We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lady Owner, Nasty Human Being”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Miami
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lady Owner, Nasty Human Being”
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Well, This is a cute little place on the Ocean and the front desk clerk was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. We actually had a great time at our stay until the end. We had a very unpleasant experience with the Owner of the property, this woman treated us (paying customer) down right rude and for this we will NEVER give her a dime of our money again. Thank goodness she has nice people who run her place for her, other wise with her attitude and personality she would be out of business.

  • Liked — quiet and peaceful
  • Disliked — the woman owner of the property not a nice lady
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HolSosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topmanager, Manager at Delray Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 22 July 2008
M/M Sosa were paying guests for one night. They checked out at our regular check out time on 11:00 AM. However, they used our facilities, beach, etc. for almost another full day without paying. Payment for additional time is our policy. They not only abused the privilege of staying longer without paying but changed their beach attire in our public kitchen area putting sandy shoes and towels on areas where our continental breakfast is served. They continued to use our facility without paying by playing pool in our game room whereby the front desk manager politely asked them to pay or leave. The Breakers on the Ocean has enjoyed being in business for over 40 years and most of our guests return year after year. Guests who have requested additional check out time have gladly complied with our extra charge policy. Guests who do not comply with hotel policies would not be welcomed at any hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    10
    12
    10
See reviews for
38
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2005

When we planned our trip to Florida we had trouble finding a decent hotel/condo with room for a family of 5for 5 nights in August.
We settled,with some misgivings,for the Colony Hotel in Delray Beach as they had 2 rooms with connecting bath for a decent $155 per night.
I will leave our impressions of the Colony Hotel for a separate review but suffice it to say that we abandoned it after one night.
We started checking options on the beach and via the Delray Beach Yellow Pages came across the Breakers Apts on the ocean.
Fabulous 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms + a sofa bed in the living room + a fully equiped kitchen.
The pool is right outside the room and the beach is a 50 meter stroll from the room.
Service is friendly and helpful and we paid the same price of $155 per night inc continental breakfast for 5.
Very highly reccomended!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2005

My husband and I have been staying at the Breakers at least once a year for the past 7 years. We absolutely love the peacefullness. The facility is older than most however, the well maintained property and beach front access is a plus. If you want to have peace and quite this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank dgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 October 2004

What a wonderful spot to relax. This is a complex with 23 units all with ocean as well as pool views. The rates are excellent and all units have kitchen, dining area, living room, full bath with shower and bedroom. There a several units that are 2 bedrooms with 2 full baths and fireplaces. They also give you a newspaper at your door every day and continetal breakfast. I have been going to Delray Beach for about 7 yrs and staying at a well know chain, I would rather stay at the Breakers on the Ocean. On your next trip try the Breakers on the Ocean, you will be suprised. The staff is very friendly and always cheerful.

Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
1.6 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
1.8 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,029 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
0.0 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Property: Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Breakers on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Breakers on the Ocean, we take great pride in catering to our guests. We offer a variety of accommodations and amenities. Our one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments located on the perfect beach setting right on the Atlantic Ocean. Located in beautiful Delray Beach, on two acres with 200 feet of white sandy beach front, we provide a relaxing, serene setting offering pool, beach, mini golf, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delray Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach
Delray Breakers On The Ocean Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing