We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Event” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hills Golf Club

Victoria Hills Golf Club
Attraction details
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great event venue with above average catering. I really enjoy weekend lunches there as well. The bar is also the most beautiful in DeLand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top 50 public access course?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

No, not really. Nice design, reasonably well maintained, although some greens were iffy in spots. Otherwise, the greens were fast and quite true, but challenging, due to significant contouring. If you have an aversion to sandtraps, don't go there, as there are over 100. The traps were good to play out of, and many of them were mainly for aesthetics, not really coming in to play. Also, there are not many water hazards that really come into play. After golf, unfortunately, we were not able to eat in the restaurant, as there was a private party going on. Maybe next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamaicajoe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We go for lunch quite frequently and order a variety off the lunch menu. Our favorites are the club, southwestern chicken wrap and Big Cheesy and Jalapeno Burger, Black Bean soup or Friday Clam Chowder.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dired30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a top Golf Digest course anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We played the course a few years ago with a total of eight players and it was very good and deserving of the Golf Digest rating (4.5 out of 5 stars). Not anymore. We visited on March 11, 2014. The course is well designed and picturesque, with some elevation changes. The greens were in pretty good condition, but the fairways were very thin and muddy in many locations, and the rough was dried out and brown. The bunker sand was average in quality and depth. The golf cart interior and windshield was full of caked on dust.

We had reserved a mid morning tee time online and teed off on time. The biggest problem was the pace of play. We waited on every shot. It took more than one hour to play the first four holes. The fifth hole is a par five. When we arrived on the tee, the group ahead of us had not yet teed off because there were two groups in the fairway on one on the green. After we teed off, we waited in the fairway to hit the next shot and noticed that there were now three groups (six carts) waiting on the tee behind us. While waiting in the fairway, we called the Pro Shop to ask that a Ranger be sent out to help. From the time we arrived on the fifth tee until we holed out, it took 29 minutes to play the one hole.

The Ranger visited us on the seventh hole while we were waiting to tee off. We asked about the pace of play and were told that the last group in the Ladies Club Championship was two groups ahead of us and there were no gaps in the pace of play. We commented that it would have been nice to have been told about the tournament ahead of us before we teed off and he asked how we made our tee time reservation. When we told him that it was made online, he said we should have called the Pro Shop directly to make the tee time and they would have told us about the tournament. I don't think that would have happened. But then what's the point of online reservations?

At the turn, we went into the Pro Shop to inquire about the pace of play and why we weren't told of the tournament in front of us. I also asked whether the course had blocked (restricted) a number of tee times behind the tournament, which is standard practice at many courses to help the pace of play with the groups behind the a tournament. I was told that the course could not do that because of the loss of revenue. Really? So, I guess it's better to take a player's money and not tell them of the anticipated slow pace of play instead of trying to create a good playing experience.

We elected to not play the back nine since the day was already a disaster and the course conditions did not help. The course did issue us a credit for the difference between the nine hole and eighteen hole rate.

When driving away from the course, I remembered that before we teed off, there were at least 12 players on the driving range that must have started on the back nine, perhaps because they were course regulars. I think they probably avoided the tournament on the front nine. It would have been nice to have been given that option.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaHillsGC, Manager at Victoria Hills Golf Club, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
First, we would like to thank Barry for taking the time to review our facility. We'd like to address a few of his concerns here to give everyone an accurate representation of the current course conditions, how Florida courses handle the "winter" and some other items.

"The greens were in pretty good condition, but the fairways were very thin and muddy in many locations, and the rough was dried out and brown. The bunker sand was average in quality and depth. The golf cart interior and windshield was full of caked on dust."
> Overall, the golf course is in very good shape considering we are still in the dormant season here in Florida. The fairways are overseeded and there are some worn out areas entering and exiting the fairways from cart traffic and our recent rainy weather. The rough is in a dormant state and will remain brown until evening temperatures stay in the 60s - we've had a particularly rough winter in Florida this year so the course may be "browner" than you may have seen in previous years because of how many hard frosts we've had. Our golf cart staff cleans each cart prior to each round so if this cart had caked-on dust, that is definitely not the norm. Some carts do have hard water stains that are hard to deal with - another product of our Florida environment.

"The biggest problem was the pace of play. We waited on every shot. It took more than one hour to play the first four holes. The fifth hole is a par five. When we arrived on the tee, the group ahead of us had not yet teed off because there were two groups in the fairway on one on the green...From the time we arrived on the fifth tee until we holed out, it took 29 minutes to play the one hole."
> The USGA rated pace of play for our course is 4 hours and 19 minutes. Our course was very busy on this particular day, so slight delays are to be expected. We have a cart GPS system that allows us to track every group's cart on the course. Our system shows that this customer's group played the first 4 holes in 55 minutes and played 9 holes in 2 hr 21 min. - just a little behind pace. While we can't know how this group would have finished, the group in front of them continued to play the back 9 and played in 4:38 total time - only about 20 minutes past our pace of play. Even with only a 20 minute delay, we were happy to give this customer's group a rain check for nine holes to come back and play again a different day since they were dissatisfied.

"We asked about the pace of play and were told that the last group in the Ladies Club Championship was two groups ahead of us and there were no gaps in the pace of play. I also asked whether the course had blocked (restricted) a number of tee times behind the tournament, which is standard practice at many courses to help the pace of play with the groups behind the a tournament. I was told that the course could not do that because of the loss of revenue. "
> Unfortunately, it sounds like one of our staff Members mis-informed this customer, which we sincerely apologize for. We did not have our Ladies' Club Championship this day, but rather, our regular weekly Ladies' Golf League that had 31 players. We actually did have tee times blocked after the event - a 24-minute buffer in total which is standard procedure for any event or league play. Historically, any pace of play delays with this weekly event have been minimal so that is why the customer was not informed ahead of time.

"When driving away from the course, I remembered that before we teed off, there were at least 12 players on the driving range that must have started on the back nine, perhaps because they were course regulars. I think they probably avoided the tournament on the front nine. It would have been nice to have been given that option."
> Unfortunately, the conclusions drawn here are simply not the case. All of the players this customer saw on the driving range actually teed off behind his group - we did not allow any players to tee off on the back nine on this particular day.

We hope that this response can clear up some of the confusion this customer experienced and will assist anyone else with similar questions. With all of this said, this customer was still dissatisfied, which is the last thing we want from anyone who visits our course. We strive to make all of our customers wholly satisfied on each visit, and we've worked hard over the past couple of years to improve course conditions and are happy to report that they are the best they've been in years. If the gentleman who posted this review sees this response, please call our manager, Matt, at the course at 386-738-6000 - he would love to speak to you in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The course was in beautiful shape and the weather was perfect. Not much water on the course but bring your shovel and bucket because there are plenty of sand traps (i think they said 106).
They were not kidding. Fortunately was not in them to often but just a very beautiful course with lots of Oak trees and plenty of wildlife, The front tees definitely give you an advantage but if you are real a super golfer you can play from the far tees. They have gps but unfortunately their repeater was not working so had to use old fashion since left hand held gps behind. A little disappointing there trying to find the markers. Overall great day and well maintained course

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank W O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria Hills Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Hills Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing