We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wright by the Sea(Delray Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sundy House(Delray Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
38
22
10
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
22
10
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridaone bedroom apartmentfree laundryshowing its agebeach chairslaundry roomhome away from homedelrayhousekeepingdishwasher
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Reading the less than stellar reviews, can't really disagree with some of the less than positive aspects being pointed out, yet, somehow the overall impression seems to be being missed. This particular unit is right on the Ocean, nice big window with totally unobstructed view of the waves hitting the shore and the sun coming up in the morning. The unit is large, about 600+sq ft with a roomy bedroom, combo living-dining room and a small, but complete kitchen. One door leads to a deck that is common to several units and the other to the stairs to the parking and beach. There is a private green area in the middle of the 24-unit complex with a pool, mini-putting course and sheltered seating area with a barbeque. Four of the units are directly on the ocean, with all the rest at least some view of the ocean.

With the Florida greenery abundance shedding daily, the staff picks things up promptly. Everything is well maintained and kept clean. As it's right on the beach, access is a direct walk. And on the beach there are sufficient cabanas for the number of the guests accomodated. In the mornings, coffee awaits at 7:00 together with free OJ as well as some baked goods.

Now as to the quibbles in the other reviews, yep, the place is a bit dated. But it's very spacious, neat, tidy, and kept fresh. It's also very quiet and private. Houskeeping is prompt and thorough. In our 8 years of staying here we've never had anything but good friendly help from the staff.

It's right next door to Wright by the Sea which gets the top TripAdvisor hotel rating in Delray Beach. We did stay there for a night a few years ago, but having tried both, we've continued to return and return to the Breakers ever since. Both are at the same spot on the beach, so there is no difference between the two in that respect. At the same price range, rooms are much bigger at the Breakers and a lot less for the higher end accommodations. For us, it's been an easy decision.

Already planning to be back next year once again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have just spent 3 days there with my family. It was low season so everything there looked abandoned. The apartment was decent but looked old and poor maintained. The air conditioning was extremely loud and the "continental breakfast" was coffee, pastries and frozen orange juice.
The positive thing is the location, right on the beach. Another plus is the complimentary bottled water and wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed for three days along with other family members. My room infested with fleas. Staff apologetic though no remuneration offered. My sister's room had a gas leak. Staff kindly fixed it but really??? If you're looking for dated, campy and creepy....you're good to go.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank WAHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Breakers. It is an older property that is clean and well kept. The location can't be beat. It is right on the ocean. The units are decent sized and come with everything you would need. Full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, microwave, toaster, toaster oven, and utensils. Some of the appliances are old, as well as the furnishings. One thing that I found odd was having only a 19" television in the living room and no television in the bedroom. I really enjoy watching tv in bed and I missed not being able to do so. But everything is very clean. They do have a washer and dryer on site. However, the dryer was broken for my entire stay. Both were starting to show their age. But who can complain when they were free, along with the laundry detergent. They also have free WiFi which worked well, although it was down one day but promptly fixed. The pool was fairly clean and also showing a little age. The pool area itself was very nice with plenty of chairs and an ample supply of very comfortable beach towels. There was a nice large patio outside my room with plenty of seating. The beach is just a short walk away. They have about 6 cabanas on the beach with plenty of chairs, which were also starting to show their age. But I suppose there's not much you can do being directly on the ocean with the salt air. There is also a free continental breakfast every morning from 7-10 AM, along with a complimentary newspaper. It included coffee, orange juice, muffins, danish, and cake. They also set up a bunch of trays with coffee pots and decanters for the orange juice which I thought was a great idea. Definitely not anything fancy, but well stocked, clean and nice to have every morning. I also found the coffee to be outstanding. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping was also very nice. Directly next door to this hotel is Wright By The Sea which is the highest rated hotel in Delray by TripAdvisor. That hotel was jam packed and I could hear a lot of commotion going on over there. I think they had a live DJ one night. I would guess the Breakers were less than half full during my stay which I actually enjoyed. It was very quiet and you almost felt like you had the entire place to yourself. I would definitely recommend this hotel, although it depends what you are looking for. If you want a lot of action, this isn't the place. If you want a nice, clean, friendly, peaceful place with a nice "beachy" feel to it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canaligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Breakers on the Ocean is a great place to stay when visiting Delray Beach. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The beach is steps from your door and the ocean view is spectacular. There is a heated pool and game room. WiFi and Daily maid service is provided at no additional cost. The place is quiet and we never felt crowded. Everyone was friendly and always ready to assist with of our needs. Even though the kitchen is very functional there are tons of restaurants nearby offering delivery and only about a mile from downtown Delray. We enjoyed the Breakers so much we already booked our return trip this winter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bilbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews