world of nature. Birdwatching - Whether you are a beginner or have been a bird watching enthusiast for many years, our Resort could become your favorite destination for enjoying the natural beauty of the river and abundant birds and other wildlife. Hummingbirds - The Resort is a haven for the Ruby Throated Hummingbirds. The Hummingbirds arrive in late February and remain until late August when they begin their migration to Mexico and Central America.The Resort also offers a Sparkling Pool, Ship's Store, Slips for Private Boats, Hummingbird Garden, Hummingbird Plaza, Boardwalk, Riverside Patios and Decks, Manicured Lawn & Grounds and Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing