We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great exhibition!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Art - Deland

Museum of Art - Deland
Ranked #12 of 78 things to do in DeLand
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Art - DeLand, Florida, is a vital and interactive non-profit community visual arts museum dedicated to the collecting, preservation, study, display and educational use of the fine arts. In addition to the permanent collection, the Museum is host to several new exhibits, gallery talks and receptions, educational programming, master artist workshops and special events throughout the year. With two locations in historic DeLand at 100 N. & 600 N. Woodland Blvd., a diverse variety of exhibitions have appeared in the nine galleries (9250 sqft.) including the works of art from internationally known artists Duane Hanson, Andy Warhol, Sandro Chia, Edward Hopper, Yayoi Kusama, E. A. Burbank and Benjamin West to exceptional Florida artists like Harold Garde, Dorothy Gillespie, Jill Cannady, Richard Segalman, Purvis Young, Les Slenick and many others. Visit the Museum's website / Facebook page to see images of art, education, special events, as well as visitors to and residents of Volusia County having a great time.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great exhibition!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I loved the Museum of Art - Deland. The exhibition of Jill Cannady was powerfull, it was truly inspiring.
Last but not least, the entry fee is very affordable and you get to see two museums. The staff was extremely nice especially Susan who works at the reception of the "smaller" museum. I enjoyed also the "Wearable Art" show. It was so much fun. I'll come back definitively!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieManinMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Tiny”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's a cute museum with about 2 rooms of art. We stayed for about 40 minutes. I'm not sure that we'd return, though. Once was enough.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must See Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I read with dismay a negative review of the current exhibit at the Museum of Art and Satellite in DeLand. The show is a wonderful retrospective of an excellent artist, Jill Cannady, who has spent most of her life in Florida. The Museum periodically does a retrospective of Florida artists to show their works. Previously, there have been shows of Harold Garde, Tony Eitharong, Barbara Sorensen, and Anna Tomczak. I know if the reviewer had expressed his reaction to someone in the galleries, I am sure that a docent or a staff member would have been glad to talk about the art and artist. Along with this exhibit, there have been two receptions and several gallery talks with record attendance. The artist is currently being featured by the Fall Festival of the Arts for a Patrons Event. Please come by and write your review of the art and artist. The exhibit is up until mid May.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jewel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Too much focus on a single, extreme artist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Sunday afternoon March 9, my wife and I, decided to visit this museum while in Deland.
Little did we know.
We started with the downtown museum satellite. One artist was on exhibition: Jill Cannady.
We were surprised to see paintings of animals (mostly dogs) showing powerful teeth and eyes full of hate, and ... basically the same with humans.
All this gave a strange, uneasy feeling and after 5 minutes we decided to leave and go to the main museum.
Over there, we found only more by the same artist.
Dogs with powerful jaws, sharp teeth, eyes showing the hatred; in other words animals ready for the kill. Underlying violence was everywhere. Needless to say we did not stay long.
This is so strange because obviously this artist is full of talent. She tends to favor surrealism, but even Salvador Dali could show love in his art. Cannady does not. She focuses on power ready for violence and kill.
Not advised at all to see this exhibition with kids.
During our short stay we just wondered if she is having mental problems, or whether she may be or was victim of some kind of abuse or domestic violence.
Anyway, a museum should offer more balanced exhibitions with a choice of different artists when showing such an extreme collection.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoArtDeland, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Art - Deland, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
As we all know, art is subjective, so it is always a risk to have exhibitions that may offend some individuals. As part of every exhibition the Museum provides visitors with both written documentation about the artist and schedules many gallery talks with the artist and with trained docents to discover more about the artist’s techniques and the motivation behind their work. This extremely talented artist with more than 40 years working exceptionally in every medium has an extreme affection for the canine breed and has owned many dogs over the years. In addition to the title of the work of art that lived on the Museum exterior for four months: “After Andrew”, text panels, title cards and talks, revealed that the artist lived in Miami and weathered Hurricane Andrew with her beloved pets in 1992. She did not paint for 8 months following this horrible event. The fear she depicts in many of her furry subjects are an emotion she identifies as personal, real and symbolic. As many exceptional artists try to have their work evoke an emotion, Jill Cannady’s unmatched talent in every form of medium achieved just that, which was evident in the record numbers in attendance and membership growth during her exhibition. During this exhibition, hundreds of children from elementary and middle school ages to the college level visited the museum as part of in depth field studies, conducting art reviews and assessments that resulted in positive feedback from teachers, parents and students. During the past year alone, Museum members and visitors have been enlightened by the works of art by more than 100 different artists demonstrating the continued contributions in cultural arts and educational programming to the local community and schools, and to the visitors of DeLand. We hope you will visit us again to see other talented and experienced artists display their work and to attend a gallery talk. On July 11 Collector Samuel Blatt will be conducting a gallery talk on the exhibition Collector’s Choice: Blatt Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very poor museum Both locations devoted to one low quality person”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited the museum downtown Satellite and paid for museum entry for two people. Saw the satellite location was all one persons items, but was not informed that the main museum, which we wanted to go to, and did go to, was also entirely full of this persons items. Total waste of time and money. Bad decision on both artistic and marketing side to devote both satellite and main museum to one, very poor, repetitive person. worst ten bucks spent all week and worst waste of time and travel. Too bad as the facilities were nice, and people working there were friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Art - Deland also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Art - Deland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing