We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artisan Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artisan Downtown
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here late last year. The staff were incredibly friendly, the rooms are nice and the hotel is within walking distance of DeLand's main attractions. Only issue we faced was getting back into the hotel late at night since they did not have a overnight doorman. I'm sure they have that taken care of now. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello Itinerant_Gator,

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. I apologize, again, for the trouble you and your wife encountered getting back into the hotel at night. We immediately started offering a 24-hour service desk in order to resolve that issue. I hope you and your wife come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    24
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
40
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I live in DeLand and therefore haven't stayed in the Artisan Inn (although these experienced hoteliers have been in DeLand for years), I must rave about the food! We stopped in for dessert after doing the Bike Fest and the bread pudding (I know, but it was GOOD) was fantastic. Just the right amount of moisture, not mushy or hard as a rock. Speaking of hard, the sauce wasn't but it was very nice, with enough to finish the item without a lot left over. My partner had the
Balushahi, which I would call somewhat granola-like (w/o the grains) with whipped cream and a raspberry coulis drizzle. Excellent coffee and chai tea rounded out our evening. Good service was provided by Lindsey, who was vivacious in every sense of the word. SQUARE 1 is my new favorite place to go out in DeLand.

Room Tip: There are only eight, so reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Eric,

Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant and restaurant staff. We recently transformed the restaurant portion of the building into a brand new expansive lobby, meeting room, and retail space. Now our guests will be greeted by a lobby space that features the same streamlined décor and organic colors and textures that are found in our rooms. Though you will no longer find the desserts you mentioned in your review, Square 1 Bar still offers the hospitality you mentioned on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. We hope you and your partner come by to visit the Square 1 Bar and check out the new renovations soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Artisan for 4 days in January. What a fantastic concept - nicely appointed suites and a very fine restaurant to boot - all in a perfect location in DeLand! There are a few things that need to be improved - like making sure toiletries are refilled/replaced every day - but for a newly-opened hotel, everything was great and I expect it will get even better. The staff is very friendly and anxious to help, no doubt due to the great leadership of Hina Patel and her sister, Sara who run the place. They make you feel special, and a member of their family. The restaurant served up some wonderful lamb chops and a number of other entrees with an Indian flavor, but not too spicy unless you ask for it. Chef Jason is great! He even made up a special Bananas Foster for us that was out of this world! If you are planning a visit to the DeLand/Daytona area, consider staying at the Artisan! It's great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TVMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi TVMarty,

Thank you for your excellent review! We are very happy that you came to stay with us in January. Thank you for the feedback about the toiletries. We are so glad that our owners, Sara & Hina, made you feel like a member of the family. We hope to see you again the next time you visit DeLand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently stayed at The Artisan Inn for two nights while in DeLand on business. My experience was simply wonderful! The small "suite" rooms (with a sitting area and attached bedroom) are comfortable, well-appointed, professional, high-quality and very conducive for working and/or relaxing after a long day. The in-room wifi was great, and the fluffy duvet and comfortable bed made for a great night's sleep! I agree with the reviewer who likened the ambiance to the chic boutique nature of a Kimpton property--that is a great comparison! The property is a newly renovated historical building in downtown, so all of the facilities feel fresh and clean while preserving some of the charm of an old building. The Inn is managed/owned by two sisters, both of whom are so gracious and hospitable! It felt more like visiting an old friend than staying at a hotel, and that level of personal attention and service is just so wonderfully refreshing! A perfect example of this care and attention came one cold morning (the temperature dropped into the 30's while I was there!) during my stay. As I was leaving to go out, Sara (one of the owners) realized I was ill-prepared for the cold temperature. Without even hesitating, she loaned me her personal pashmina scarf to take along on my outing to help me stay warm. Wow! What a perfect testament to the care and attention they are putting into their business and their customers! It really made me feel good. I did not have an opportunity to try the restaurant, but will gladly try it next time with confidence. Whenever I am fortunate to be back in DeLand, I will definitely stay at The Artisan. As someone else noted, they offer the "best room in town."

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for staying with us back in January and for your very kind review. We are so glad that we were able to offer the hospitality of a friend and that you were able to get a comfortable night’s sleep in our room. You are always a friend of the Artisan Downtown staff! We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went to deland to see a band what a place they could not have been nicer.The sisters that run the place are so caring to your needs.My sister and I were treated like queens THANK YOU. Good restaurant and the only hotel within walking distance to downtown We will be back and the other staff is just as kind

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marez96296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you, again, for choosing to stay at Artisan Downtown. We are so happy that you and your sister felt like queens! We hope to see you again next time you visit DeLand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Boutique hotel with 8 rooms in a century building in downtown DeLand. Recently renovated and opened under new ownership right after Thanksgiving 2013.

The decor will remind you of a Kimpton property like the Monaco or Allegro if you have ever been to either of those. Very modern & chic, but not over-the-top. It is difficult to believe that the floors are the original hardwood, but I'm told they are.

You'll most likely get to meet the owners...who also run the restaurant (Indian food...we heard from others in town that it is great, but didn't get to try it since we were in town visiting family) and bar.

Bar / nightclub on first level was very good. Wine was VERY reasonable, and good. I loved the Malbec and my wife preferred the Cab. The staff was very friendly, especially Rachel, the bartender. Nightly entertainment was very good as well. Not a loud thumping band...a couple of guys with a guitars who knew a lot of great songs.

Location is perfect if you want or need to be near downtown or Stetson University.

Of all the hotels in the area we considered (my wife is VERY picky), this appears to be the best room in town. The price is more than reasonable based on what you are getting. Our expectations were certainly exceeded.

Ideal for business travelers, couples, or solo travel. Room 308 (pictures attached) has a sofa bed in the sitting room.

We will DEFINITELY stay here again next year.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center and there is no room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamaicaMon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, Public Relations Manager at Artisan Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi JamaicaMon2006,

Thank you so much for this excellent review! We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and we are glad you enjoyed the wine selection at our Square 1 Bar. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Rachel. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to town this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
5.8 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
241 reviews
5.1 mi away
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Downtown

Property: Artisan Downtown
Address: 215 S Woodland Blvd, DeLand, FL 32720-5401 (Formerly DeLand Artisan Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No longer the Deland Artisan Inn. This property is under new management. After a full renovation, our modern-yet-timelessly elegant space embraces the heirloom feel of DeLand’s rich history—all the while offering a modern, trendy, relaxed setting to enjoy life’s simple pleasures.Our boutique suites are spacious, clean, chic, and calming; and our hotel accommodations include all the finest luxury amenities at a modest price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artisan Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Downtown DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing