We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Brunch around”
Review of Sundy House

Sundy House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 412 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Swinton Avenue and 1st Street
Transit: Swinton Avenue
Description: The Sundy House Restaurant's stunning interior design and gardens provides an exuberant backdrop from our Chef's gastronomical magic - boasting culinary creations influenced by cultures from around the world. Whether seated outside in the spectacular tropical gardens, or in the elegant dining room, guests will be regaled in fine style!
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Sunday Brunch around”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The gardens are incredible. The service and food is great too. A must stop when in the area especially for Sunday brunch. I can't wait to stay in one of the inn rooms overnight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delrayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    93
    48
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this place, one of my favorite restaurants in south Florida. Great food, great service, great ambiance!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for Brunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this restaurant / Hotel is at the heart of Delray, it is very quaint and the sunday brunch is very good, with full buffet and with your choice of mimosas or bloody mary, It is great for hosting big parties or as we did our wedding. The staff is very helpful and will help you accommodate all your needs.

I enjoy coming here as often as possible

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jplandino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We treated our weekend hosts to Sundy House for dinner and were all pleased to dine in the beautiful garden setting. Service was attentive and we all enjoyed our meals. It was a great alternative to the loud and busy restaurants nearby, though certainly we paid for the privilege of a quiet dining space. I was a bit surprised by the prices considering the casual feel of the dining space. Overall I enjoyed the experience, but nothing about it left me with a strong desire to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Used To Be The Best Brunch In The Universe”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Sundy House in Delray Beach, FL, used to be a tropical paradise, where you saved up your coins to savor a pleasant, laid back Sunday brunch. We visited today and paid the toll, only to be confronted with the worst of all humanity: a manager with an earbud.

As recently as a year and a half ago, you could go there and sit as long as you liked, savor superb food and excellent service, and forget the mad world beyond the gate. We always paid twice the expected tip for the privilege and felt it was a fair deal.

Today was a whole different story. Under the new regime, we were pressured to take a horrible table by the street -- until my girl, of her own accord, found a perfect table in the jungle in back by the jazz trio and babbling brook. Then, while we were enjoying our much anticipated meal, the earbud manager started hovering over us, eager to replace our hides with another set of customers. He even tried to shove the check in my girl's hand while I was using the restroom. If I had been there, he would have been treading water in the said brook.

What had been a refreshing getaway is now reduced to a cattle call, ala Disney World. The clock started running when we passed by the reception desk, and we knew it. If we wanted to be managed by the Secret Service, we would have booked a table at the White House.

We wanted, with all our heart, to recommend Sundy House to the whole world, as we had in the past, but now we recommend that you go to the Waffle House out on the interstate, where the food is good and you never feel like you're getting hustled, then go home, crack a bottle and savor the world in your own yard at your own pace.

Grrr! Another real, genuine, magical experience bites the dust, but this one really hurts because it was, until the manager with the earbud arrived, Heaven on Earth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundy House also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing