We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the outdoor country living”

Highland Park Fish Camp
Ranked #8 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highland Park Fish Camp in Deland, Florida is proudly frozen in time – it’s the way “old Florida” used to be, before theme parks arrived on the landscape. In 2012, we are celebrating our 50th anniversary of the family owned fish camp, where the largemouth bass are biting year round. This rustic destination has updated conveniences over the years, but nature has been preserved. Highland Park Fish Camp is an authentic haven carved out of the wilderness and the perfect place for the fisherman, the family that loves camping and the nature lover
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the outdoor country living”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visit often to launch our boat. The river is very pretty and peaceful. And if you don't have any luck catching anything on the river you can come back and catch fish in there stocked bass pond! They have everything you need for fishing. Great place for family and kids! We love the outdoors and country life so overall great experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    14
    1
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to see Old Florida”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I publish a magazine, Marshrider Magazine, and am always on the lookout for Old Florida
locations. I live in Tallahassee. I had heard of Highland Park
Fish Camp and traveled down there for a couple of days to get
material for articles.

The staff went out of their way to tell me neat places for photos
and went with me to explain some of the uses of water plants
such as the Spatterdock Lily. They could not have been more
courteous.

I stayed in one of the cabins, sat on the screened in front
porch in the rocking chair and thoroughly enjoyed an evening
in the woods.

It was great to see local folks bring their kids out to the fishing pond
to catch and release fish from the stocked pond.

I would recommend this experience and Highland Park Fish Camp
to families, couples or anyone. Old Florida is vanishing before our
eyes and this is one of the few places left to immerse yourself in
that long-ago world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love the camp”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We love country life and rustic atmosphere. Our kids and grand kids love fishing in the pond, the wild life such as bear, alligator ,turkey, deer, fox and owls that watch you watch them. Most of all we love being treated like family and helped when it is needed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Psmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place for a family outing!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I had some free time recently and wanted to go on the St. Johns river and had heard about
Highland Park Fish Camp.I attebded Stetson University so I was
familiar with Deland, Fl. THe camp is located in a still-undisturbed rural part
of the area surrounding Deland and it was neat to drive down a dirt road
to get there.

The staff were just great, helpful in getting mypontoon boat set up, told
me neat places to go see a wide variety of native Florida plants as well as
birds. They made me feel like I was family coming back for a visit.

This camp is located in "old Florida" setting and has a great free fishing hole
for folks to try their hand at catching a bass or other fresh water fish. It was
so much fun to see families showing their young children how to fish. Because
the pond is stocked, the children got to feel the tug of the fish on the hook as
well as see the fish as it was reeled in. It's a catch and release pond so they
learned a valuable lesson at the same time.

I would recommend this fish camp to anyone. They have great cabins, the scenery
is some of the prettiest I've seen in a long time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful get away!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This camp is very relaxing and an excellent get away with the family. The campsite includes a stocked pond, cabins, cookout areas, boat launch, campground, and places to keep your boat! The prices are reasonable and the trip in general was great. I was very impressed with highland and I will definitely be going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabethburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Park Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Highland Park Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing