We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perkins Restaurant & Bakery

Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #63 of 179 Restaurants in DeLand
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great variety, even for vegetarians. In fact, our server worked with us in that regard; for our appetizer sampler, she left off the chicken strips and gave us extra mozzarella sticks! Nice, quiet atmosphere as well. As we were all full, we didn't indulge in the scrumptious-looking desserts that greet you at the front of the store, but next time, we may take some with us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PierresFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not the greatest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We went here for an evening meal, the food was nice, but it was more of a breakfast or lunch place than dinner.

It was a cute little cafe type place good service, would have liked to have visited for a casual lunch or breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chezzle8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good comfort food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I like their varied menu & bakery with fantastic muffins & desserts. The French dip sandwich was very tasty. Our server had several tables to attend to, but she kept up very well. The floor in front of the cash register was sticky.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank motomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perkins International Drive Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Love this place great value for money and terrific pies and muffin for afters. Always look at thier great meal deals which include a drink and pie in the price I tried every one on my last holiday and not they were all delicious. Great staff friendly and helpful a pleasure to eat here every time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chelsporty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious, reliable option for breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I've have the pleasure of dining at this Perkin's twice in the past month, and both times were excellent. The service was good (thank you, Kasey!), and the food is above average. Here's my take on the highs and lows:

Good - huge portions. Crispy bacon. Eggs cooked, but not scorched, and our omelettes were delicious. Pancakes second to none, and impossible to stop eating them once you start. My husband and I split an order, and they were happy to accommodate us and did not charge us an extra fee for splitting - bravo, Perkins!

Not so good/needs improvement - the music is oldies from the 50s and 60s, which seems to be standard at all Perkin's. It contributes heavily to the dated feeling of the atmosphere inside. The syrup selections were not labeled, although I have seen labels on the syrups at other Perkin's restaurants. Re. the size of the portions, I wish they offered a 2-egg omelette with 2 pancakes, for those of us who don't need so much food and also don't want to spend over $9 for breakfast. Last, but definitely not least, was that a cup of hot tea was priced at a whopping $2.59. Adding insult to injury, it wasn't even a high-quality brand of tea!

Overall, very good, and I look forward to going back someday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingFool47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing