We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with this place!!”
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundy House
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you want a total different experience, you have to try Sundy House. You feel like you are in a forest with all the 1,000 kinds of plants that surrounds the place, plus you can submerge in the natural and fresh pool and have a pedicure from the fish. We had the Sunday brunch and it was superb. You are walking distance from downtown Delray with all different types of food and a mile from the beach.
This is one of my faves Florida spots.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chevere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

three of us went to sunday house recently for dinner. we go there for special occasions. unless the chef changes or the menu changes we will not be going back. the food was way to upscale for our liking. we all three agreed that we loved the sundy house the way it used to be. i made a birthday party for my cousin there 3 years ago and it was stupendous. the place is awesome but the food is so pretentious that none of us enjoyed it. we did not sleep there. i am sure the rooms are wonderful. just pass on dinner.

Room Tip: we just had dinner and did not stay there. i would love to stay there as it is a beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank breny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The tripadvisor ratings seemed to be good at a glance, but later I realized that most of them pertained to the hotel gardens, and the dining.

We checked into room 8. Not a friendly room. Not decorated to be welcoming and not a scrap of fabric on the floor. Not even a doormat. In the morning, I put the shower mat alongside the bed so my wife’s first contact with the floor wouldn’t be harsh and cold. Visibly cheap (unmatched) furnishings, the cheapest bi-fold doors, an outdated bulky TV and window blinds which were filled with dirt particles and not working. There were cables and wires stretched out in all directions on the floor, and so many plugs in one socket that we assumed it must be a code violation. The bathroom was a good size but the layout was badly done – all the shelving was at the opposite end to the washbasin with nowhere to put anything near the washbasin.

Read on - we went out for dinner 2 blocks away on Swinton. I had accidentally tripped across the “questionable” neighborhood area just a couple of blocks away from the hotel prior to arriving, so I asked reception if it was safe for us to walk back after dark. We were assured it was. We came back around 10pm, after dark. As we turned the corner, we saw two unsavory individuals stretched all across the sidewalk about 50 yards along Swinton Avenue. So we crossed the street to the hotel side. Then those two guys got up from the sidewalk, crossed the street and came after us. They were catching us up very rapidly, but we sped up so as to be able to make our turn into the hotel. They stopped and watched us from behind the trees and bushes by the sidewalk. It alarmed me, but it terrified my wife.

We then went back to the room. It was then we noticed the feeble catch-lock on the back door of the unit which immediately connected with the side street. The security at the back (where it’s most needed) was non-existent. This hotel visit was rapidly becoming a nightmare for us. So we stacked some chairs in front of the door.

Then to bed. The metal vent on the air-conditioning return was vibrating and making plenty of noise. I got up, released the catches, and let it hang down. And just my luck, the person in the room upstairs decided to thump around for an hour. There was equipment outside the back door (not sure if it was pool equipment or a/c compressors) but it was far too loud in the middle of the night. So I fell asleep at 1am and woke (permanently) at 3.48am.

In the morning, I mentioned the alarming street encounter to the girl at reception, and she clinched it for me – she told me that “we know people pass here going to the neighborhood you’re talking about, but we can’t help the location of the hotel.” I wanted to change the sign to Fawlty Towers. After that response, there was nothing more that needed to be said.

The price was far too much. The Hyatt Place, only slightly further from Swinton than Sundy, was the same price that night. If only we'd stayed there.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you Room 8. But maybe they're all the same quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickandHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Gorgeous gardens that go on and on around a charming in. With great rooms. Sunday brunch is one of the best anywhere with everything- all kinds of seafood - including Alaska king crab - filet - entree style chicken and fish - as well as the usual omelettes, sweets, etc. And mimosas, bellinis, and bloody Mary's are included. A wonderful spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceansAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were traveling and came here for dinner with some local friends who have been wanting to dine here for a while.

THe ambiance is lovely. The service and staff are superior, verrrrrry friendly. The food --preparation, presentation and taste were a "foodie's delight"!!!

They were running a summer special where the wine bottles were 1/2 price and there were several bottles that were also on a $36 special, as well as 3 glass flights, served in large balloon glasses (of lovely white or rose, or grenach) wines for $10!!!. These wines could the same (or changed with food as the meal progressed) with a 3 or 4 course tasting menu that was fresh, different, visually enticing and wonderful on the palate. It was an OUTSTANDING meal and the value (because of the tasting special) was exceptional.

The only drawback (and this was not related to the food) was that their web site needed to be updated as it did NOT promote these specials, so unless you were a regular, a local or were fortunate enough to come in and see it you'd never know. In terms of our meal, the food, the wine and the staff support, we could not have asked for a nicer evening.

A chuckle for us was the optional "Special Good Water" (as opposed to Florida Tap water) that was served (@2.50 per glass -unlimited refills) & delivered to our table in fresh, chilled, labeled glass jugs. It happened to be really nice. Never had that happen before. Realize I am not complaining.

Be prepared to pay a $5 valet fee as you pull into their entrance. Parking on the street is a premium. However paying for valet parking seems to be typical fare for Delray Beach Fl.

There is also a nice bar setting where you can enjoy and have additional fare/specials.
Their new chief is certainly making this a repeat culinary destination for those who are able to get here.
LOVELY, LOVELY, LOVELY.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This historic 1902 Victorian home has just 11 units but it is a destination in itself. To get from the office to your unit you wind your way through botanical gardens(over 500 species of plants) and ponds stocked with fish. The same to get from your unit to the restaurants and bar. The swimming pool also has fish and you share the pool. The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating with much of the outdoor seating spaced among the plants.

The room we had was spacious and well decorated with a sitting area in both front and back of the unit. I can't remember the last time we enjoyed a hotel so much and we're very experienced travelers.

The location was also great as it is about a block from Atlantic Ave so it was an easy walk to shops etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Sundy House over 3 nights in June for a family wedding.

The staff and wedding organisation were first class. The wedding took place outdoors in the rather wonderful hotel grounds. The weather had been very threatening right up until 4 hours before the wedding (the tail end of a tropical storm wasa dumping lots of rain on Delray Beach), but the staff managed briliantly with the arrangements (including fall back venue) and all went off well on the afternoon/evening.

The hotel has bags of character and the rooms are accessed through the gardens.

The rooms are not all the same. They have different characters and facilities. Our room could have done with an armchair and over the three days I failed to master the overcomplicated TV controls. We slept very well and did not hear the 5 am train, mentioned by others.

So why not 5 stars? When we arrived at 11.00pm after a 14 hour journey from the UK, no one was available to take our bags through the hotel gardens and up the stairs to our room.

The breakfasts were uninspiring. Not a lot of protein. Toast, cereal and not much else.

We checked out on the Sunday so we missed the legendary brunch.... which was a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid the room above the laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
1.7 mi away
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 15 in Delray Beach
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: £190 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy House Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing