We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place Right On The Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Place Right On The Ocean”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Breakers. It is an older property that is clean and well kept. The location can't be beat. It is right on the ocean. The units are decent sized and come with everything you would need. Full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, microwave, toaster, toaster oven, and utensils. Some of the appliances are old, as well as the furnishings. One thing that I found odd was having only a 19" television in the living room and no television in the bedroom. I really enjoy watching tv in bed and I missed not being able to do so. But everything is very clean. They do have a washer and dryer on site. However, the dryer was broken for my entire stay. Both were starting to show their age. But who can complain when they were free, along with the laundry detergent. They also have free WiFi which worked well, although it was down one day but promptly fixed. The pool was fairly clean and also showing a little age. The pool area itself was very nice with plenty of chairs and an ample supply of very comfortable beach towels. There was a nice large patio outside my room with plenty of seating. The beach is just a short walk away. They have about 6 cabanas on the beach with plenty of chairs, which were also starting to show their age. But I suppose there's not much you can do being directly on the ocean with the salt air. There is also a free continental breakfast every morning from 7-10 AM, along with a complimentary newspaper. It included coffee, orange juice, muffins, danish, and cake. They also set up a bunch of trays with coffee pots and decanters for the orange juice which I thought was a great idea. Definitely not anything fancy, but well stocked, clean and nice to have every morning. I also found the coffee to be outstanding. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping was also very nice. Directly next door to this hotel is Wright By The Sea which is the highest rated hotel in Delray by TripAdvisor. That hotel was jam packed and I could hear a lot of commotion going on over there. I think they had a live DJ one night. I would guess the Breakers were less than half full during my stay which I actually enjoyed. It was very quiet and you almost felt like you had the entire place to yourself. I would definitely recommend this hotel, although it depends what you are looking for. If you want a lot of action, this isn't the place. If you want a nice, clean, friendly, peaceful place with a nice "beachy" feel to it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canaligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    10
    12
    11
See reviews for
39
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Breakers on the Ocean is a great place to stay when visiting Delray Beach. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The beach is steps from your door and the ocean view is spectacular. There is a heated pool and game room. WiFi and Daily maid service is provided at no additional cost. The place is quiet and we never felt crowded. Everyone was friendly and always ready to assist with of our needs. Even though the kitchen is very functional there are tons of restaurants nearby offering delivery and only about a mile from downtown Delray. We enjoyed the Breakers so much we already booked our return trip this winter.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bilbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have been staying here for 30 years, off and on. We've stayed around the world in some wonderful places and some terrible places, and Breakers on the Ocean is still our favorite for an easygoing time together. This year we were lucky enough to visit with our children and grandchildren, and the Breakers was the best it has ever been. Since we were here last the rooms have been upgraded. The pool was immaculate. The beach equipment was in good shape. The housekeeping staff were very helpful and unobtrusive. We had a great time with the kids and grandkids playing on the beach and in the pool, as well as visiting nature preserves and deep-sea fishing. After they all left my husband and I got a few days alone in our unit to recover from all the fun, read quietly, and walk on the beach. One of my children called it "the best family vacation ever" and my 4 year old grandson said "we should 'move' to Florida again soon."

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We happened to be driving down A1A and decided to stay overnight in the area. We couldnt find any ava. rooms till we happened upon The Breakers. This place was the best choice we have made in a long time. It is extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, its located right on the ocean. We had a family affair to attend and asked id we could extend our check out for a few hours, and it was no problem. They didnt even charge us extra, which is a very uncommon thing in this day and age. We have stayed in places that have charge up to 500 a night and can tell you the service from this smller very less expensive hotel beat the more expensive places. we would pne returning to that hotel again no problem,..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We go here every year for Christmas with relatives. It's right on the water with pool table, pool, put-put course, bookshelf, great spot on the ocean...our room had great big window overlooking water. We have friends that stay in other rooms, we call them using the phone service given to us. The cleaning people were usually smoking and on their cellphones, but they did do a good job. Best hotel every.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelers58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

During a recent trip to Florida to visit friends, my husband and I stayed for several days at Breakers on the Ocean in Delray Beach. These days turned out to be some of the most enjoyable and relaxing of my entire life. The location of The Breakers is almost unbelievable!
It's right on Ocean Blvd. (A1A) and has its own private beach, complete with beach chairs and small cabanas (complimentary). It's a lovely setting for a stroll on the beach, reading, sunbathing, or just enjoying the beautiful Atlantic ocean. The amenities at the Breakers include a putting green (so much fun) and a complimentary shuttle into Downtown Delray, with its charming collection of shops and restaurants. At the Breakers, even the sheets on the beds are special...a beautiful shade of blue with small white palm trees. The staff (front office and room) were friendly and accommodating. If you have an event to attend in the Delray/Boynton/West Palm Beach area or if you're just planning a get-away in the sun, you won't be disappointed in this resort which definitely has the vibe of "Old Florida." Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.
Thank you.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank IrishColleen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This hotel is the perfect example of a property in a wonderful location that is being ruined by poor owner managment. My husband and I love to stay within steps of a beach and this location seemed perfect. We rented the most expensive unit ($270) which was in the north building and the closest unit to the beach. We were told that the unit had a living room window that looked out to the ocean. It did but we were NOT told that the window was broken and could not close completely thereby keeping the AC from being able to cool the unit properly. Which really didn't make any difference because the AC did not even work the entire 4 days we were there. When we arrived in our room we decided to shut the windows and turn the AC on. When we realized the window would not shut completely, we notifed the front desk and they told us that they were aware of that. Why in the world would they rent a unit with a broken window that kept the unit from being cooled. Within an hour we realized that the AC was only blowing warm air and notified the front desk about that problem. The next day the AC was still not working and over the next 3 days we continued to notify the front desk. Robert did manage to get the AC working for about 1 hour on our last afternoon there. But it quit again. An actual AC company was never called. Upon checkout we requested that the owner be contacted to she if she would agree to a reduction in our rental fee due to the fact that the AC in our unit never worked for the entire time we were there. She agreed to give us a $20/nt reduction. Almost insulting and a true indication that she has no clue about customer service and making things right with her guests. So just be careful if you choose to stay here. Hopefully everything will be working in your unit...but if it's not, good luck at getting anything fixed.

Positives:
1) Great location just steps from the beach
2) Ginny & Pat at the front desk were very pleasant
3) Grounds were well maintained
4) Housekeeping was good-but didn't wash the dishes in our sink the 2nd day
5) Wireless in the rooms worked good

Negatives:
1) This was not a swimming beach. Only saw a few people in the water. Saw more ManOWar jellyfish than I have ever seen on a beach (at least 10 for every 10 feet I walked). The hotel had 2 signs by the beach towel table. One said that sharks had been spotted, and the other was a Rip Tide warning.
2) Pathetic Continental Breakfast. Only had sugar pastries, white bagels, coffee and jug orange juice. There was NO: fruit, whole wheat bread/bagels, yogart, granola, cereal, milk or cream, spreads for the bagels. Buy your own items if you want a healthy breakfast!
3) The beach cabanas do not block the sun until about 2:00 in the afternoon. So you have no way to get out of the sun on the beach until then.
4) The "balconies" are actually just the walkway between the units and are not private. The ones on the north building are completely in the sun for the entire day. The south side is shaded by the building. May change as the sun gets higher in the sky.
5) The other front desk person (can't remember her name) was more interested in smoking breaks and watching TV than being pleasant to guests.
6) Bed only had one bedside table. We moved a small table from the balconey and set the dresser lamp on it.

So hopefully at some point this owner will sell this place to someone who will maximize its potential with good management, good maintenance and better customer service. Until then I would spending a bit more and staying next door at Wright by the Sea. It's grounds look lovely and it has good Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank austinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyma, Manager at Delray Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Wow! Thank you for such a lengthy and detailed report of your stay with us. As it was unfortunate there were problems with your air conditioning we are sorry that it was not handled in a more timely and effective manner. Our employees are trained to go above and beyond when handling guest issues and we are sorry that it did not occur in this instance. As our other satisfied repeat guests of 40 years will attest to, our staff does it's best to rectify any situation that should arise.

We are, however, confused as to your other issues. This successful business owner, or any other owner as you so kindly suggest, cannot control the sun's angle or the jellyfish swarm that was affecting our area the week of your visit. Delray Beach is a great swimming beach as it is at the closest point to the Gulf Stream currents.

Your pictures of your balcony appear pretty private to us as it is not a public walkway but a shared balcony with 2 other units and there is only access to it from those units. Perhaps you would have enjoyed a ground floor unit with it's own private patio? If you were unhappy we would have gladly moved you if you had let our staff know.

We would have gladly brought you an additional bedside table if you had let us know as well.

Our continental breakfast is complementary. We do not have commercial kitchen facilities in which to prepare and safely store hot meals. Other hotels that you recommend do not offer any breakfast at all. Our units each have a fully equipped kitchen in which you can make your own more elaborate meal of choice.

Thank you for complementing us on our cleanliness. We pride ourselves in this fact and we are glad that you, and many others, have remarked on this.

Thank you for complementing Ginny and Pat in the front office. They do a wonderful job and we are glad they were able to accommodate you when your travel plans changed. Also, did you use the directions to the tennis match that Ginny had ready for you upon your check-in? You were impressed with the fact that she had remembered that you had mentioned, in passing when you had made your reservation, that you were planning on going to the event and she wanted to make sure you knew where the tennis center was located. It's those personal touches that we are known for and why our guests return year after year.

Our goal is to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us and we are sorry that you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Delray Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
1.6 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
1.8 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,043 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Property: Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Breakers on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Breakers on the Ocean, we take great pride in catering to our guests. We offer a variety of accommodations and amenities. Our one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments located on the perfect beach setting right on the Atlantic Ocean. Located in beautiful Delray Beach, on two acres with 200 feet of white sandy beach front, we provide a relaxing, serene setting offering pool, beach, mini golf, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delray Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach
Delray Breakers On The Ocean Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing