We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough!”
Review of Dover House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dover House
Courtice, ON
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I (in our early 50's) stayed at the Dover House in late August. My first impression was that the place was "average". Well, that quickly changed once we got to our unit and looked around the place. The unit was fabulous. It was small in comparison to other timeshare resorts we have stayed at but it had everything that you could need. Large bedroom with a King size bed (with the MOST comfortable bed/pillows), compact bathroom with shower/tub, small kitchen with a compact fridge and freezer and a good size living room area. We sat outside our unit on the patio every morning with our coffee and every evening with our wine. The resort was well maintained with a clean, warm outdoor pool with lots of chairs. Right across from the beach. We bought 2 cheap beach chairs to use for the week - best $20 investment we could make! I would highly recommend this resort and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor which meant there was a roof to keep you cool when sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3BoysCourtice_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    44
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
42
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Dover House is an older resort but has been maintained fairly well. It definitely needs some update. No garbage disposal , no and amenities. We asked for toilet paper and they said it was no included. You could replace towels every day. I would stay again for the location. It is right across from beach and a great walk along Atlantic Ave in Delray.u husband enjoyed the pool

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a very nice vacation, the units are right across from the beach. Its clean and nice.
I am a Hilton member so the rooms dont compare to Hilton Property , but Is good enough for me to give up some amenities for the location I had.

Room Tip: All rooms will be accross from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghernandez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The best thing about this property is that it is a brilliant location just across from a really popular beach.
Parking is outside each unit with a permit displayed in the car which avoids beachgoers taking up your parking space.
The units are a bit basic- no luxuries but are very clean and have full kitchen with dishwasher. The kitchens look a bit worn and the fridge had definitely seen better days.
The resort has its own pool that is fenced with a lock so only resort users get access to it. Water warm and clean.
Delray Beach is a nice area with lots of shops and good restaurants to choose from. All within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gingerhair54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Check in was easy, full kitchen, bedroom, bath. Bars and restaurants within walking distance. Only complaint was $250 deposit that had to be held on card and pool a little cold. Could see beach from hotel, staff was very helpful and room very clean. Overall I'd go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The Dover House is a Time-Share/Rental Property. Owners who have bought weeks can stay here once they pay their annual assessment, currently $860 per week. People who own time share units at other properties can stay here by going through a time-share exchange company. Also, people can rent by the night, with a 3-day minimum stay. The Dover House has its own informative website with plenty of photographs of the property.

Our family has been staying at the Dover House for over five years, and we always enjoy our weeks there. Several times we have had other couples stay with us, and they also enjoyed their stay. There are about 42 units, a smaller property, all units being the same. Up to four people can stay in a unit. There is one bedroom with a nice comfortable king-sized bed. The Flexsteel couch in the living room also makes a bed.

This is not the Ritz. No "white gloves" and no "white glove" prices. But it is very pleasant and comfortable. The buildings are older, but have character, and are well-maintained. The inside of the units have had extensive remodeling/redecoration in the last 18 months...new furniture, new mattresses, fine bed linens, painting, new drapes, new blinds, new flat screen tv's, new laminate floor. Units are clean and comfortable. Not super fancy, but easily nice enough for most people. There are wide balconies or sitting areas in front of all units, all with great views and a perfect place to sit and drink coffee, read, and relax.

The grounds and fountain courtyard are lovely with interesting brick-work and flower beds. The courtyard patio furniture is old, has been repainted, but appears to be on its "last leg" and needs to be replaced. The grounds are very spacious, with abundant space. Many resorts in Florida are cramped concrete jungles..not the Dover House. The tropical landscaping-flowers, shrubs, and trees are lovely and well-kept. There is also a very nice patio deck area with a bench, nearby picnic table, and two gas grills.

The pool is large and excellent with plenty of poolside seating, both in sun and in shade. There is a pool house with restrooms, dressing areas, and showers. The pool area is clean and well maintained. The pool is located towards the back side of the resort in a quiet, private area. This is a great place to spend several hours each day. Between the unit buildings and the pool is a very large lawn, which makes the resort seem so spacious.

The location could not be better. Delray Beach is a wonderful resort city. The Dover House sits right across the street from the main public beach of Delray-over a mile long. There is a wide level sidewalk that runs parallel to the beach for great walks. The beach itself is very nice, more of a natural beach with lots of sea grapes to control erosion. The Dover House is surrounded by luxury condos and other rentals as well as very nice homes. There are half a dozen good restaurants just a block north from the Dover House. And the main street of Delray, Atlantic Avenue, is just a block away, with many quaint shops and many various restaurants all within a few blocks. The location is superb-a great area.

The staff is generally very friendly and helpful. The groundskeeper is constantly tending to the property. In the evening, security personal stroll the grounds, and greet the guests making them feel at ease. Basic supplies-toilet paper, paper towels, detergent, sponges, soap, etc.. are provided, but a recent change of policy has limited the supply of toilet paper provided per unit to 2 rolls a week. It seems very possible that 4 adults may run out of the basic provided supplies before the 7th day, so be prepared to go to the store. The units are well-stocked with a full kitchen...nice dishes, glassware including wine glasses, wine bottle opener, utensils, toaster, coffeepot, microwave, basic appliances, etc...The cookware is the older aluminum and should definitely be updated. There is one room on the property with a washer and dryer, located in one of the buildings.

The property is older, but is generally well-maintained. According to operating personnel, in the near future, the exterior of all buildings and walkways will be painted and significant necessary repairs to the multiple parking lot pavements will occur. The Florida sun and salty air take its toll on the property, but the managers keep an eye on everything, as well as listen to input from unit owners and tenants, and the progress is apparent. During one of our stays, we observed all the roofs being power-washed. It is reassuring to see the property well-maintained and updated.

All in all, this resort is very nice. If you are seeking a great location near a wonderful beach in a nice clean area, you should consider staying here. You can really relax here and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. And if renting, the rates are quite reasonable...I have compared the nightly rates to several nearby rentals and hotels, and the rates here are significantly lower than most...a good value for a great vacation. Best times to come are November-March when the weather is usually great and you can escape from the winter in much of the rest of the country. We have enjoyed our weeks at the Dover House and hope to enjoy them for many years to come.

Room Tip: This property has two floors, but no elevator, only stairs. If stairs are a problem, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnE3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Visited Dover House Resort October 2012 after a Central America cruise. Arrived at 1pm to be told that nobody could help us till 2pm and we could not park outside without a permit (catch 22?)
We parked many streets down and walked to a restaurant. Went to ' Bostons on the Beach' and was served a quite average lunch. 6USD each for a bottle of beer !
Got our permit and moved into our accomodation. Very comfortable, with all necessary ameneties. The Resort has a very clean swimming pool and gardens full of small lizards and things that looked like earthworms, which came through the air ducts. Not harmful though.
Downtown Delray has many bars and restaurants far superior to the ones next to the resort.
We also visited Cafe Luna Rosa which was very pretentious and overpriced.
Check out of the Resort was quite scary with a leaftet warning you that you would be charged 25 usd for every 15 mins over your checkout time (10.00 am).
Overall this place was quite peaceful, except for occasional noisy kids next door. Well maintained, and clean. Staff could have been a little more pleasant, especially at checkin. Gave us a bad impression of the place right at the start.

Room Tip: Arrive after 2pm to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.1 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.2 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,044 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover House

Property: Dover House
Address: 110 S Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6770
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dover House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover House Hotel Delray Beach
Dover Hotel Delray Beach
Dover House Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing