We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Show Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Inn of DeLand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Inn of DeLand
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
HERNANDO
1 review
“Dog Show Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel is close to the dog show grounds. The room was on the second floor with no elevator. The room was non-smoking but had a distinct odor to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank J. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    9
    7
    45
See reviews for
13
8
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was the dirtiest hotel I have ever utilized. There were bugs in the room, the towels were like rags, mildew in the bathroom, burn holes in the bed covers (non-smoking room), rugs dirty, drawer pulls missing from the furniture (no way to open drawers), phone had static and a hiss, lamp shades had dust on top and bugs on the inside, walls dirty, dirt under beds and dresser, no mattress cover, mildew in shower, bedside clock--no way to set to correct time, bathroom door had a hole on the inside with a bug hanging out, landscaping spotty. No way to regulate water in the bathroom--either cold or too hot. No a/c in lobby at check-in and departure. How can this Howard Johnsons be a Wyndam affiliate?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Carolann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these DeLand hotels

MELBOURNE
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Had to take a luke-warm shower - It started out hot, but within the first two minutes it was bearably cool. Not what I was looking forward to after a long strenuous day standing on my feet for 12 hours.
The room was dirty. You can see where the build-up of dirt had settled into the carpet where the wall and floor meets. Although it was a smoking room.... the smell was overwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Wearytraveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Each year when I attend the dog show in Deland I have stayed at this location. I actually did not believe the other reviews I SHOULD HAVE It is horrible(dirty & smelly). I reported the toilet di not flush. Instead of working on it, I was told to hold down the handle by the owner! I was very ill & it was awful to have a clogged up toilet. The toilet bowl was full of hard water stains. There was a holder for the iron, but no iron The carpet was stained, the back of the window curtain had mold & dirt on it, there were cob webs everywhere, dead bug on the wall & ceiling Live black bugs crawling around the sink. Holes in the bedspread & towels. The wash cloths were so stained & yellow they looked as if they had not been washed Knobs were missing from the dresser & nigh stand & the lamp shades were stained There is not a GFI on the outlets by the sink. I believe that is against fire code & I will be calling the City of Deland!!!!! When I brought that issue up, I was told it was because the motel is old

Room Tip: There are not any pick another place to stay RUN DON'T WALK!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLORIDASIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is one of the worst motels I've ever stayed in. Has bedbugs, door keys don't work properly, tv sucks, and their continental breakfast is worthless, just go down the street to seven eleven you'd be better off. Also credit card machine was broken. Craphole look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I Had to leave in middle of night ,the air conditioner was broke and no one answered to fix it , then when we tried to get our money back they rudely told us no, stated that someone was stating in there now, well if they are theyre very much uncomfortable! I will never stay at a hojo again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbnglnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

we showed up on friday afternoon and checked in. The lobby was hot and smelly,but not a big deal, when we got our room number we went up there and the walkway ceiling was falling off and it could at anytime fall and hurt someone. We got into how room and it looked like someone put holes in the walls and they tried to fix them, Also i checked the bathroom and there was hair in the tub. We got back that Friday night from the races we turned the tv on and it did not work at first,then i layed in bed and there was a hug spider by the door,then a little while later there were two spiders over my bed. I hate spiders. I went down to the officee cause my phone did not work. I let the guy now and all he said was i can move you but you will have to go back to that room in the morning cause we are booked. Now this was at 1 am. The sheets has holes in them the towels were falling about. The so called breakfast they had there was nothing there when i went to see what they had. I WILL NEVER EVER AGAIN STAY THERE STAY AWAY. I CALLED THE HIGHER UPS ABOUT IT. Next year i will stay at the comfort inn or the other hotel in deland it maybe it will be cleaner and nicer to stay at and maybe pay about 20.00 more a night

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Tammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn of DeLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of DeLand

Property: Budget Inn of DeLand
Address: 2801 East New York Ave, I-4 Exit 118, DeLand, FL 32724 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland)
Region: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of DeLand 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Inn of DeLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland Hotel Deland
Howard Johnson Deland
Budget Inn Of DeLand Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing