We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in DeLand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimney Corner Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was passing through town to meet up with a client of mine, this was one of the first properties I had seen so I decided to stay the night. The staff was very friendly, the room was great for a nights stay and I enjoyed the town as a whole. It was my first time to DeLand Florida but I will be back soon and will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here with my family during a trip to central florida. Found it to be a great affordable place to stay for a few days. Rooms came with free wifi which was nice. Family owned and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at the chimney motel with my family in February 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. The room was very clean and quiet. We also had free wifi in the rooms. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joinkim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This motel has been in existence for over 50 years. It still has jalousy windows in the bathroom and in rear of sleeping area, so there has been no significant structural upgrade since its original construction. The room air conditioner is underpowered, leading to a stuffy night even in mid October; would hate to stay here when it is really hot. English is not the proprietor's native language, but he can understand you if you speak slowly and await his answers. The bed was comfortable; the pillow was overstuffed, leading to a stiff sore neck in the morning. The drapes do block light and you do not hear traffic noise, so sleep is possible. Microwave and dorm refrigerator are room features although the door card poses a $4/day charge for use of either. The room seems clean but smells musty. The showerhead is 5'8" above the floor, so short folks will love it but if you're 6' or more, you will have to kneel to get your head wet. There's no shampoo but there is soap. I paid $90/day for a 3 day stay. Frankly, I was stunned by what I found after the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. There were never more than 4 or 5 cars any of the three nights that I was there. I did get mildly spooked the second night when a loud banging on my door awakened me. When I posed a challenge through the door, a woman asked me to allow her to use my cell phone so that she could summon a taxi. There is no peephole in the door, but even if there were, I would not have opened the door. She/they moved on at that point or I would have used my phone to alert law enforcement. I have every intention of avoiding this motel in the future.

Room Tip: choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here for a few days and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Reasonably priced and the rooms were kept clean. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was my first trip to the area and was just passing by for the night. It was rather late and just needed a place to stay and was looking for something clean and reasonable. When I checked in I asked to see the room first, and to my surprise it was quite nice! The room was clean and smelled good. The rate was very reasonable so I took it for the night. I will definitely stop by on my way back through DeLand!

Room Tip: Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachBuddy21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Friendly staff, nice place, convenience to our event and reasonable price. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisaFL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these DeLand hotels
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
3.7 mi away
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#2 of 8 in DeLand
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tropical Resort and Marina
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Deland Hotel
#1 of 3 in DeLand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Corner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Corner Motel

Address: 1941 S Woodland Blvd, DeLand, FL 32720-7905
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimney Corner Motel is a 32 room motel located in the heart of DeLand. We are family owned and operated. Our outdoor lounge chairs allow for a great opportunity to take in the wonderful year round weather. We recently completed a remodel of the property (both interior and exterior) and are ready for your visit to beautiful DeLand, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimney Corner Motel DeLand, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing