We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Awful Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Coffeehouse

Boston Coffeehouse
Ranked #8 of 179 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Food, Awful Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'm giving this place the benefit of the doubt on service because we were a party of 18 people. Everyone I spoke with thought that there food was excellent, but we had only one server in a private room in the back and orders came willy nilly, food was served without knife & fork, side dishes came 10 minutes after the main dish was served, and nothing seemed to flow right as far as service. Perhaps if you are a party of 2 things would be better organized.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lenox862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    44
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped by on our way to the beach to grab a light lunch. The coffee was great try the yankeedoodle) and the food was good. I'd recommend any of their desserts as well as their biscuits. Worth the stop!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunnybeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cup of coffee and coffee cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stopped by this coffee shop looking for an afternoon pick me up. Very friendly service and a great cup of coffee. A welcoming interior that encourages one to stay and chat. They offer soups and sandwiches that looked great (we had already eaten lunch or we would have eaten here).

The next time we are in Deland we will definitely have a cup of coffee here again and maybe lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is okay, but service is not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We loved to stop here for coffee and to meet friends, but the last few times the service was not good. If you are in a hurry, do not choose this place to eat. The last time we were there, it was crowded and they did not have enough employees to handle the crowd. We decided to leave and find another place to eat instead of waiting for service. The desserts are very good, but you must be willing to wait for anything you order.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMoore55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Was hoping for better food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The atmosphere and menu were really cool. The food was ok but not what I hoped for. Good but not worth a repeat visit. My chicken wrap was tasty but mostly lettuce. The potato salad was ok. Nothing bad but just ok food. The chicken am dumpling soup had very mushy dumpling noodles. The ham and apple sandwich was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatorRPH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Coffeehouse also viewed

 

Been to Boston Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing