We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing exceptional.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Crane's Beach House in early February for two nights.
The Cons:
The room was okay. Nothing exceptional. Bed was way too soft, with a hole in middle inwhich we rolled into each other.
Housekeeping was lackluster, and I was surprised that they didn't do the dishes, but not big deal. We had a safe in the room, which didn't work, and was torn apart.
Breakfast was late, didn't start until 9:00. A bit late for early beachgoers.
Bathroom was small, with a gigantic shower.
The Pros:
Location, location, location. Short walk to the beach, and short walk to the shops and restaurants on Atlantic Avenue.
I think they should update their mattresses, and the rooms for what they charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geologist427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    91
    18
    19
    9
See reviews for
88
228
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the moment you walk off the street and into the colorful gates you are transported to a sleepy beachside retreat. Every where you turn is a kodak moment. My family and I have stayed here for the last three years and this time I just had to come on and leave a review. The staff is so helpful each night they gave us recommendations, helping us sift through the mile long list of restaurants within walking distance. On the weekends they have live island style music by the poolside bar. Yes please! This was a treat for us as we are used to the typical bar bands we hear so often back at home. I really felt like I should have punched a passport to get this feel. We booked a one bed room suite. And Oh how SWEET it was. Our room was BIG. We had a full kitchen and were able to save money while on vacation because we weren't forced to dine out every meal. I am always worried the kids will only eat junk food when we travel but here at Crane's I don't fret at all. They serve a small breakfast outside, alfresco style, in the mornings which is just enough to get you started for a day of tourist watching on the beach. (Yes you are being watched!) This place is just so adorable if you're not familiar with Cranes look it up and don't miss out. They have thought of everything here. They even have games at the main office. I was able to con the kids to spend quality time with us this way. And when we were done we rented a DVD and had our in-room ice cream to top it all off. (Only 3$) Kids are already asking me when we can go back. For a parent, it doesn't get any better then that!! Thank you Crane's! See you again soon.

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom suite. You won't regret it! Grab a book from the library, kick back and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

One block from the beach. They take pets. Two swimming pools. Tile floors kept clean.
Kitchens to prepare your own meals. Daily breakfast provided if you would rather not prepare your own. Gardens and water falls. Friendly staff. Afternoon coffee and cookies. Laundry facilities. What's not to like about this place? We've stayed here so many times, it feels like my second home. I always ask for the same room because I love it so much. The location is incredibly convenient near shops, restaurants, doctor's offices (necessary during a family reunion) and I-95. The only negative comment I have is that a few of the rooms need upgrades. From what I've been told, the renovations will be done this summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emberbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK USA
Level Contributor
447 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a tropical paradise located one block from Atlantic Avenue (with a wide selection of restaurants, bars and shops) and one block from the beach. The rooms are nice. The property is landscaped very nicely. It has two pools, a tike bar and very nice staff. The rooms are equipped with kitchenettes and a complimentary breakfast is seved outside every morning. My wife and I were quite please with Crane's.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Not a big Florida fan or beach person, I was using Crane's mostly as a home base to visit family. However Crane's turned out to be so great that I may wind up staying a few extra days next year to really take advantage of the place. I won't repeat what other recent reviewers have said except to say the raves about the convenient location; the super-friendly, helpful staff; the lush, private, slightly kitschy but not tacky grounds; and clean and comfy rooms are all correct. This place is a great bargain and unless you desperately need more high-end stuff like room service or a concierge (as in hotels right up the block that cost 3x as much), this is the place to stay in Delray.

Room Tip: Downstairs suites have a private patio; upstairs don't. This wasn't clear on their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelegramSam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Visiting the area during what was described as an abnormally overcast, rainy weather pattern, we tried to make the most of our time there. Crane's helped us do that. It doesn't look like much from the street, but the owners have transformed what looks like a once basic two-story motel into a funky, colorful oasis a very short walk from both the beautiful beach and the restaurants of Atlantic Ave. Two smallish pools that were never crowded. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with AC and ceiling fan.Huge walk-in shower and walk-in closet. Kitchen with a fridge, range, microwave and sink (although we only used the fridge). Fridge was stocked with beer and wine at reasonable prices ($15/sixpack, $20 bottle of wine). A private balcony would have made it perfect, but then again there was nothing to look at out the back. We didn't get to the Tiki Bar (only open 6-9 PM, it seems) until our final night, but it featured a talented singer. We would certainly keep Crane's on our list if we return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddioBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

It is a very nice secluded hotel right in the midst of the town. Very quiet - nice rooms - we had a one bedroom suite - nice quality bed linens - fully equipped kitchen - nice warm water pools with sunny and shady & comfy lounge areas - very friendly and helpful staff. The only thing I would suggest they improve upon is the breakfast. It is a good quality hotel, but the breakfast did not reflect that same quality. The bagels and muffins were prepackaged and very boring. The spreads for the toast (only available one day) and bagels was apple and grape jelly - very cheap choices for an otherwise quality hotel. The only bright spot at breakfast was the fresh orange juice. Some days there was yogurt, but not all days and only two choices of cereal - Rice Krispies and Spec K. Fruit choices were poor quality apples and sour oranges - at least bananas would have been a nice option. I heard many other guests also complain about the breakfast.
We would definintely stay here again, but wish they could make a few improvements to the breakfast. we were there for 8 nights and it got very boring - we ended up going out for breakfast as I know other quests did also.
A few other things - the soaps/shampoos, etc were not re-filled daily - as well as the "advertised" complimentary bottled water - we had to call the desk and ask for it every day (2 small bottles), as the tap water had an odd smell to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwmv65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.2 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#3 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
1.5 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas

Property: Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Address: 82 Gleason St, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6971 (Formerly Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an incredible Key West-like experience just one block away from the Atlantic Ocean, Crane's Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas is a fun and festive boutique hotel with 28 distinctive and luxurious guest suites, studios, and Villas, all nestled within a lush, tropical setting. This creates a real tranquil environment, even though the hotel is just steps away from the shops and restaurants along Delray Beach's hot and happening Atlantic Avenue. The two poolside Tiki Bars are stocked with an array of tropical drinks, wines and both domestic and imported beer, with a music-filled happy hour from 5 to 9 P.M. On Fridays and Saturdays. Crane's Beach House Hotel is please to provide it's guests with a smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane`s Beachhouse Hotel And Tiki Bar
Cranes Beach Hotel
Cranes Beach Delray
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing