We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in Nature's Bounty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relax in Nature's Bounty”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Laid back comfort. Natural beauty. Hontoon Landing grabbed us at first sight. Lovingly maintained property has Old Florida ambiance right on the St John's River. Birds, gators, manatee viewing from one of the many decks and tables around the property. Nice pool. Steps to the Hontoon Island State Park ferry, where we rented kayaks and walked the trails. We had the most modest rooms in the lodge but they were spotlessly clean. We shall return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Greer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    35
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Wonderful boat trip on a remote part of St Johns River. Beautiful scenery, lots of birds, alligators, and a very knowledgable and personable tour guide. Great ride and a great value.
The staff is friendly and welcoming. Scenic drive from Orlando. Allow enough time as the drive takes longer than one would think

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Although we trust TA reviews, we're always a bit concerned going to a "fishing camp"; what is paradise for some can be a bit "rustic" for others. We have been to many marina/hotel places that are great for what they provide, which is access to a good fishing site and a bed and bath, but still are a bit moldy around the edges.
Well, let me tell you, this is NOT the case at Hontoon Landing. First impressions are of the staff, who are all smiling, welcoming, and very helpful. We arrived late and the office was closing, but they stayed to make sure we were settled and had directions to places for dinner. Could not have been nicer.
Now, about the room. We chose a room with a kitchen, as I like to make coffee in the morning (I didn't plan to actually cook). We had two beds, plenty of room to spread out, and a spotless bathroom. The kitchen was quite adequate, with full-sized appliances; we made use only of the refrigerator (also spotless!) and coffeemaker. (hint: the resort provides filters, but not the coffee, so bring it with you or stop at a grocery)
We were at the resort to rent a boat and try fishing on the St. John River and were lucky enough to have good weather for our one day on the river.
We didn't take advantage of the activities offered at the resort, but the pool area looked lovely.
In all, we would highly recommend Hontoon Landing for a fishing vacation if you want a nice, not "roughing it" place to stay. It's definitely a fine resort, and the fishing is just an attraction!

Room Tip: If you like to make coffee, get a room with a kitchen. There is coffee in the store/office, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mniNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Grest place to stay rent pontoon boat cruise st joun river. We docked our boat at blue springs and had a bbq. Which was awesome. We've stayed everywhere in Florida and this was one of the greatest getaways.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superchargeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Captain's Suite a couple weeks ago and it was absolutely beautiful!! The view of the St. John's River, and the sunsets and sunrises you can watch from the deck are beyond memorable. The photos of the suite on the hotel's website do not do the room justice! It is HUGE, and the kitchen (which is not shown on the website at all) is beautiful with granite counters and white cabinets. Very modern. And the kitchen is also FULLY equipped with all the basics, except you have to supply your own groceries, of course. The dining room is great with a beautiful view out the huge kitchen window -- it was an oversized tall dining table that could seat 8+. The whole place is impeccably decorated in nice warm earthy colors. The livingroom was HUGE with a gigantic beautiful sofa and a large screen TV over a "faux" fireplace, and beautiful glass tiles as a backing to the TV and fireplace. The bathroom was our favorite part. The tiles were beautiful, the double-head shower was AMAZING!! The only complaint I would have about the hotel is it is too far from everything, but that is the nature of that area, so it is not any points against the hotel. WE LOVED IT and will definitely stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoopy622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

What a perrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfect place for a family reunion....My family including five brothers & sisters, nieces, nephews, grand kids, uncles, aunts, husbands, wives, and a few adopted family members all came together for a week-end to enjoy the many activities offered.....Hontoon Resort is just the perfect place for a family to have a great week-end..Pontoon boat excursions, fishing, Hontoon state park next door with all kinds of activities..If you have a big family this is the place to stay...Compliments to April and her staff and all the other employees that were just so friendly and helpful...Not one disparaging word from any of my family members and that's saying something....There is always one in a crowd that you can't please but not at Hontoon! Everyone commented about how much they enjoyed Hontoon and want to do it again next year....

Room Tip: The executive suite is the best!!! Spacious, luxurious, and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hontoon Island Resort and Marina is the Florida I remember as a child. Off the beatan path, Peaceful, tranquil, and full of nature. Not your fancy multi resort of today, but a resort of years gone by. Great service, friendly staff and clean, modern rooms. twenty minutes into Deland, with many restaurants, and shops. Come, sit and watch the sun set over ancient oaks covered in moss, come watch the birds.
Take the pontoon boat ride for a real sight of old Florida.

Room Tip: I like the view from the second floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.8 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#2 of 8 in DeLand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 5 in Orange City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina

Property: Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Address: 2317 River Ridge Rd, DeLand, FL 32720-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is located near DeLand, Florida and is nestled along a bend in the St. Johns River - directly across river from Hontoon Island State Park. The resort is situated on three acres and provides accommodations and lodging in 18 riverside rooms and suites. Kitchens are available in most of the rooms and suites. Resort accommodations are provided in five buildings - Riverview Building, Executive Building, Captain's Suite Building, Hummingbird Cottage and Duplex Cottages. The resort offers for your relaxation and enjoyment...Boat Rentals - 24' Pontoon Boats for exploring the St. Johns River and viewing the abundant and varied wildlife, and 16' fishing boats for pursuit of the bass, crappie, or whichever may be your favorite. River Tours - offered daily aboard the brand new 49 passenger "Great Blue" Tour Boat, your front row ticket to the world of nature. Birdwatching - Whether you are a beginner or have been a bird watching enthusiast for many years, our Resort could become your favorite destination for enjoying the natural beauty of the river and abundant birds and other wildlife. Hummingbirds - The Resort is a haven for the Ruby Throated Hummingbirds. The Hummingbirds arrive in late February and remain until late August when they begin their migration to Mexico and Central America.The Resort also offers a Sparkling Pool, Ship's Store, Slips for Private Boats, Hummingbird Garden, Hummingbird Plaza, Boardwalk, Riverside Patios and Decks, Manicured Lawn & Grounds and Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing