We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove

The Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 407 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Street
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
280 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We thought this was the best rated restaurant in Delray. We went with high expectations. The pasta appetizer was outstanding. The beat salad was just ok. The chicken main course, was just chicken (didn't stand out). The duck breast main course was RAW!! That was unacceptable. No one came over during our meal to ask us how the meal was.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A few blocks north of the craziness of Atlantic Avenue in Delray is this wonderful gem of a restaurant. With about ten tables inside and a few outside, this quiet restaurant is comfortable with a small but certainly very adequate menu of interesting choices. Our party had three different kinds of wine, each served with a small sample first, before filling the glass. The beet salad appetizer was gorgeous and tasted excellent. The local greens was a healthy portion of greens, fennel, radishes and feta. The brioche crusted chicken breast was crispy, moist and fabulous. The lasagna including veal and sweetbreads, not your typical lasagna, was perfect. The desserts were also terrific. The coffee was served in an individual carafe and was excellent. The bill was handwritten on a Thank You note...a wonderful touch.

The service was flawless with extremely helpful staff. There is valet parking. We will absolutely return to this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A not to be missed restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Small restaurant, you need reservations. The owner greets you. The environment is relaxed and the noise level is low; nice to be able to hear your dinner partner. This is right off the main drag in downtown Delray which is a real mess at the height of the season. You can actually find parking around this restaurant without using Atlantic Ave. A MUST try restaurant. The food is wonderfully prepared.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhondaherbstman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Love the exclusive feel and how intimate In the Grove is! We had a reservation, but the table wasn't ready yet so hung out at an area near the front, the manager Paul came over and offered some unique wines for us to try while we were waiting. He was very personable and friendly, made us feel right at home! Once seated, we ordered the octopus and duck fusilli for starters. Both were equally amazing, only complaint is we wish they were double the size! After recently traveling to the Mediterranean, we were reluctant to try the octopus afraid it wouldn't compare. It was the best that either of us had ever had anywhere in the world!! I had the pork tenderloin for dinner, while my husband enjoyed the short ribs. The entrees were the perfect size, and both amazing. We shared a chocolate cake for dessert, a great ending to the meal. The service was great, everyone was very knowledgeable and helpful, and able to recognize when we needed something, and when we just wanted to relax. As word spreads about how great this place is, they may need to look into additional seating.. although I hope they keep the intimate atmosphere. Will ABSOLUTELY be returning, thanks for a great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Farewell Dinner with Wife and Son”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just stopped in at "The Grove" in Delray Beach, Fl. While there was no availability inside, outside we lucked out. Paul, the manager of the day, was really welcoming and, while I don't remember her name, our server was incredibly helpful when my wife asked for a paring with her dinner. Her description of the platings and content of each of the entrees was superb and we ended up ordering wonderful meals. This is a great place. The wine list is extensive and the regular things one normally sees in wine lists of restaurant are vacant. This is a really high quality list of superb wines and the staff are effective at paring. While the prices are littler higher than other places in Delray Beach, the quality of the ingredients, ther service, the wine list and quality of preparation surely justifies the bottom line at the end of the meal Even the expresso is fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartjoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing