We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View the ocean from the porch”
Review of Dover House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dover House
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“View the ocean from the porch”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are looking for a beach condo in Delray Beach, consider the Dover House, located on Ocean Boulevard about three blocks south of Atlantic Avenue. It is a friendly, safe place with very friendly staff and other renters. As mentioned, located within easy walking distance of the Dover House is Atlantic Avenue with lots of restaurants, beach shops, and (of course) bars.

I live in Delray Beach and rented a condo at the Dover House for my parents (78 yrs old) and a second unit for my sister and niece in late April. It was perfect. Each place is cute and clean with a reasonable kitchen, sitting area, eating area, and a fantastic location on Ocean Boulevard. Both units were on the second floor (recommended) and each could see a view of the ocean from their window and a better view if they sat out in the lawn chairs provided on the porch in front of their room (each room--it is a large shared patio). The ocean is right there--10 steps across Ocean Boulevard. On the sand you can rent two comfortable lounge chairs and an umbrella for $10/hr or $40 per day (separate vendor, very nice guy).

The Dover House has a nice pool on the property--further down the property (not in view of the ocean). I swam in it and enjoyed the water as well as the friendly visitors from the Northeast, Canada, and the mid-West.

The Dover House has two sections. Ask for the "further South" Dover House so that your room looks out on the ocean and the Dover House fountain/courtyard instead of the units that look out on the ocean and the Dover House parking lot. Ask, too, for a unit facing South with the east view, closest to the ocean on the second floor. I can't remember the unit numbers, perhaps unit 218 (not sure that exists) or 216.

By the way, the staff were incredibly helpful and kind, especially Luke and Jessie.

I highly recommend this place (as long as you are not looking for a five star hotel with room service). We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Select the furthest South Dover House (there are two). Ask for a room facing South (with the east v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    44
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
42
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
28269
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Dover house is one block from Atlantic Avenue in the heart of Delrey BEACH, Heidi, Martin and Jamie provide EXCELLENT customer sevice.

Nice OCEAN views, across the street from the beach.

win win situation.

Room Tip: Stay in the south building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've been going to Dover House for years, and stay for a week to ten days. I love it. It's right across the street from gorgeous Delray Beach, and around the corner from the lively, upbeat Atlantic Avenue scene, about a mile or so walk to the Delray Beach Tennis Club where the Tournament is held in February, and you can see the best tennis players on the circuit. The units are not fancy, they are basic, but contain everything you need, one bedroom with a comfortable king size bed, an efficiency kitchen and a living area. There is a nice pool and the grounds are kept very nicely, really pretty and clean. I actually like that the units are so basic and informal, it fits with the beach scene, and you don't feel like you are in an elite resort. The staff are amazing at trying to help you at all times, whether its locked out of your room at midnight or fixing any problem in your unit. I complained about a glass topped table, because the glass edge had scratched my leg, and the top was immediately removed from my room. The place has a relaxed feel, and the neighbors are friendly. It was very quiet at night. I love that if you are reasonably fit, you can walk over to Captain Clay's Fish Market, they'll pack your very fresh fish on ice, you walk back, fire up one of the two gas grills at Dover House, and have fresh grilled fish on the picnic table with a glass of wine….and you can see the ocean from the upper unit balconies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpm6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have recently had the pleasure to stay at Dover House for a week through a timeshare exchange. The funny thing is I live only 5 miles from the place, but needed a little staycation by the beach while I had family from out of town. I couldn't have made a better choice. I have only good things to say about this place. It's close to everything on Atlantic Avenue, and provides the comfort and parking of home.

Room Tip: I like the building across the street from the main building with the office. It provides a nice so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is our second pleasant stay at Dover House. Although small one bedroom apartment, it is very adequate for a short stay. The unit was very clean, bed comfortable, great towels. One drawback, if you intend to cook, kitchen is not very well equipped, but there are numerous restaurants on Atlantic Avenue, just around the corner from Dover House.

If you are looking for luxurious accommodations this is not it, but you can't beat the location just across the street to the beach. The grounds and pool are well-maintained and pleasant.

We arrived early for our check-in and the staff was very accommodating and we were in our assigned unit in no time at all.

We love Delray Beach and it's proximity to shopping, cultural activities, beach etc.

Room Tip: Request a second floor unit as you get views of the ocean in most units. Block 200 is quieter than 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmp099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a week here and, although the weather was warm, it was very windy so we did not sit on the beach. However, there were plenty of places nearby to visit and Delray beach was a great little town with lots of restaurants and coffee shops. The unit was fine. Not luxe but well equipped and clean and very central. The staff were good and everything was well maintained. It was quiet and we slept really well in the comfortable bed. I'd go again. We had no problem getting in and out of the unit!!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor. Good views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saramck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Dover House may be a great place for people looking to go to the beach; however, for those just wanting a place to stay in comfort, this is not the place. The front desk people were very nice but the rest was way below standard for me. It is a hotel made into a small apartment. Getting into the room/condo was a job by itself. The doors were so hard to get in. The condo was very old, but their attempt to update was so so. They tried. For me, I would stay at a hotel than here. This is one of my rare dislikes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Delray Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.2 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
2.5 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
797 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover House

Property: Dover House
Address: 110 S Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6770
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dover House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover House Hotel Delray Beach
Dover Hotel Delray Beach
Dover House Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing