We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay in Delray Florida area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wright by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wright by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
needham MA
2 reviews
“best place to stay in Delray Florida area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My sister, my brother, and I, plus our spouses, had a wednesday-sunday family reunion at Wright by the Sea. Everything went perfectly-- comfortable suites (kitchen included), lovely heated pool, and really right by the sea. The hotel has a private beach, with chairs and cabanas set up for guests. (no extra cost). The hotel also has an outdoor grill, and my brother made us delicious steaks, which we ate in the tiki-hut, on gorgeous teak tables I'd love in my own backyard. Most of us took a dip in the heated pool, and the braver souls swam in the ocean. Friendly staff, utterly relaxing environment-- we're already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenannneedhamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    44
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
150
116
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

I stayed with friends in a suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, fully stocked kitchen with refrigerator, oven, stove and microwave and living/dining room area. There is a tv in the main area and one of the bedrooms. The rooms were very nice with king-size beds in both bedrooms and plenty of closet and storage. The hotel is great about providing everything you need, including paper towels, beach towels, and wireless internet service. All the service people and management were very friendly and professional. The pool is heated and well kept - plenty of lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas and a small table outside the room for sitting out and for smokers. There is also an outdoor, covered and protected "palapa" room with tables and chairs for gatherings as well as an outdoor grill for the guests' convenience. They have 200 feet of private beach and "cabana" type set ups to protect you from the wind on the beach. I especially like the fact that it is a 2-story arrangement, unlike the high-rise hotels where you have to use elevators to get outside. They also have a very nice laundry facility and ample parking. There are no restaurant facilities but plenty of restaurant facilities nearby. It seems to cater more to an older crowd with lots of repeat customers. We did see guests with small children and everyone seemed very happy. There are no specific activities for kids but it is right on the beach. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone for a weekend getaway or a week of quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

My fiancé and I visited the 3rd week in August. It was quiet and sooo relaxing. My favorite features include immaculately kept grounds, a tastefully furnished room , spectacular views of the ocean, cute lounge chairs and cabanas on the beach, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hineni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We just got back from staying here for a whole week, this place is fantasitc. The grounds were really really clean, everything is updated and moderned, the employees were wonderful and friendly and very accomodating. The apartment was perfect in every way for a family of (5), location was perfect right on the beach and prices great also. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usrbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey Shore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Wright By The Sea has everything a traveler could want. It is located right on the beach, not across from the beach so children don't have to cross a busy road should they forget something in the room. The pool was always crystal clear and there were dive toys available for the kids to play with.
We had the suite, which was awesome. We also had a one bedroom for one night and the rooms are spanking clean. Each room has a kitchen, complete with glasses and dishware and coffee for the morning. The beds had quality mattresses with crisp clean sheets. The staff was so amenable to every request. A great place to have an outstanding vacation. Grocery store is nearby as are restaurants and attractions. A gas grill is available for use at the property.
We would recommend this property to anyone, families with kids of all ages, seniors and couples. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravel1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

my husband and I recently stayed at the Wright by the Sea Hotel. We loved our stay. The people managing were terrific and friendly and helpful. The staff was just as friendly. The rooms were pleasantly clean and neat and I felt so comfortable. We especially liked sitting outside our rooms at the table and chairs provided visiting with neighbors and drinking wine. loved the location beautiful beach. I felt some at peace there. We will come back.

wendy and david from VA.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We just returned from a two-night stay at Wright by the Sea, having requested a handicap accessible apartment. Since it is rare to find accessible accommodations in the kind of facility we like (small, "old Florida"), it was nice to find an accessible apartment. It was great - nicely appointed, tile floors, uncluttered to allow for maneuverability, huge bath with tiled roll-in shower complete with handheld shower, bath chair, safety bars for the shower and the toilet, door levers rather than knobs - and the doorways were nice and wide. The resort even has a ramp that is available if you need it for getting into the apartment (there is a small step). Just down the street is a park with an accessible observation deck overlooking the ocean and there is a beach wheelchair available at another beach (didn't get to use it - ran out of time). Resort was very well-maintained, staff was friendly, apartment was clean and well-stocked. Wright by the Sea may be old Florida - charming from days gone by - but it is far from old in appearance. And if you are able to climb stairs, some of the upper apartments look like they have great beachfront views.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
1.5 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
1.7 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#3 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
1.7 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wright by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wright by the Sea

Property: Wright by the Sea
Address: 1901 S Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wright by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Ocean in Delray Beach, Wright By the Sea offers ocean view studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites. Challenge your kids to a game of shuffleboard, basketball, ping-pong, or croquet, or just relax on our private beach in a complementary cabana. Our Chickee Hut Pavilion with adjacent barbecue is available free of charge if you wish to entertain. Daily maid service (except Sunday), newspaper, heated pool, cable television, voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wright by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wright By The Sea Hotel Delray Beach
Wright By The Sea Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing