We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundy House
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Let me start off by saying the hotel/B&B is awesome. The grounds are amazing, almost felt like I was walk through a tropical jungle that was finely manicured. The fresh water swimming pool was very nice and swimming with the fish just pushed it over the top. We had the deluxe room, it was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. Each room had its own private balcony. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We arrived late, after the restaurant had closed, but we were extremely hungry, the staff was able to put together some meals that were delicious. I was very grateful and appreciative. The next night we ate at the restaurant and the food was very good and well prepared.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    44
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
61
100
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Delray Beach has a great little treat for a weekend escape even if you are only 5 miles away! My wife and I drive in and dine around Delray often but we have never taken the time to really indulge and engage for an extended time. We spent Labor Day weekend at the Sundy House and this place is really cool! Once you are directed by the friendly staff to your cottage, which ours was vibrant, clean and unique, you are immediately sucked in by the lush tropical landscape, the fish stocked ponds and the lovely romantic dinning tables scattered about under the most unique Florida palms, orchids and plants we have ever seen. The hectic life you just left behind is now a remote memory. We swam in the Mexican Cenote inspired freshwater pools that were not only awesome and freshing but you keep thinking the creature from the black lagoon is going to pop out at any moment. Very Cool! Dinner was romantic, delicious and the server was very intuitive to our needs that he knew exactly when to disapear and when to attend to our needs. Do yourself and your honey a favor, relax and swim in the pool with the fish, spend the night, dine in and walk around Delray. A great memory to be had at the Sundy House!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay Village, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We live in Miami Beach and discovered a true Gem in Delray. The accomidations were amazing and the staff well accomidating. Dined at the excellant restaurant and even had a Pedicure in the natural Pool by the Gold Fish that swim with you. What a Romantic getaway and we deffinately will be back.. One block away is Atlantica Ave and if you need more night life there it is. Its like visiting a Carribean island without having to go thru security. Love It

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHELBYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We love bed and breakfasts, old inns, antiques, history, unique places, etc., and the Sundy House has it all. The staff was very friendly and the food at the restaurant was great. You have a choice to valet or park your own car and after we parked the car it stayed there all weekend because the property is in walking distance to all the activity on Atlantic Ave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thingie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We came to Florida to visit/check in on my old Dad, who is a difficult person to be around. After spending time with him we two adults relaxed and recharged in the freshwater natural stone pool with waterfall and fish(!). So relaxing, so serene and beautiful nestled in a lush tropical fruit garden. The staff was warm and attentive. The Gardener gave us a fascinating tour of the gardens and fed us ripe mangoes and star fruit plucked fresh or caught falling from the trees. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment/suite with kitchen and a balcony facing the garden. The decor was chic-funky, rich bright colors filled with great art. We ate at the Sundy House restaurant many times and cooked in the well equipped kitchen as well. If I could, I'd live here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Doesn't hurt that we were married here in 2009 :). The setting is spectacular. the gardens and the pool transport you to a tiny tropical island in the Carribbean. The staff is fantasic, the food is delicious, the rooms are unique and adorable and the town was just voted one of the most fun small towns in America. Very romantic - great for couples' time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrirf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I recently visited and could not be more impressed with the facility. The grounds were lush and well-kept with meandering paths, ponds and waterfalls. The garden tour was a highlight. The pool is freshwater and you can swim with fish.

We stayed in the large cottage and it did not disappoint. It was beautifully decorated but still comfortable. You will find it hard to leave your quarters.

The staff were friendly and gracious. Happy hour was busy and lively.

Sundy House is a wonderful way to experience the best of Florida. If you're looking for place to spend some time with someone special, you won't do much better. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_C_Florida501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Property: Sundy House
Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy House Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing